Author Archives: thebookgator

About thebookgator

avid reader and Goodreads reviewer looking for a home.

Legends & Lattes by Travis Baldree

Read January 2023 Recommended for fans of Pratchett, MMOG ★    ★   ★   1/2 It all depends on your definition of ‘cosy,’ I suppose. I’ve been wrapping up George Saunders’ A Swim In a Pond In the Rain, in which … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Magic Tides by Ilona Andrews

Read January 2023 Recommended for Andrews fans ★    ★   ★   ★      Checked email at 10 pm, discovered preorder receipt, downloaded book and finished by 1 a.m. Fun; a return to good, old-fashioned Andrews fun. Kate and Curran … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

The Scourge Between Stars by Ness Brown

Read December 2022 Recommended for fans of colony ships ★    ★   ★       An enjoyable, recommended entry for my women-in-space files. Though loosely described as horror, I found–thankfully–it to be more about suspense. It’s a quick little novella … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Leave a comment

2022 In Review

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness… I’m just kidding; there’s no past tense. It’s 2023–as always, my retrospective is done full review-mirror–and … Continue reading

Posted in opinion | Tagged | 11 Comments

The Catch Me If You Can by Jessica Nabongo. But I’d rather not.

Read November 2022 Recommended for travel fans ★   ★   1/2    Well, this is awkward. The trouble with analyzing the autobiographical is that one is also, to some extent, analyzing the person. And that just seems rude, right? Thinking of … Continue reading

Posted in Autobiography, Book reviews, Non-fiction | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

One Day All This Will Be Yours by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Read January 2023 Recommended for  ★    ★   ★    ★    1/2 All you need to understand is that this was published March 2021, which means it was written end of 2020. Yes, that 2020. You know, the one … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 6 Comments

The Long Game by K. J. Parker

Read December 2022 Recommended for fans unreliable narrators ★    ★       Sadly, a miss. A first person, unnamed and quite likely unreliable narrator has to finesse a situation with demon and a traveler from a possibly mythical land. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

The Essential Peter S. Beagle Volume One

Read December 2022 Recommended for fans of fantasy shorts ★    ★    ★   1/2   I’ve long been a fan of Peter S. Beagle. I’ve read all of his fiction and most of his short story collections, but this was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Dead Silence by S.A. Barnes

Read December 2022 Recommended for fans of light horror ★    ★    ★    1/2 I am a horror pansy. Not my genre. But I am a sucker for chicks-in-space, and after I read more than a few reviews … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Rules of Redemption by T.A. White

Read February 2022 Recommended for fans of Ilona Andrews ★    ★    1/2 Short version: what seems like a space-faring buddy flick turns into a court-intrigue romance novel with a deathly Mary Sue. It feels a great deal like … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment