Category Archives: Epic fantasy

Nine Goblins by T. Kingfisher

Read February 2017 Recommended for fans of fairy tales  ★     ★    ★    1/2 Kingfisher wants to turn idea of goblins and elves on its head. Perhaps this is a side story to Lord of the Rings, where a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The Pygmy Dragon by Marc Secchia. Or, Back to class!

Read July  2016 Recommended for the author. To re-work.  ★     “This week’s assignment will be to write two chapters of a young adult book about a Pygmy girl, dragons and special powers.” At least, that’s how I imagine The … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

City of Blades by Robert Jackson Bennett

Read January 2016 Recommended for fans of tough-as-nails, supernatural mysteries  ★    ★    ★    ★    1/2  This was not what I expected. Enchanted by City of Stairs (my review), I worked my way backward through some of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments

God’s War by Kameron Hurley

Read July 2015 Recommended for fans of assassins, complicated stories, tough heroines  ★    ★    ★    ★   1/2 I grew up in the 80s, when fantasy fiction largely meant the Lord of the Rings-esque fantasy world or the ‘parallel worlds’ … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Hawk by Steven Brust

Read May 2015 Recommended for fans of Brust, Vlad, assassins  ★    ★    ★    ★     Assassins? –check Flying lizard that communicates psychically? –check Ridiculously complicated revenge/redemption plot? –check and mate It’s hard to review book fourteen in a series, … Continue reading

Posted in Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett. Or, Stairs rising

February 2015 Recommended for fans of fantasy, Song for Arbonne, Full Fathom Five, Godstalk  ★    ★    ★    ★    ★   Read this. I almost didn’t, wary of the disappointment an over- hyped book can bring. But once I … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 12 Comments

In the Night Garden by Catherynne Valente

September 2011 Recommended for fans of fairytales, weavings stories, characters  ★    ★    ★    ★    1/2 Book as arabesque. Short story leads to short story, each providing background and impetus for the next, characters answering questions to what … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 5 Comments

The Time of the Dark by Barbara Hambly

November 2014 Recommended for fans of portal fantasy  ★    ★    ★    1/2 A recent read of Those Who Hunt the Night led me to one of Hambly’s early series, The Time of the Dark. First published in 1982, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Brood of Bones by A.E. Marling.

November 2014 Recommended for fans of The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms  ★    ★    ★    “I never learned the knack for waking. Consciousness hung over me like a sodden rag, weighing on my eyelids and muffling my ears, yet even … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

The Element of Fire by Martha Wells

October 2014 Recommended for Wells fans, traditional fantasy fans  ★    ★    ★    1/2 If you are considering Martha Wells, I suggest starting with one of her books besides The Element of Fire. The Death of the Necromancer (review), for … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , | 2 Comments