Tag Archives: epic fantasy

The Pygmy Dragon by Marc Secchia. Or, Back to class!

Read July  2016 Recommended for the author. To re-work.  ★     “This week’s assignment will be to write two chapters of a young adult book about a Pygmy girl, dragons and special powers.” At least, that’s how I imagine The … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Rapture by Kameron Hurley

Read January 2016 Recommended for  ★    ★    ★    ★ “People keep saying I’m a bel dame, but I’m not. Haven’t been in over twenty years. I’m just a woman… And you lied to me.” Rapture defies easy explanation. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

City of Blades by Robert Jackson Bennett

Read January 2016 Recommended for fans of tough-as-nails, supernatural mysteries  ★    ★    ★    ★    1/2  This was not what I expected. Enchanted by City of Stairs (my review), I worked my way backward through some of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments

The Sword-Edged Blonde by Alex Bledsoe

Finished April 2015 Recommended for fans of fantasy and noir  ★    ★    ★     Well, that was a surprise. (Cover) + (title) = Pass.  Except that too many book-world friends read and enjoyed it, so I thought it was worth … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Mystery | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett. Or, Stairs rising

February 2015 Recommended for fans of fantasy, Song for Arbonne, Full Fathom Five, Godstalk  ★    ★    ★    ★    ★   Read this. I almost didn’t, wary of the disappointment an over- hyped book can bring. But once I … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 12 Comments

The Time of the Dark by Barbara Hambly

November 2014 Recommended for fans of portal fantasy  ★    ★    ★    1/2 A recent read of Those Who Hunt the Night led me to one of Hambly’s early series, The Time of the Dark. First published in 1982, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

The Element of Fire by Martha Wells

October 2014 Recommended for Wells fans, traditional fantasy fans  ★    ★    ★    1/2 If you are considering Martha Wells, I suggest starting with one of her books besides The Element of Fire. The Death of the Necromancer (review), for … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Harbinger of the Storm by Aliette de Bodard

September 2014 Recommended for fans of Martha Wells, inventive fantasy, otherworldly detection  ★    ★    ★    ★   1/2 I loved researching and writing ethnographies in anthropology class; the idea of describing cultural norms in the hopes of understanding as … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Wheel of the Infinite by Martha Wells

Read July 2014 Recommended for fans of Wells, The Blue Sword, fantasy about older women four stars, three and a half stars, who’s counting? A woeful number of fantasy readers are unfamiliar with Martha Wells. My proof, you ask? The … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

The Dragon’s Path by Daniel Abraham

Read June 2014 Recommended for fans of epic fantasy ★    ★    ★     1/2 I cut my reading teeth on fantasy and science fiction. A regular at the local library, I had gone through their “SF/F” offerings by early teens … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , | 4 Comments