Explosive Eighteen by Janet Evanovich, if you mean in that ho-hum kind of way

Explosive Eighteen
Recommended for: hardcore Plum fans only
Read from January 15 to 16, 2013, read count: thankfully, once
★    ★  

Hi. My name is Carol and I’m a bookoholic.

I’ve been reading ever since I can remember, but Goodreads seems to be contributing to my disease. I can’t control myself. I’m always adding books to my “to-read” list, which is so long that if I stopped adding books today, I’d still have three years of books on it. Then there is the library, where a drive-by is part of my routine. It’s on the way home from work, so it is really unavoidable. If I only make a quick stop to pick up a monthly read, that isn’t a problem, is it? However, last time I was there I found this little number by Evanovich. I swore off the Stephanie Plum books a few numbers ago, but this one… it was on the New 14-Day Shelf. Why, that’s free, not even a rental. How could I pass that up?

After I finished, I felt a little dirty and rather regretful. This was a cheap drink bolted down, perfectly serviceable but lacking any soul. There are so many better books to be spending time with–why do I do this to myself?

If you read any book between 8 and 17, you’ve read this book. No drag queens, but there is Joyce Barnhardt on the run, various oddball bondees getting the best of Steph and Lulu, Steph and Lulu ineptly breaking into a house, a bus blowing up, mom drinking, dad grunting, discussion of Lulu’s clothes and eating habits, Grandma Mzur at a funeral, Connie running the business, Vinnie, car escapades, a ’53 Buick, Ranger in black, Morelli in boxers, Rex and periodic attempts at kidnapping.

However, it did make me laugh out loud twice. Granted, I was likely delirious after swimming two miles, but I did laugh at a henchman’s frustrating interactions with Steph and Lulu (specifically, his inept English cursing (for some reason, “Bitching bitches” just cracked me up) and an incident with rats (which kind of echoed her incident with a spider and various geese). There was also a semi-interesting plot device of referring to a significant incident that took place in Hawaii, where Steph was headed at the end of book #17. Naturally, everyone’s curious what happened, but it takes a few days to find out.

Of course, the usual complaints apply to this book: no forward character motion. Stereotypes that border on the ludicrous. I knew that going in, but with the two or three year break, they were less annoying than they would have been.

Rounding up to two inept stars.

About thebookgator

avid reader and Goodreads reviewer looking for a home.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, Mystery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Explosive Eighteen by Janet Evanovich, if you mean in that ho-hum kind of way

  1. Mrs Fever says:

    I loved Evanovich when she first started the Plum series. Now I cringe when I see any of her books. And character development has been more like character DE-velopment since Hot Six or so. Most people (even fictional ones) become multi-dimensional over time. Stephanie Plum and Company are the only series characters I’ve ever read who gradually become more and more shallow.

    Blech!

    And nothing ELSE she’s written has been any better. Her series with Charlotte Hughes sucked whale dork, Motor Mouth and its follow-up were completely lacking…well…they were just LACKING, and the previously-published-under-the-pseudonym-Steffie-Hall novellas that were re-issued in recent years are supposed to be romantic comedies, but all of them tragically miss the mark.

    YET I STILL READ HER! It’s like there’s a disconnect between my body and my brain. I see a new book of hers on the shelf (most recently Wicked Something-or-Other), and even though I’m cringing in horror and my brain is screaming, “NOOOoooooo! Don’t DO Eeet!”, my hand reaches out and snatches the damned thing up anyway.

    And then I READ it. (I *like* yanking all the hair from my head in frustration. I really do.)

    Because I’m a masochist. (Again, I *like* yanking all the hair from my head. Really.)

    And because I’m WAY too optimistic for my own damned good.

    :: dramatic sigh ::

    I think I need therapy.

    And after reading this ridiculously long comment, you probably do too. Sorry ’bout that.

    • thebookgator says:

      Ha! No, I already do therapy. I completely get your reading a book even though you know you will be disappointed in the experience–I was trying to get at that in my review 🙂

      I loved the beginning of the Plum series do, and agree with your assessment–somewhere between 6 and 8 it started just spinning its wheels. I did try the Diesel short/in-between and that was enough for me. I’m not much of a romance reader.

  2. Pingback: Explosive Eighteen: A Stephanie Plum novel : by Janet Evanovich 2011 « Percypaschal's Blog

  3. Pingback: Doppelgangster by Laura Resnick | book reviews forevermore

Leave a Reply

