Tag Archives: classic

A Rage in Harlem by Chester Himes

Listened October 2016 Recommended for fans of dark comedy  ★     ★     ★     ★     ★   Read by Samuel Jackson, this was an absolute auditory treat, keeping me transfixed on the drive from Georgia to Kentucky. Expecting something more of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

The Goblin Reservation by Clifford Simak. No reservations needed.

Read April 2016 Recommended for fans of Pratchett, Thursday Next, Doorways in the Sand  ★     ★    ★    ★ Some days, I need silly and yesterday, The Goblin Reservation fit the bill perfectly. Familiar with Simak through the beautifully pastoral … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 12 Comments

Alas, Babylon by Pat Frank

Read March 2016 Recommended for apocalypse fans, historians  ★     ★     ★    ★   Alas, Babylon was one of the more perplexing literary experiences I’ve had this year. Written by Pat Frank, it’s the story of Randy … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

Dune by Frank Herbert

Read December 2015 Recommended for fans of sci-fi  ★    ★    ★    ★ I blame the movie. I was an avid but novice fantasy and sci-fi reader in 1984 when David Lynch’s Dune rolled out as a big-budget … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

On Basilisk Station by David Weber

Read November 2015 Recommended for fans of  military sci-fi  ★    ★    1/2 broken finger review #3: first of all, people, i wanted to call this the ‘one-handed review series,’ as i’m typing entirely with one hand (at one … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 9 Comments

4:50 From Paddington by Agatha Christie

Read September 2015 Recommended for fans of Christie, manor house mysteries  ★    ★    ★    ★    Mrs. McGillicuddy is traveling by train when she witnesses a woman being strangled in the train traveling alongside hers. She reports the incident … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Guards!Guards! by Terry Pratchett. Or, Classic British Humour

Read August 2015 Recommended for fans of Pratchett, British humor  ★    ★    ★      My Terry Pratchett Experience ™ is remarkably similar to my Month Python Experience.™  Fun and funny, but really best done in small doses. Say, 15 minute … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 5 Comments

After the Funeral by Agatha Christie.

March 2015 Recommended for fans of Poirot, Christie four stars, three-and-a-half stars, who can tell the third time around? Goodness, but I’m a reading disaster when it comes to Christie books. At one point in After the Funeral, I felt … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 2 Comments

They Do It with Mirrors by Agatha Christie. Or with phones.

March 2015 Recommended for fans of Miss Marple  ★    ★    ★    Sure, they do it with mirrors. Apparently in 1952, they could even do it by telephone. By which I refer to phoning it in, because this isn’t Christie … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The Sheep Look Up by John Brunner. Or, the future is now.

February 2015 Recommended for disbelievers in the need for the EPA  ★    I think I might DNF this one. Honestly, I feel like I’m reading the newspaper and the Sierra Club’s journal on a particularly bad day. Knowing that … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | Leave a comment