Category Archives: fantasy

A Big Ship at the Edge of the Universe by Alex White

Edit Edit date and time Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of space adventures! Fast-n-furious!  ★     ★    ★    1/2 This is the literary equivalent of the weekend action-adventure movie. Although initially slow to grab me, in the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, genre-bender, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

False Value by Ben Aaronovitch. Well, yes. It was.

Read June 2020 Recommended for tolerant fans  ★     ★    1/2 Delivered as advertised. Oh yes; you heard right. The founder of Goodreads’ Folly Irregulars and long-time fan of Peter Grant (the novels), has found a Peter Grant book … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 6 Comments

The Haunting of Tram Car 015 by P. Djeli Clark

Read February 2019 Recommended for fans of djinn, interesting reads  ★     ★    ★     ★  Cairo, 1912 or so. There’s a ghost in Tram Car 015, although Senior Agent Hamed is fairly certain it isn’t a ghost. You … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 3 Comments

Adventures of a Dwergish Girl by Daniel Pinkwater

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of New England, YA  ★     ★     Somehow, I missed Pinkwater’s works when I was growing up. I rectified that not long ago when Sarah B. pointed me towards Lizard Music, a delightfully … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

Hugo 2019 Novelette Nominations

“If at First You Don’t Succeed, Try, Try Again” by Zen Cho Best Novelette nomination and Winner https://www.barnesandnoble.com/blog/sci-fi-fantasy/if-at-first-you-dont-succeed-try-try-again-by-zen-cho/ Sweet. A touch uneven but a solid heart. Chinese dragons, karma, transformation, all rolled in to a modernized version of a traditional … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 19 Comments

Jackalope Wives and Other Stories by T. Kingfisher

I was motivated to buy this collection to both support Vernon/Kingfisher and because I adore the story “The Tomato Thief” (winner of the 2017 Hugo for novellette). I was motivated to review what I’ve read because of the total lack … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , | 2 Comments

All Souls Near& Nigh by Hailey Turner

Read May 2020 Recommended for fans of PNR ★   ★   ★   1/2 As you might be able to tell from my categories, there’s a bit of kitchen sink about this. Shifters, gods, demons, mages, and vampires in New York … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

A Ferry of Bones & Gold by Hailey Turner

Read May 2020 Recommended for fans of PNR ★   ★   1/2 Definitely a QB¹ read, but strangely addicting. I found the combination of ex-military, magic-wielding, NYC, and inclusion of the pantheon of gods downright irresistible. I finished this and went … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Magical Midlife Madness by K.F. Breene. Or, A Midlife I Can Get Behind

Read May 2020 Recommended for fans of Clean Sweep, PNR ★   ★   ★   ★   1/2 I really don’t think it’s QuarantineBrain™, but if you try and say it’s peri-menopause brain, I will come over and beat you with an old … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Dark Harvest Magic by Jayne Faith

Read May 2020 Recommended for eh, idk  ★     1/2 Ah, QuarantineBrain™. I’m going to miss you. That casual, passive acceptance of the way the days blended into each other, and the passive way I could let books flow over … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | 8 Comments