Category Archives: Epic fantasy

In Shades of Grey by Melissa Myers

Read  October 2017 Recommended for fans of In the Name of the Wind ★    ★    ★      A friend and I were talking about children’s books, and one lifelong reading preference that I’ve only gradually reined in is a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

MageBorn by Stephen Aryan

Read  August 2017 Recommended for fans of epic fantasy ★    ★    ★    ★    Mage Born is the first epic fantasy I’ve really enjoyed in a long, long time. Plotting surrounds a group of people connected to the Red Tower, a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 6 Comments

Chaos Mage by Stephen Aryan

Read  July 2017 Recommended for fans of epic fantasy and sieges ★    ★    ★    ★    1/2 Wow, what a stroke of luck! The rather crabby clerk at Half-Price Books wanted me to know it’d be half an hour before … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 9 Comments

City of Miracles by Robert Jackson Bennett.

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of Guy Gavriel Kay who wish he’d write an action fantasy  ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Some authors always manage to surprise me. Bennett is one of them, with each book I’ve … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 9 Comments

Nine Goblins by T. Kingfisher

Read February 2017 Recommended for fans of fairy tales  ★     ★    ★    1/2 Kingfisher wants to turn idea of goblins and elves on its head. Perhaps this is a side story to Lord of the Rings, where a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The Pygmy Dragon by Marc Secchia. Or, Back to class!

Read July  2016 Recommended for the author. To re-work.  ★     “This week’s assignment will be to write two chapters of a young adult book about a Pygmy girl, dragons and special powers.” At least, that’s how I imagine The … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

City of Blades by Robert Jackson Bennett

Read January 2016 Recommended for fans of tough-as-nails, supernatural mysteries  ★    ★    ★    ★    1/2  This was not what I expected. Enchanted by City of Stairs (my review), I worked my way backward through some of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments

God’s War by Kameron Hurley

Read July 2015 Recommended for fans of assassins, complicated stories, tough heroines  ★    ★    ★    ★   1/2 I grew up in the 80s, when fantasy fiction largely meant the Lord of the Rings-esque fantasy world or the ‘parallel worlds’ … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , , | 13 Comments

Hawk by Steven Brust

Read May 2015 Recommended for fans of Brust, Vlad, assassins  ★    ★    ★    ★     Assassins? –check Flying lizard that communicates psychically? –check Ridiculously complicated revenge/redemption plot? –check and mate It’s hard to review book fourteen in a series, … Continue reading

Posted in Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett. Or, Stairs rising

February 2015 Recommended for fans of fantasy, Song for Arbonne, Full Fathom Five, Godstalk  ★    ★    ★    ★    ★   Read this. I almost didn’t, wary of the disappointment an over- hyped book can bring. But once I … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 12 Comments