Author Archives: thebookgator

About thebookgator

avid reader and Goodreads reviewer looking for a home.

The Rape Trope

Rape in fantasy and sci-fi Drives me crazy. Watch “Read for Pixels: Trashing the Rape Trope” with Martha Wells, Kate Elliot, and Jim C. Hines. The meat starts around 7:00. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ssCQb1opiDw&feature=youtu.be Advertisements

Posted in opinion | 2 Comments

A Murder of Mages by Marshall Ryan Maresca

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of  classic noir, detroit ★     ★       ★     1/2 On a whim–still whittling down that TBR list, don’t you know–I picked this one out of the list. Well, actually, a whim … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

Motor City Blue by Loren D. Estleman

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of  classic noir, detroit ★     ★     1/2 Some days, you’re just in the mood for whiskey, dying mobsters, journalists in hiding, porn shop owners, and hookers with a heart of gold, all … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged | 2 Comments

The Burning Soul by John Connolly

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of  mysteries, thrillers ★     ★    ★    1/2 “Now, in her office at the corner of Park and Freeport, she watched the rain trace an intricate veinery upon her window, as though the glass … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Pulling Strings by Nick DeWolf

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of  King, thrillers ★     ★    ★    Well, I’ve got myself in a pickle. I rarely do ARCs, and for the most part, the ones I do are for books I intend to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Thriller | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Whisperers by John Connolly

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of  Charlie Parker ★     ★    1/2  Can some authors be ‘too big to fail?’ Is John Connolly one of them? I’ve had my ups and down with the series to be sure, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Ballad of Black Tom by Victor LaValle

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of  Bloody folk tales ★    ★    ★    1/2 Nominated for a Hugo, Nebula, and Shirley Jackson Awards,* The Ballad of Black Tom is a fine little novella, made accessible to horror dilettantes by … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Record of a Spaceborn Few by Becky Chambers

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Pollyanna, sloppy stories ★    ★    Here’s the part where you think I’m going to eat my words. But I don’t think I have to: think of it as being able to love Star … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★     “Or Miki was a bot who had never been abused or lied to or treated with anything but indulgent kindness. It really thought its humans were … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Witchmark by C.L. Polk

Read September 2018 Recommended for  ★     ★    ★       It’s quite, so very, very twee. The good stuff: it is very charming. There’s a sweet romance. There are men bicycling. There are feisty ladies. And I wasn’t … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , | Leave a comment