Free Fall by Robert Crais

Read  October 2017
Recommended for fans of detective thrillers
★    ★    ★    ★

 

A solid James Garner on the GRS-MV*

1– Peter Falk
description

2–Tom Selleck
description

3– Tony Shalhoub
description

4– James Garner

description

5– Benedict Cumberbatch
description

Robert Crais is my new BFF. Maybe I exaggerate a bit. But I’ve been looking for a new detective series for so long, I’m a bit like an addict who has found a new fix. It didn’t even bother me that this one was clearly set in L.A. in the 90s. I was in L.A. in the 90s, but Elvis Cole clearly visited different parts than I did and spent a lot more time in Watts, especially watching X in the park. Although we did hang out with a uniformed cop one time. I’m not even sure how that happened–who lets a uniformed cop hang out with campus kids in the dorm? Clearly something untoward was happening in the L.A.P.D., as Crais elaborates. It also didn’t bother me that this felt almost entirely like a t.v. episode, because I happen to like over-the-top happy endings. Maybe that didn’t come out right. I mean, I don’t mind if there’s some property damage and liberally distributed roundhouse kicks as long as everyone pays for their crimes in the end, even if it’s only three days in county.

*Genre Rating Scale (Male Version).
(thanks Dan 2.0 for being the catalyst there)
(scale edited to provide clarification for certain friends. You know who you are, Jilly)

 

 

 

 

 

About thebookgator

avid reader and Goodreads reviewer looking for a home.
This entry was posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

