Tag Archives: fantasy

Legends & Lattes by Travis Baldree

Read January 2023 Recommended for fans of Pratchett, MMOG ★    ★   ★   1/2 It all depends on your definition of ‘cosy,’ I suppose. I’ve been wrapping up George Saunders’ A Swim In a Pond In the Rain, in which … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Long Game by K. J. Parker

Read December 2022 Recommended for fans unreliable narrators ★    ★       Sadly, a miss. A first person, unnamed and quite likely unreliable narrator has to finesse a situation with demon and a traveler from a possibly mythical land. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

The Essential Peter S. Beagle Volume One

Read December 2022 Recommended for fans of fantasy shorts ★    ★    ★   1/2   I’ve long been a fan of Peter S. Beagle. I’ve read all of his fiction and most of his short story collections, but this was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Cage of Souls by Tchaikovsky

Read August 2022 Recommended for fans of old-timey literature   This, then, is where I think I close at last my weary eyes, lay hand upon my brow and reflect on how it is I came to this place. Many … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 7 Comments

The Border Keeper by Kerstin Hall

Read March 2022 Recommended for people that like show over substance and dreamstate ★   ★   ★   1/2 Evocative imagery, inexpert execution. Any time one talks borderlands, one starts to invoke folk tales and myths, the stories about edges between life … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Bruising of Qilwa by Naseem Jamnia

Read March 2022 ★   ★  ★ Reminds me very much of early adolescence; earnest, sincere, and very awkward. I have no doubt that some will love it’s wholehearted embracement of the exploration of identity and I absolutely wish them enjoyment … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

The Steerswoman by Rosemary Kirstein

Read February 2022 Recommended for fans of the scientific method ★   ★  ★  1/2 This is one of those books that I wish I had found when it was published in 1989, or even in the following decades. I would … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

The Iron Khan by Liz Williams. Or, Sheer Gold.

Read February 2022 Recommended for fans of Chinese mythology ★   ★   ★   ★       1/2 Currently the last in the Detective Inspector Chen series. It deserves more than this partial review, but I am, after all, on vacation, so … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Night Watch by Terry Pratchett, take two

Read December, 2021 Recommended for aging Pratchett fans ★   ★    ★    ★     1/2   In one timeline, I read this in 2015 and it was a total miss even though I had an affection for the character … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

A Skinful of Shadows by Frances Hardinge

Recommended for fans of Hardinge Read October  2021 ★   ★   ★   1/2 “They had found the edges of each other’s temper, like jagged rocks under a placid skin of water.” Frances Hardinge is an amazing writer. She is one of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , | 5 Comments