Category Archives: young adult

Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

Recommended for:  fans YA UF, Pride reads Read in August 2021 ★   ★   ★    Oh, I knew what I was getting into. You should too. Cemetery Boys is definitely young adult, young teenage level with angst on the level … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Calling on Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede

Recommended for fans of cracked fairy tales Read in August 2021 ★   ★     My least favorite of the Enchanted Forest Chronicles. When I recently acquired the e-box set, I discovered Wrede put a little introduction in front of each … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Dealing with Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede

Recommended for:  fans of fractured fairy tales Read in August 2021 ★   ★   ★   ★   ★    Charming and cute. Nostalgia and a sale on the electronic boxed set brought this to my attention; while I have the paperback set, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

European Travel for the Monstrous Gentlewoman by Theodora Goss

Read June 2021★  ★  1/2 To be blunt, this was a chore. Though the premise was intriguing–the female children of some of book-history’s most villainous men come together as a Society–the execution made it an exercise in perseverance.  But that … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Three Times Lucky by Shiela Turnage

Read December 2020 Recommended for fans of plucky young detectives  ★     ★     ★     ★   Occasionally I dip my toe into the waters of middle-grade fiction, hoping for that playful feeling of reading The Size of the Truth … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, young adult | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Sisters by Raina Telgemeier

Read November 2020 Recommended for people who don’t understand sisters  ★     ★      Do you remember how it feels to spend a long road trip in the car, arguing with your sibling? Telgemeier has been kind enough to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, young adult | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

Read September 2020 Recommended for seriously hetronorms  ★      No one knows a girls’ friendship like a guy, amIrite? Just kidding, totally sexist of me, just like this entire hetronormative mess of a Hogwarts derivative with more contradictory messaging … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

Adventures of a Dwergish Girl by Daniel Pinkwater

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of New England, YA  ★     ★     Somehow, I missed Pinkwater’s works when I was growing up. I rectified that not long ago when Sarah B. pointed me towards Lizard Music, a delightfully … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

Read December 2019 Recommended for middle school detectives  ★     ★     ★    ★     The Westing Game is first full-length mystery I remember reading. Well, besides Encyclopedia Brown and Nancy Drew books. But the one mystery that I could still … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, young adult | Tagged , , , | 5 Comments

Lizard Music by D. Manus Pinkwater

Read November 2019 Recommended for ten-year-olds and Reynolds ★   ★    ★   ★    I had lizards when I was young, so it stands to reason that a book titled “Lizard Music” would appeal. With allergies to fur and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , | 1 Comment