Category Archives: fantasy

Certain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno Garcia

Read October 2020 Recommended for those who enjoy a serious angst vampy story        I think this is a pass for me. Domingo is a seventeen year-old who lives on the streets, getting by by being invisible and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 5 Comments

The Girl with Ghost Eyes by M.H. Boroson

  Read October 2020  ★     ★     ★     ★      An above average  first book, with lots to like for urban fantasy fans. It reminds me of Maxine Hong Kingston crossed with Snake Agent. A young widowed … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

Read September 2020 Recommended for seriously hetronorms  ★      No one knows a girls’ friendship like a guy, amIrite? Just kidding, totally sexist of me, just like this entire hetronormative mess of a Hogwarts derivative with more contradictory messaging … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of NYC, Jemisin  ★     ★    1/2 Surprisingly underwhelming for me. Admittedly, I’m not a huge new-adult fan, and this has ‘coming-of-age’ plot line all over. I was also surprised that there was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

The Magpie Lord by K.J. Charles

Read August 2020 Recommended for fans of Edwardian mysteries  ★     ★    ★    1/2   Written better than all of my QB™ reads, this is a fun palate-cleanser between more demanding books. Books that I’ve been avoiding, for … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul by Douglas Adams

Read 2020 Recommended for fans of Douglas Adams  ★     ★  Almost entirely, but not quite, unlike tea–I mean, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. There is no way easy way to say this, but despite ingredients that should be … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | 2 Comments

The Tough Guide to Fantasyland by Diana Wynne Jones

Read 2020 Recommended for fans of fantasy  ★     ★    ★    ★  Before there was TV Tropes, there was The Tough Guide to Fantasyland. In 1996, Wynne Jones created the ultimate epic fantasy trope list. Done in a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 6 Comments

Short Story Round Up, Part 2

      “Our King and His Court”   by Rich Larson Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of Abercrombie, The Godfather  ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Tor.com’s summary says it all. It’s a partially deconstructed … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , | 1 Comment

The Big Over Easy by Jasper Fforde. It goes over quite easily.

Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of Jasper Fforde  ★     ★    ★    ★     1/2 Fun, but as with most everything I like, complicated. The story begins with Mary Mary being shown around Reading Central Police Station by … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , | 6 Comments

A Big Ship at the Edge of the Universe by Alex White

Edit Edit date and time Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of space adventures! Fast-n-furious!  ★     ★    ★    1/2 This is the literary equivalent of the weekend action-adventure movie. Although initially slow to grab me, in the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, genre-bender, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment