Adulthood is a Myth by Sarah Andersen.

Adulthood is a myth

Read March 2016
Recommended for bookworms, introverts
 ★     ★     ★    ★

Judging by the reviews, many, many readers see themselves in Sarah’s work. I completely understand, because I do too.

Introvert nightmare

After seeing a friend’s glowing review (thanks, Amy[Other Amy]!), I had to give this a try. As a lifelong bookworm and introvert, I recognized many of my experiences put into cute visuals.

Habits of bookwormI was well-known among high school friends for my mispronunciations of words I had only read, although I never managed the ability to walk while reading without tripping over myself.

The artistic style is similar to that of Allie Brosch, creator of Hyperbole and A Half (review), a very clean line style of drawing that has its focus on the character with environment or props only if they are germane to the story. Nothing is extraneous. The semi-stick figure shapes have giant eyes with dilating pupils to demonstrate extreme emotion.

The observations are familiar to those of us who read, who worry about being a dork in public, and who endlessly replay awkward moments wishing they could go back and change. Many of the observations seem twenty-something-ish; the first time holding hands with a new boyfriend, the embarrassment of tampons falling out of one’s purse at inconvenient moments, short versus long haircuts, running into people from high school. Still, I enjoyed them and their sense of gentle camaraderie, although some of the moments felt a little farther away in my past. For instance, I no longer do this–or at least as often.

Spending money on books

However, some things remain relevant, particularly those days I don’t want to Adult.

Have to adult

An entertaining volume albeit somewhat lightweight, both physically and emotionally. While it made me smile and chuckle, it lacked the emotional punch of Brosh’s work to push it to my 5 star level. Still, highly recommended for the bookworm in your life.

About thebookgator

avid reader and Goodreads reviewer looking for a home.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, genre-bender and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Adulthood is a Myth by Sarah Andersen.

  1. Melora says:

    Huh. You aren’t kidding about the style — I’ve seen some of those “strips” on FB and assumed they were by the Hyperbole and a Half artist. Good review! I didn’t realize there was a book. And, yes. That last piece, about not being ready to face People, is the story of my life.

  2. neotiamat says:

    I have seen these floating about the internet, and they are grand. Also, I too have done the mispronunciation thing. (I have a vivid memory of my friends teasing me because I pronounced Charisma like it had an actual ch- in the front, like Chai or Chihuahua).

Leave a Reply

