Tag Archives: fantasy

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

Read September 2020 Recommended for seriously hetronorms  ★      No one knows a girls’ friendship like a guy, amIrite? Just kidding, totally sexist of me, just like this entire hetronormative mess of a Hogwarts derivative with more contradictory messaging … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of NYC, Jemisin  ★     ★    1/2 Surprisingly underwhelming for me. Admittedly, I’m not a huge new-adult fan, and this has ‘coming-of-age’ plot line all over. I was also surprised that there was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

The Tough Guide to Fantasyland by Diana Wynne Jones

Read 2020 Recommended for fans of fantasy  ★     ★    ★    ★  Before there was TV Tropes, there was The Tough Guide to Fantasyland. In 1996, Wynne Jones created the ultimate epic fantasy trope list. Done in a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 6 Comments

A Wizard’s Guide to Defensive Baking by T. Kingfisher

Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of  Kingfisher  ★     ★    ★     Really, how can any baker resist a title like that, along with the lure of an enthusiastic but somewhat unreliable sourdough starter named Bob? But what … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Short Story Round Up, Part 2

      “Our King and His Court”   by Rich Larson Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of Abercrombie, The Godfather  ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Tor.com’s summary says it all. It’s a partially deconstructed … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , | 1 Comment

The Big Over Easy by Jasper Fforde. It goes over quite easily.

Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of Jasper Fforde  ★     ★    ★    ★     1/2 Fun, but as with most everything I like, complicated. The story begins with Mary Mary being shown around Reading Central Police Station by … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , | 6 Comments

Round-up: P. Djeli Clark

One of my favorite new writers is P. Djèlí Clark. I first discovered him from longer length short-stories, and then his novellas. As I enthusiastically reviewed his work, it led to interesting discussions on the ability of male authors to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Hugo 2019 Novelette Nominations

“If at First You Don’t Succeed, Try, Try Again” by Zen Cho Best Novelette nomination and Winner https://www.barnesandnoble.com/blog/sci-fi-fantasy/if-at-first-you-dont-succeed-try-try-again-by-zen-cho/ Sweet. A touch uneven but a solid heart. Chinese dragons, karma, transformation, all rolled in to a modernized version of a traditional … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 19 Comments

The Fourth Bear by Jasper Fforde

Read May 2020 Recommended for fans of cleverness, digression  ★     ★    ★    ★ Once again, The Fourth Bear makes the personal library cut. Oh, don’t get me wrong; it’s as meandering as bumblebee at the height of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Iron and Magic by Ilona Andrews

Read February 2020 Recommended for Andrews fans  ★     ★    Meh. A lack-luster entry into the Kate Daniels universe. I essentially bought it because it was cheap, and because I needed an airplane read. Thanks to Covid, my trip … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged | 5 Comments