Bridge of Birds: A Novel of an Ancient China That Never Was by Barry Hughart

Or, the Best Almost-Folk Tale You’ve Never Read, With the Possible Exception of The Princess Bride.

Bridge of Birds

Read October 2013
Recommended for fans of The Princess Bride, The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland
★   ★   ★   ★   ★

 

“Nothing on the face of this earth–and I do mean nothing–is half so dangerous as a children’s story that happens to be real, and you and I are wandering blindfolded through a myth devised by a maniac.”

Bridge of Birds opens on a pastoral setting, a remote unicorn-shaped village in the peaceful valley of Cho in ancient China. Narrated by Yu Lu, also known as Number Ten Ox (the tenth of his father’s sons and as strong as an ox), it begins with a promising silk season coming to an abrupt end. A plague strikes the village’s youth and at the same time decimates the silk harvest. Number Ten Ox volunteers to run to Peking to bring a wise man back to the village. Unfortunately, all of the cosmopolitan wise men laugh at Ox and his mere five thousand copper, all except a hung-over Master Li. “Could this be the great Li Kao… who had been elevated to the highest rank of mandarin, and whose mighty head was now being used as a pillow for drunken flies?”  After a brief restorative, Master Li takes pity on Ox’s plight and determines they need to make haste back to the village. Poor Number Ten Ox. He has never met the likes of Master Li, former first place scholar among all the scholars in China (a mere seventy-eight years ago). But he has a slight flaw in his character.

“The abbot paused to consider his words…’You are a good boy, and I would not like to meet the man who can surpass you in physical strength, but you know very little about this wicked world,’ the abbot said slowly. ‘To tell you the truth, I am not so worried about the damage to your body as I am about the damage to your soul. You see, you know nothing whatsoever about men like Master Li… His voice trailed off, and he groped for the proper words. Then he decided that it would take several years to prepare me properly.”

What follows is along the lines of traditional folk tales and orphan adventures; the quest to save the children of the village, Ox as the innocent youth and Li as the wise man/guide–except Master Li’s wisdom often comes from knowing the wicked ways of human nature and his own participation in debauchery. He also seems to have read all the great tales, as his solutions sound suspiciously familiar. One of the first chapters is how Master Li tricks a rich miser out of enough gold to finance their trip (and gets Ox a night with the young concubine to boot). Their third or fourth adventure is an exceptional revenge on a selfish princess, and another one a bloody mess. Hughart is able to manage the delicate balance humorous violence requires, perhaps by invoking our earliest folk tales, such as the one where Bluebeard keeps bodies in a locked room, or the version of Little Red where the huntsman hacks open the wolf to free her and grandma. Horrific, but so clearly symbolic, so clearly not real.

Their adventures take them throughout China, and from one frying pan to another. There’s ghosts, dungeons, a tricksy duo, an evil duke, a labyrinth, an enormously rich man, a tower, treasure, fond friends, a torture chamber, redemption, gods (and there’s even a little kissing). If it lacks the R.O.U.S., it makes up for it with an invisible hand.

“The supernatural can be very annoying until one finds the key that transforms it into science,’ he observed mildly. ‘I’m probably imagining complications that don’t exist. Come on, Ox, let’s go out and get killed.'”

Writing is lovely and contains a satisfactory balance of description and action. Gentle humor abounds. There’s a motif where Li and Ox are certain they are going to die and share hopes of what they will be reborn as on the Great Wheel. Li prefers the three-toed-sloth, Ox a cloud. Later, a third company member adds another angle to their bucolic reincarnation. But Master Li is clearly the cynic of the bunch, and his comments usually provide comic relief:

“‘Well, it’s an idea, and even a bad idea is better than none,’ said Master Li. ‘Error can point the way to truth, while empty-headedness can only lead to more empty-headedness or to a career in politics.'”

It’s silly, sweet, subversive and really clever. Ox’s youthful innocence is charming and believable, and while Master Li knows much, he is clearly puzzling his way through the quest as well. The end was a lovely synthesis, satisfying both emotionally and in plotting, both immediate and symbolic. Barry Hughart clearly has a flaw in his character. The world needs more Master Li.

“‘O great and might Master Li, pray impart to me the Secret of Wisdom!’ he bawled… To my great credit I never batted an eyelash. ‘Take a large bowl,’ I said. ‘Fill it with equal measure of fact, fantasy, history, mythology, science, superstition, logic, and lunacy. Darken the mixture with bitter tears, brighten it with howls of laughter, toss in three thousand years of civilization, bellow kan pei–which means ‘dry cup’–and drink to the dregs.’ Procopius stared at me. ‘And I will be wise,’ he asked. ‘Better,’ I said. ‘You will be Chinese.'”

About thebookgator

avid reader and Goodreads reviewer looking for a home.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, fantasy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bridge of Birds: A Novel of an Ancient China That Never Was by Barry Hughart

  1. Zanna says:

    What a great review! It sounds super = )

  2. thebookgator says:

    Right read, right time. I recommend it in between those heavy academic tomes.

  3. I know this isn’t the book for me, but your review is lovely.

  4. Pingback: The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson. Or, Shannara 2.0 | book reviews forevermore

  5. neotiamat says:

    So, on the strength of this review, I went and picked this up. It’s far outside my usual reading habits, but I have to say I adored it. It has a feeling of old-fashioned storytelling, a kind of modern fairy-tale indeed, and yet it manages to avoid the pitfalls of repetition and boredom that tends to plague such efforts (let’s be honest, most fairy tales have just enough plot for a few pages). I need to find the second book.

    • thebookgator says:

      Thank you–I’m so glad my recommendation worked out. You are right, “traditional” tales do tend to be repetitive–Hughart played with it just enough to make it feel familiar while turning it sideways. Thanks for reminding me–I need to find the second book as well.

      • neotiamat says:

        Have you read anything by Ursula Vernon? She’s another author who does ‘twisted fairy tales’ exceptionally well. And, like, fifty million other things (woman is omni-talented, seriously).

  6. thebookgator says:

    I have not read anything by Vernon. They look to be all graphic novels? Is there a series you like better? I’ll give them a try.

  7. neotiamat says:

    Well. She’s most famous for Digger, which is a webcomic that won a Hugo and is freely available online. ( Diggercomic.com ) It has… almost nothing to do with usual graphic novel tropes, and I feel like it would hit several of your favored points (it’s multicultural with a strong female character). She also has a distinctive style of writing and sense of voice that is hard to describe but a lot of fun. It’s self-aware and a little snarky, but gentle at the same time, which is a rare combination.

    But she’s written other books, some children’s books, some short story collections, and a few full books. She uses the pen name of T. Kingfisher for her adult books, and this is a good one: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23550710-the-seventh-bride

  8. Pingback: The Story of the Stone by Barry Hughart | book reviews forevermore

  9. Pingback: The Diamond Age, Or, A Young Lady’s Illustrated Primer by Neal Stephenson. | book reviews forevermore

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.