Category Archives: fantasy

Legends & Lattes by Travis Baldree

Read January 2023 Recommended for fans of Pratchett, MMOG ★    ★   ★   1/2 It all depends on your definition of ‘cosy,’ I suppose. I’ve been wrapping up George Saunders’ A Swim In a Pond In the Rain, in which … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Magic Tides by Ilona Andrews

Read January 2023 Recommended for Andrews fans ★    ★   ★   ★      Checked email at 10 pm, discovered preorder receipt, downloaded book and finished by 1 a.m. Fun; a return to good, old-fashioned Andrews fun. Kate and Curran … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

The Long Game by K. J. Parker

Read December 2022 Recommended for fans unreliable narrators ★    ★       Sadly, a miss. A first person, unnamed and quite likely unreliable narrator has to finesse a situation with demon and a traveler from a possibly mythical land. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

The Essential Peter S. Beagle Volume One

Read December 2022 Recommended for fans of fantasy shorts ★    ★    ★   1/2   I’ve long been a fan of Peter S. Beagle. I’ve read all of his fiction and most of his short story collections, but this was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Cage of Souls by Tchaikovsky

Read August 2022 Recommended for fans of old-timey literature   This, then, is where I think I close at last my weary eyes, lay hand upon my brow and reflect on how it is I came to this place. Many … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 7 Comments

A Mirror Mended by Alix E. Harrow

Read August 2022 Recommended for fans of the Scholomance ★   ★   ★   1/2 Fairy tales and I go way back. For a little perspective, you have to remember I’m the Disney Classic era, so I’m not talking movie fairy tales … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Into the Riverlands by Nghi Vo

Read August 2022 Recommended for fans of folk tales ★   ★   ★   ★    ★        I liked this so much I’m going to go read again. Brb. The third installment in a series of novellas that loosely … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Trailer Park Trickster by David R. Slayton

Read May 2022   ★   ★  1/2 Shhh. C’mere. I’m not normally the person to do this, but since all the other reviews are overwhelmingly positive, I have to throw my two cents into the ring: this was an okay … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances by Aliette de Bodard

Read May 2022 Recommended  ★   ★   ★   ★    I’m fond of de Bodard’s writing style. Though I bounced off the first book in this universe, The House of Shattered Wings, it did not stop me from enjoying this novella. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Mystery | Tagged , , , | 6 Comments

That Ain’t Witchcraft by Seanan McGuire

Read May 2022 Recommended ★   ★   ★   ★   Surprisingly fun and a nice return to the attraction the series originally held for me. Snappy dialogue, a tone that nicely balances fun with consequences and an interesting storyline all make for … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment