Category Archives: Thriller

The Lion’s Game by Nelson DeMille. Or Thriller as Ambien?

Attempted May 2017 Recommended for fans of DeMille and reallllly slow burns ★    ★    Abandoning this book. I just don’t have time in my life right now for this kind of detail. I think this is the kind of book … Continue reading

Posted in Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Night Fall by Nelson DeMille

Read March 2017 Recommended for fans of thrillers, government conspiracies  ★     ★    ★    ★   Generally, I’m not a fan of political thrillers. You say to me, “Carol, here’s a political thriller I just know you will love…” … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

The Overlook by Michael Connelly. Well, yes–you can.

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of Michael Connelly  ★     ★     1/2 I don’t often read from the fiction bestseller list and I periodically wonder what I’m missing. When a Connelly (oops, not John Connolly–I mistakenly thought I had … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

A Rage in Harlem by Chester Himes

Listened October 2016 Recommended for fans of dark comedy  ★     ★     ★     ★     ★   Read by Samuel Jackson, this was an absolute auditory treat, keeping me transfixed on the drive from Georgia to Kentucky. Expecting something more of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Dark Hollow by John Connolly

Read October 2016 Recommended for fans of horror/thriller  ★     ★    ★     1/2 I ordered this from the library with ambivalence; though I enjoy Connolly’s writing, I didn’t find the first book of the Charlie Parker series particularly enjoyable … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged | Leave a comment

Every Dead Thing by John Connolly could tone down the adrenaline

Read October 2016 Recommended for fans of horror/thriller  ★     ★     Read this if you need to stay awake all night. I, for instance, read through the majority of this book during one of the most boring night shifts ever. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Lovers (Charlie Parker #8) by John Connolly

Read October 2016 Recommended for fans of King, Supernatural  ★     ★     ★     ★    As I was doing the unthinkable–physically browsing library shelves instead of ordering on-line–I saw a number of Connolly’s Charlie Parker books. Despite friends’ enthusiastic reviews, I’ve … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

King and Maxwell by David Baldacci

Read August 2016 Recommended for fans of movie thrillers  ★     ★    None of my friends have reviewed this book. Friends, this is your fault. I hold you all responsible. As well as my mother’s eighty-five year-old friend who … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , | 6 Comments

Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway

Read August 2013 Recommended for fans of absurdist thrillers  ★    ★    ★    ★    I opened Angelmaker with high expectations. I enjoyed The Gone-Away World a great deal, and admired the blend of characterization, humor, and social commentary with a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Fiction, genre-bender, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , | 4 Comments

Evil Dark by Justin Gustainis

Read July 2014 Recommended for fans of genre-bender fantasy ★     ★    1/2 Good grief.

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Mystery, Thriller, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 2 Comments