Category Archives: Science fiction

Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty

Read April 2017 Recommended for fans of sci-fi and mysteries ★    ★    ★   ★      Think And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie, only with cloning chambers. It’s been a bit since I’ve enjoyed a sci-fi mystery–quite possibly not … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | 2 Comments

The More than Complete Hitchhiker’s Guide by Douglas Adams

Listened May 2017 Recommended for fans of the absurd ★    ★    ★   ★    ★     The edition of the Guide that replaced all others in my library, it contains an introduction by Douglas Adams that adds interesting details for fans … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers

Read April 2017 Recommended for fans of character-driven stories, sci-fi ★    ★    ★   ★    ★   I understand that some people weren’t fans of The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet. Personally, in my heart of hearts, I kind of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Children of Time by Adrian Tchaikovsky. A new classic.

Read January 2017 Recommended for sci-fi fans, people who wanted to like Aurora and didn’t, fans of Charlotte’s Web  ★     ★     ★    ★    1/2   Sympathetic spiders? Inconceivable! –I do not think that word means what you think it means– Nope, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 9 Comments

Dissension (Echo Hunter 367) by Stacey Berg

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of kick-ass women  ★     ★     ★     ★    1/2 It is not always easy to say why some books spark our interest, is it? In retrospect, I’m not actually clear on why I added … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 7 Comments

Welcome to the Medical Clinic at the Interplanetary Relay Station by Caroline M. Yoachim. Or Alphabetized Medicine is fun.

Read September 2016 Recommended for fans of Choose Your Own Adventure  ★     ★     ★     ★    I don’t normally review short stories on my blog, unless they are exceptional, and Yaochim’s short in Lightspeed Magazine is a clear exception. I … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers. Or, How to Feel Good on your way to a Small Angry Planet

Read August 2016 Recommended for fans of Firefly  ★     ★     ★     ★       Niceness is undervalued. In an age of cynicism, we believe very little is done altruistically: this politician is facilitating an international adoption for campaign-fodder; that site … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Grimspace by Ann Aguirre

Read June  2016 Recommended for fans of D-R-A-M-A  ★     ★     1/2 One occasionally hears the words “space opera” tossed around the science fiction world and it is certainly been applied here. While I’m not entirely sure of my grasp … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Goblin Reservation by Clifford Simak. No reservations needed.

Read April 2016 Recommended for fans of Pratchett, Thursday Next, Doorways in the Sand  ★     ★    ★    ★ Some days, I need silly and yesterday, The Goblin Reservation fit the bill perfectly. Familiar with Simak through the beautifully pastoral … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 12 Comments

The Diamond Age, Or, A Young Lady’s Illustrated Primer by Neal Stephenson.

Read March to April 2016 Recommended for hard core Stephenson fans  ★     ★ Initially, I wasn’t tempted by The Diamond Age, but the subtitle drew me in. A book advising young women? Interesting. However, given a choice between this … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments