When Gravity Falls by George Alec Effinger

Read  June 2017
Recommended for people who enjoy futuristic detective noir
★    ★    ★   ★    1/2

I don’t even. This book engrossed me, sucked me in, took me to the seediest bar in town, plied me with cheap booze and left without even a kiss. Set in a debaucherous, dangerous slum in a futuristic Muslim country where the tricks might be all-girl, ex-boy or something in between, with more pill popping than Charlie Sheen on a bender, you’ve got to be a bit open-minded to take the ride on this one.

Think hard-boiled noir, crossed with A Scanner Darkly and filled in around the edges with Richard K Morgan’s Altered Carbon.

Inshallah.

******************************************************************************

A Hugo and Nebula nominee.

Quotes:

“If I examine myself closely enough, I find hints of every objectionable quality known to man.” June 9, 2017 –page 152

“I had just gotten over three horrible days of sweating too much of everything out of my system, and already I was rushing out to buy more. I made a mental note to slow down my drug intake; crumpled the mental note; and tossed it into my mental wastebasket.” June 9, 2017 –page 166

“I looked awful. I looked like I’d died and started off toward hell and then got lost, and now I was stuck nowhere at all, definitely not alive but not decently deceased, either.” June 9, 2017 –page 166

“I looked awful. I looked like I’d died and started off toward hell and then got lost, and now I was stuck nowhere at all, definitely not alive but not decently deceased, either.”

 

 

About thebookgator

avid reader and Goodreads reviewer looking for a home.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, Science fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When Gravity Falls by George Alec Effinger

  1. Joachim Boaz says:

    Effinger has long been one of my favorites — his New Wave masterpiece What Entropy Means to Me (1972) ranks among my top 70s novels.

Leave a Reply

