One of Us is Lying (aka A Story About Lying)

 

It could be me.

It could be debra.

Punchline:

It’s both of us.

https://www.goodreads.com/read_status…

Literary fiction almost sucks me in with these titles that sound like the beginning of great stories. Or good memes:

 

description

 

description

 

Personally, while I like to believe that it’s about ethics, it’s also because I’ve always been a bit too lazy to lie. I mean, that’s a lot of mental effort to try and remember lies, who they were told to, what they were about, etc., etc. And as every Three’s Company episode ever demonstrated, lying just leads to more problems.

description

(A rare moment of non-chaos. However, note the incongruous bathrobe)

 

Which leads to another kind of problem, of course, the one where I have to deal with the ramifications of telling the truth, ie., having people be irritated by me. Such as the moment when I was at a baby shower recently.
The couple said they’ve been calling the baby ‘Azul.’ I was on the other side of the room and misheard ‘Zul,’ which I thought was hilarious. They were all, ‘what do you mean?’ so I explained I thought they felt the same way I do about babies:

 

description

 

 

Whoops. Should have lied, I guess.

 

 

 

About thebookgator

avid reader and Goodreads reviewer looking for a home.
This entry was posted in opinion, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One of Us is Lying (aka A Story About Lying)

  1. Joachim Boaz says:

    One of my favorites along these lines: Janice Galloway’s The Trick Is to Keep Breathing. I have no idea what it’s about… but love the title! and the implication.

  2. This post makes me happy. Though most of the time I manage to be very tactful, there are definitely those times where I cannot tell a lie. I think a baby shower would be one of them!

    And thank you for stopping by. I actually didn’t bring any dogs home from Puerto Rico, can you believe it? I did rescue one however…

Leave a Reply

