Author Archives: thebookgator

About thebookgator

avid reader and Goodreads reviewer looking for a home.

Heart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection by Nick Seluk

Read March 2020 Recommended for people who believe in the heart and brain  ★     ★    1/2 Not sure where I came across this little collection, but I thought I’d check it out from the library before I invested … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged | Leave a comment

Peter Watts is an Angry Sentient Tumor, by Peter Watts

Read March 2020 Recommended for people who want a little prod  ★     ★    ★ I was interested in this because I found Watts to be one of the most fascinating sci-fi writers I’ve read, with wide-ranging concepts and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Short Story Round-up: Nebulas 2019

  Best Short Story • Give the Family My Love by A.T. Greenblatt (Clarkesworld Magazine, Issue 149, February 2019) I enjoyed it, despite a recently noted dislike of epistolary storytelling. A pessimistic anthropologist astronaut is the last chance for humanity … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Robert B. Parker’s Old Black Magic by Ace Atkins

Recommended for: Parker fans Read May 2020 ★   ★   ★    Akins has taken over Parker’s Spenser series and honestly, has probably surpassed the final decade of books that Parker himself was able to push out. Still, reading the merging … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 3 Comments

The Haunting of Tram Car 015 by P. Djeli Clark

Read February 2019 Recommended for fans of djinn, interesting reads  ★     ★    ★     ★  Cairo, 1912 or so. There’s a ghost in Tram Car 015, although Senior Agent Hamed is fairly certain it isn’t a ghost. You … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 3 Comments

Adventures of a Dwergish Girl by Daniel Pinkwater

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of New England, YA  ★     ★     Somehow, I missed Pinkwater’s works when I was growing up. I rectified that not long ago when Sarah B. pointed me towards Lizard Music, a delightfully … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Feed by Mira Grant

Recommended for: fans of zombies, pandemics Read May 2011 ★  ★  ★  1/2 A perfect summer read. It starts out with our heroes poking sharp sticks at zombies and a narrow escape. It’s a good way to develop interest, but … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | 6 Comments

Not-A-Review: This is How You Lose the Time War

Another one for the Not-A-Review files: Seems doubtful I would ever read this book. One, I’ve always been iffy about the epistolary format, which is pretty odd, considering the volumes of letters I’ve written over my life. (Literally. One friend … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged | 7 Comments

Round-up: P. Djeli Clark

One of my favorite new writers is P. Djèlí Clark. I first discovered him from longer length short-stories, and then his novellas. As I enthusiastically reviewed his work, it led to interesting discussions on the ability of male authors to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Hugo 2019 Novelette Nominations

“If at First You Don’t Succeed, Try, Try Again” by Zen Cho Best Novelette nomination and Winner https://www.barnesandnoble.com/blog/sci-fi-fantasy/if-at-first-you-dont-succeed-try-try-again-by-zen-cho/ Sweet. A touch uneven but a solid heart. Chinese dragons, karma, transformation, all rolled in to a modernized version of a traditional … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 15 Comments