Tag Archives: classic

The Stars My Destination by Alfred Bester

Read  June 2017 Recommended for classic sci-fi fans ★    ★    ★   ★    1/2 An excellent analysis of the Trump candidacy and events leading up to his election as #45. Uses both his perspective and that of the anonymous supporter to chilling … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | Leave a comment

When Gravity Falls by George Alec Effinger

Read  June 2017 Recommended for people who enjoy futuristic detective noir ★    ★    ★   ★    1/2 I don’t even. This book engrossed me, sucked me in, took me to the seediest bar in town, plied me with cheap booze and left … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 5 Comments

The More than Complete Hitchhiker’s Guide by Douglas Adams

Listened May 2017 Recommended for fans of the absurd ★    ★    ★   ★    ★     The edition of the Guide that replaced all others in my library, it contains an introduction by Douglas Adams that adds interesting details for fans … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

A Rage in Harlem by Chester Himes

Listened October 2016 Recommended for fans of dark comedy  ★     ★     ★     ★     ★   Read by Samuel Jackson, this was an absolute auditory treat, keeping me transfixed on the drive from Georgia to Kentucky. Expecting something more of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

The Goblin Reservation by Clifford Simak. No reservations needed.

Read April 2016 Recommended for fans of Pratchett, Thursday Next, Doorways in the Sand  ★     ★    ★    ★ Some days, I need silly and yesterday, The Goblin Reservation fit the bill perfectly. Familiar with Simak through the beautifully pastoral … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 12 Comments

Alas, Babylon by Pat Frank

Read March 2016 Recommended for apocalypse fans, historians  ★     ★     ★    ★   Alas, Babylon was one of the more perplexing literary experiences I’ve had this year. Written by Pat Frank, it’s the story of Randy … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

Dune by Frank Herbert

Read December 2015 Recommended for fans of sci-fi  ★    ★    ★    ★ I blame the movie. I was an avid but novice fantasy and sci-fi reader in 1984 when David Lynch’s Dune rolled out as a big-budget … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

On Basilisk Station by David Weber

Read November 2015 Recommended for fans of  military sci-fi  ★    ★    1/2 broken finger review #3: first of all, people, i wanted to call this the ‘one-handed review series,’ as i’m typing entirely with one hand (at one … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 9 Comments

4:50 From Paddington by Agatha Christie

Read September 2015 Recommended for fans of Christie, manor house mysteries  ★    ★    ★    ★    Mrs. McGillicuddy is traveling by train when she witnesses a woman being strangled in the train traveling alongside hers. She reports the incident … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Guards!Guards! by Terry Pratchett. Or, Classic British Humour

Read August 2015 Recommended for fans of Pratchett, British humor  ★    ★    ★      My Terry Pratchett Experience ™ is remarkably similar to my Month Python Experience.™  Fun and funny, but really best done in small doses. Say, 15 minute … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 5 Comments