Author Archives: thebookgator

About thebookgator

avid reader and Goodreads reviewer looking for a home.

The Fall of the House of Cabal by Jonathan L. Howard

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of Cabal  ★     ★     ★     ★     1/2 So much is quotable here, so much extreme deliciousness. The Brothers Cabal are back together, each having done a bit of personal growth. One of the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Castle Hangnail by Ursula Vernon

Read February 2017 Recommended for fans of fairy tales and clever girls  ★     ★    ★    ★    ★     Castle Hangnail is unbelievably charming and one of the first reads of the year to make it to my ‘to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Nine Goblins by T. Kingfisher

Read February 2017 Recommended for fans of fairy tales  ★     ★    ★    1/2 Kingfisher wants to turn idea of goblins and elves on its head. Perhaps this is a side story to Lord of the Rings, where a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Johannes Cabal short stories by Jonathan L. Howard

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of Cabal  ★     ★    ★    ★    ★    When the giant spider devil appeared in The Fall of the House of Cabal, it wasn’t long before I was giggling. How can you … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

The Hanging Tree by Ben Aaronovitch. Or, Audio is Awesome!

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of urban fantasy mixed with police procedural All the stars I know, I know: I’m always waxing enthusiastic over Kobna’s reading of this series, but the audio version of a story set in London, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Nemesis by Agatha Christie

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of Miss Marple First published 1964  ★     ★    1/2    Nemesis. For such an ominous title, Christie presents a rather philosophically reserved and sedentary work. Miss Marple of the pink fluffy wool and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

A Caribbean Mystery by Agatha Christie

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of Miss Marple First published 1964  ★     ★    ★    1/2 One’s time period can be such a bother, don’t you think? Or, in some cases, very inspiring. I, for instance, never thought … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

Red Knight Falling by Craig Schaefer

Read January 2017 Recommended for those times you want UF action without overt sexism  ★     ★    ★    Urban fantasy often falls into what I think of as ‘gym reads.’ They tend to be light-weight philosophically, action-focused with streamlined … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of John Scalzi and Jason Bourne  ★     ★     1/2 “No one tells you it’s all about to change, to be taken away. There’s no proximity alert, no indication that you’re standing on the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged | 4 Comments

Between Two Thorns by Emma Newman. Yes, absolutely.

Read January 2017 Recommended for people that like Regency romance and elven politics  ★     ** spoiler alert ** Do not read this review. Unless you are Carol., and unless you are not fond of regency romance and portal worlds. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 9 Comments