Category Archives: Urban fantasy

A Ferry of Bones & Gold by Hailey Turner

Read May 2020 Recommended for fans of PNR ★   ★   1/2 Definitely a QB¹ read, but strangely addicting. I found the combination of ex-military, magic-wielding, NYC, and inclusion of the pantheon of gods downright irresistible. I finished this and went … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Magical Midlife Madness by K.F. Breene. Or, A Midlife I Can Get Behind

Read May 2020 Recommended for fans of Clean Sweep, PNR ★   ★   ★   ★   1/2 I really don’t think it’s QuarantineBrain™, but if you try and say it’s peri-menopause brain, I will come over and beat you with an old … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Dark Harvest Magic by Jayne Faith

Read May 2020 Recommended for eh, idk  ★     1/2 Ah, QuarantineBrain™. I’m going to miss you. That casual, passive acceptance of the way the days blended into each other, and the passive way I could let books flow over … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | 8 Comments

The Neon Boneyard by Craig Schaefer

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of Daniel Faust  ★     ★     ★    1/2 A bit too, if you know what I mean. A bit too much, a bit too far, and in one particular moment, a bit … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | 3 Comments

How to Claim an Undead Soul by Haley Edwards

Read April 2020 Recommended for Quarantine Brain™  ★     ★      ★   Book 2 in Quarantine Crack Reads. I don’t even know why I’m reviewing; the biggest events separating this from it’s follower in my memory are the relationship … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Pack of Lies by Hailey Edwards

Read April 2020 Recommended for Quarantine Brain™  ★     ★    ★   1 /2 Somewhere between the boundless enthusiasm of a fan and the keen eye of a critic lands Quarantine Brain.™ Pack of Lies is book two in Edwards’ … Continue reading

Posted in fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Part-Time Gods by Rachel Aaron

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of New adult  ★     ★    1/2   First of all, if you like this book, don’t even read this review. Second of all, if you are thinking of reading it, just read it. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Shadow of Doubt by Hailey Edwards

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of   ★     ★    1/2    A   3 ★   on the Quarantine Brain reads. Or not; I mean, some of the typical PNR problems are all here: a fascination with describing hair, MCs … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

How to Survive an Undead Honeymoon by Hailey Edwards

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of Sookie Stackhouse  ★     ★    1/2 The series is wrapped up, but what, you are surely wondering, did Grier and Linus do on their honeymoon? Never fear, this novella answers the question … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

How to Wake an Undead City by Hailey Edwards

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of Kate Daniels  ★     ★    ★     The sixth book in the ‘Necromancy’ series, it plays a capstone role in the storyline. By the time it ended, I’d say it felt like … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment