Category Archives: Mystery

Lieberman’s Folly by Stuart M. Kaminsky

Read October 2020 Recommended for fans of PI detective  ★     ★     ★      I need a good mystery to balance out the imagination in my other stories, and frankly, the unmitigated disaster that is normal life. The … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Florida Straits by Laurence Shimes

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of ?comedy Mafias?  ★     ★    ★   1/2 This was unexpected. No, really, it was. I expected a Mafia thriller/farce–perhaps along the lines of ‘Get Shorty’–what I found was a rather interesting story … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Fiction, Thriller | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Exit by Belinda Bauer

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of British mysteries  ★     ★    ★   An uneven but satisfying reading experience. Elderly (but not geriatric) widower Felix is on an assignment with his new partner, Amanda, as an Exiteer. Exiteers are … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Poirot’s Early Cases by Agatha Christie

Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of Poirot and short stories  ★     ★    ★     I was looking for a Poirot short story for my kindle when I ran into this compilation for a bargain ninety-nine cents. Worth … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Five Little Pigs by Agatha Christie

Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of Christie, Poirot  ★     ★      1/2 Some Christies are very absorbing, but Five Little Pigs (alternate American title: “Murder in Retrospect”) left an emotional gap that was never was quite bridged. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged | 2 Comments

Robert B. Parker’s Old Black Magic by Ace Atkins

Recommended for: Parker fans Read May 2020 ★   ★   ★    Akins has taken over Parker’s Spenser series and honestly, has probably surpassed the final decade of books that Parker himself was able to push out. Still, reading the merging … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 3 Comments

The Smart Woman’s Guide to Murder by Victoria Dowd. Or The Smart Woman Considers it Unpalatable.

Read May 2020 Recommended for no one.  ★     You would think that at my age, I would be smarter than to fall for a marketing line that claims “A GOLDEN AGE COUNTRY HOUSE MURDER MYSTERY BROUGHT BANG UP TO … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

A Game of Ghosts by John Connolly

Read January 2020 Recommended for fans of Charlie Parker  ★     ★     ★    “A new fall of snow had settled upon the old, like memories, like the years. It would freeze, too, according to the weathermen, adding another … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Thriller | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

The Word is Murder by anthony horowitz

Read January 2020 Recommended for fans of horowitz  ★     ★   1/2   One thing you can say about horowitz, he certainly likes to base his mysteries around a Catchy Idea. In this book, he’s written himself into the story, biographical … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged | Leave a comment

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

Read December 2019 Recommended for middle school detectives  ★     ★     ★    ★     The Westing Game is first full-length mystery I remember reading. Well, besides Encyclopedia Brown and Nancy Drew books. But the one mystery that I could still … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, young adult | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments