Tag Archives: arc

Adventures of a Dwergish Girl by Daniel Pinkwater

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of New England, YA  ★     ★     Somehow, I missed Pinkwater’s works when I was growing up. I rectified that not long ago when Sarah B. pointed me towards Lizard Music, a delightfully … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Smart Woman’s Guide to Murder by Victoria Dowd. Or The Smart Woman Considers it Unpalatable.

Read May 2020 Recommended for no one.  ★     You would think that at my age, I would be smarter than to fall for a marketing line that claims “A GOLDEN AGE COUNTRY HOUSE MURDER MYSTERY BROUGHT BANG UP TO … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

The Last Human by Zack Jordan

Read March 2020 Recommended for fans of mindbending sci-fi  ★     ★    ★   The Last Human is an intriguing sci-fi debut that has a serious case of over-reach. When I began it, I knew nothing except the blurb and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Sea Change by Nancy Kress

Read February 2020 Recommended for fans hope  ★     ★   1/2 Surprisingly, for all my years in sci-fi, I’ve never read Nancy Kress. I think it has often been a subject/person (me) mismatch, so when Tachyon Publications had a review … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Toll by Cherie Priest

Read July 2019 Recommended for fans of Southern Gothic ★   ★   1/2    Loosely billed as ‘horror,’ I don’t think that The Toll earns the genre. With a Southern Gothic atmosphere, it has a dual plot line that only … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Thriller, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

Death Doll by Brian P. White

Read March 2019  ★     ★     These aren’t the droids you’re looking for. More specifically, they aren’t the zombies I’m looking for. But they may very well work for you. In the interests of remembering and for other future … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Walking to Aldebaran by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Read April 2019 Recommended for fans of exploration sci-fi  ★     ★      ★     ★   1/2       ‘Aldebaran’ is a red star whose name comes from the Arabic word for ‘follower,’ because it seems to follow the Pleides. Interesting … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

The October Man by Ben Aaronovitch

Read March 2019 Recommended for fans of urban fantasy police procedural ★     ★    ★    ★   You should always realize that my ratings for Ben Aaronovitch are relative to his own works; his Peter Grant series is generally … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 3 Comments

The Last by Hanna Jameson. Well, I hope it isn’t hers.

Read December 2018 Recommended for fans of The Last Policeman ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 I was all set to close the book (cough) on 2018; I had finished up the Peter Grant series in a very … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Pulling Strings by Nick DeWolf

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of  King, thrillers ★     ★    ★    Well, I’ve got myself in a pickle. I rarely do ARCs, and for the most part, the ones I do are for books I intend to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Thriller | Tagged , , | Leave a comment