Category Archives: Book reviews

Certain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno Garcia

Read October 2020 Recommended for those who enjoy a serious angst vampy story        I think this is a pass for me. Domingo is a seventeen year-old who lives on the streets, getting by by being invisible and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 5 Comments

The Girl with Ghost Eyes by M.H. Boroson

  Read October 2020  ★     ★     ★     ★      An above average  first book, with lots to like for urban fantasy fans. It reminds me of Maxine Hong Kingston crossed with Snake Agent. A young widowed … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

Read September 2020 Recommended for seriously hetronorms  ★      No one knows a girls’ friendship like a guy, amIrite? Just kidding, totally sexist of me, just like this entire hetronormative mess of a Hogwarts derivative with more contradictory messaging … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Florida Straits by Laurence Shimes

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of ?comedy Mafias?  ★     ★    ★   1/2 This was unexpected. No, really, it was. I expected a Mafia thriller/farce–perhaps along the lines of ‘Get Shorty’–what I found was a rather interesting story … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Fiction, Thriller | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Carter and Lovecraft by Jonathan L. Howard

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of  reinvented Lovecraft  ★     ★    ★   It’s totally me. No, really; it sounds like a line, but it’s true. True story: I’m a huge fan of Howard’s Johannes Cabal series (particularly … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The Book of Koli by M.R. Carey

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of   ★     ★    ★    I’m a sucker for a post-apocalyptic novel, so when it seemed like some friends wanted to read The Book of Koli, followed by a serendipitous sale, it … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of NYC, Jemisin  ★     ★    1/2 Surprisingly underwhelming for me. Admittedly, I’m not a huge new-adult fan, and this has ‘coming-of-age’ plot line all over. I was also surprised that there was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

Network Effect by Martha Wells

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of action AI   ★     ★    ★    ★   First of all, it’s Murderbot. So ‘four stars’ here is about a million for a normal read. But I struggled with Network Effect. Yes, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Exit by Belinda Bauer

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of British mysteries  ★     ★    ★   An uneven but satisfying reading experience. Elderly (but not geriatric) widower Felix is on an assignment with his new partner, Amanda, as an Exiteer. Exiteers are … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Lexicon A Novel by Max Barry

Read August 2020 Recommended for Crouch fans  ★     ★   Sadly disappointing and messy for a book about the mind-altering power of words and their impact on personal lives. Barry does the dual timeline, dual narrative technique, so your enjoyment … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged | 2 Comments