Tag Archives: arc

Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances by Aliette de Bodard

Read May 2022 Recommended  ★   ★   ★   ★    I’m fond of de Bodard’s writing style. Though I bounced off the first book in this universe, The House of Shattered Wings, it did not stop me from enjoying this novella. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Mystery | Tagged , , , | 6 Comments

The Bruising of Qilwa by Naseem Jamnia

Read March 2022 ★   ★  ★ Reminds me very much of early adolescence; earnest, sincere, and very awkward. I have no doubt that some will love it’s wholehearted embracement of the exploration of identity and I absolutely wish them enjoyment … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Sisters of the Forsaken Stars by Lina Rather

Read January 2022 Recommended for fans of the Sisters ★   ★  ★  1/2 I was going to say something about how this mostly feels like a thoughtful character study, with a little bit of plot thrown in, until I was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

A Desolation Called Peace by Arkady Martine

Read December 2020 Recommended for fans of empire sci-fi  ★     ★     ★     ★      ★   I am grateful that Martine’s A Desolation Called Peace came my way at the end of 2020 instead of during the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 3 Comments

The Living Dead by George A. Romero and Daniel Kraus

Called it November 2020 Recommended for serious fans only  ★     ★     ★     Results of a 51% read: It’s long. Really, really long, which is an interesting genre choice. As much as I go on about the value … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Adventures of a Dwergish Girl by Daniel Pinkwater

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of New England, YA  ★     ★     Somehow, I missed Pinkwater’s works when I was growing up. I rectified that not long ago when Sarah B. pointed me towards Lizard Music, a delightfully … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

The Smart Woman’s Guide to Murder by Victoria Dowd. Or The Smart Woman Considers it Unpalatable.

Read May 2020 Recommended for no one.  ★     You would think that at my age, I would be smarter than to fall for a marketing line that claims “A GOLDEN AGE COUNTRY HOUSE MURDER MYSTERY BROUGHT BANG UP TO … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

The Last Human by Zack Jordan

Read March 2020 Recommended for fans of mindbending sci-fi  ★     ★    ★   The Last Human is an intriguing sci-fi debut that has a serious case of over-reach. When I began it, I knew nothing except the blurb and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Sea Change by Nancy Kress

Read February 2020 Recommended for fans hope  ★     ★   1/2 Surprisingly, for all my years in sci-fi, I’ve never read Nancy Kress. I think it has often been a subject/person (me) mismatch, so when Tachyon Publications had a review … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Toll by Cherie Priest

Read July 2019 Recommended for fans of Southern Gothic ★   ★   1/2    Loosely billed as ‘horror,’ I don’t think that The Toll earns the genre. With a Southern Gothic atmosphere, it has a dual plot line that only … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Thriller, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment