Category Archives: Science fiction

Record of a Spaceborn Few by Becky Chambers

Read July 2018 Recommended for fans of Pollyanna, sloppy stories ★    ★    Here’s the part where you think I’m going to eat my words. But I don’t think I have to: think of it as being able to love Star … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★     “Or Miki was a bot who had never been abused or lied to or treated with anything but indulgent kindness. It really thought its humans were … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Spares by Michael Marshall Smith. Not spare. Quite full, actually.

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of sci fi and detectives ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Calling Spares a ‘hard-boiled detective’ story is like calling Ben&Jerry’s Wavy Gravy ‘chocolate swirl ice cream.’ Sure. I guess, if … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Blindsight by Peter Watts

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of hard sci-fi ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 This is a very dense book, packed with ideas. Although Watts mentions he’s a biologist by training, you wouldn’t know it, between … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

The Wild Dead by Carrie Vaughn

Read August 2018 Recommended for fans of apocalypse settings, mysteries ★     ★    ★    1/2 The one-minute review: There’s loads of descriptions and reviews out there about this book, which surrounds solving a murder in an isolated community. … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, genre-bender, Mystery, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

We Are Legion (We Are Bob) by Dennis E. Taylor

Read August 2018 Recommended for fans of Scalzi ★     ★    ★    1/2 I like Bob. I’ve been swimming with him in Master’s Swim Club for four or five years. He is always on time, always ready to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Artificial Condition by Martha Wells

Read July 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★   “I was stalling. I would have to interact with humans as an augmented human… I had imagined it as taking place from a distance, or in … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | 5 Comments

Darkness Begins (After the EMP #1) by Harley Tate

Read June 2018 Recommended for fans of the possible apocalypse ★    ★    ★   1/2 Ah, vacation. It’s no secret I’m a sucker for the apocalypse, and after seeing how America treats one of it’s natural-resource vacationlands, my feeling is that … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | 6 Comments

Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits by David Wong

Read  April 2018 Recommended for fans of sci-fi lite ★    ★   1/2   A Chapter by Chapter Reading Experience One: Hmm. Not into serial killer chasing inept 20 year-old woman, even/esp. set up as ‘humor.’ Two: Okay, made me laugh … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 9 Comments

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. Almost ready.

Listened October 2012 Recommended for fans of the 80s ★    ★   ★    –audio version Interesting. As a child of the 80s, part of Ready Player One speaks to me. Then there’s the part that loves a great story. The book … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 11 Comments