Category Archives: Urban fantasy

Certain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno Garcia

Read October 2020 Recommended for those who enjoy a serious angst vampy story        I think this is a pass for me. Domingo is a seventeen year-old who lives on the streets, getting by by being invisible and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 5 Comments

The Girl with Ghost Eyes by M.H. Boroson

  Read October 2020  ★     ★     ★     ★      An above average  first book, with lots to like for urban fantasy fans. It reminds me of Maxine Hong Kingston crossed with Snake Agent. A young widowed … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

Read September 2020 Recommended for seriously hetronorms  ★      No one knows a girls’ friendship like a guy, amIrite? Just kidding, totally sexist of me, just like this entire hetronormative mess of a Hogwarts derivative with more contradictory messaging … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of NYC, Jemisin  ★     ★    1/2 Surprisingly underwhelming for me. Admittedly, I’m not a huge new-adult fan, and this has ‘coming-of-age’ plot line all over. I was also surprised that there was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul by Douglas Adams

Read 2020 Recommended for fans of Douglas Adams  ★     ★  Almost entirely, but not quite, unlike tea–I mean, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. There is no way easy way to say this, but despite ingredients that should be … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | 2 Comments

False Value by Ben Aaronovitch. Well, yes. It was.

Read June 2020 Recommended for tolerant fans  ★     ★    1/2 Delivered as advertised. Oh yes; you heard right. The founder of Goodreads’ Folly Irregulars and long-time fan of Peter Grant (the novels), has found a Peter Grant book … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 6 Comments

The Haunting of Tram Car 015 by P. Djeli Clark

Read February 2019 Recommended for fans of djinn, interesting reads  ★     ★    ★     ★  Cairo, 1912 or so. There’s a ghost in Tram Car 015, although Senior Agent Hamed is fairly certain it isn’t a ghost. You … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 3 Comments

Adventures of a Dwergish Girl by Daniel Pinkwater

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of New England, YA  ★     ★     Somehow, I missed Pinkwater’s works when I was growing up. I rectified that not long ago when Sarah B. pointed me towards Lizard Music, a delightfully … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

All Souls Near& Nigh by Hailey Turner

Read May 2020 Recommended for fans of PNR ★   ★   ★   1/2 As you might be able to tell from my categories, there’s a bit of kitchen sink about this. Shifters, gods, demons, mages, and vampires in New York … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

A Ferry of Bones & Gold by Hailey Turner

Read May 2020 Recommended for fans of PNR ★   ★   1/2 Definitely a QB¹ read, but strangely addicting. I found the combination of ex-military, magic-wielding, NYC, and inclusion of the pantheon of gods downright irresistible. I finished this and went … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment