Tag Archives: fantasy

Castle Hangnail by Ursula Vernon

Read February 2017 Recommended for fans of fairy tales and clever girls  ★     ★    ★    ★    ★     Castle Hangnail is unbelievably charming and one of the first reads of the year to make it to my ‘to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Johannes Cabal short stories by Jonathan L. Howard

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of Cabal  ★     ★    ★    ★    ★    When the giant spider devil appeared in The Fall of the House of Cabal, it wasn’t long before I was giggling. How can you … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Between Two Thorns by Emma Newman. Yes, absolutely.

Read January 2017 Recommended for people that like Regency romance and elven politics  ★     ** spoiler alert ** Do not read this review. Unless you are Carol., and unless you are not fond of regency romance and portal worlds. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 9 Comments

The Brothers Cabal by Jonathan L. Howard

Read December 2016 Recommended for fans of British humor, vampires, aeroplanes  ★     ★     ★     ★     ★   I feel a kinship with Howard and his sense of humor, a frequently subtle type of reference-filled playfulness that works best if … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 5 Comments

The Palace Job by Brent Weekes

Read December 2016 Recommended for fans of heists, Pratchett  ★     ★     ★     1/2 Thanks to entirely mixed reviews among my friends, I ended up shelving this as do-not-read. However, when Amazon offered it as a daily deal, I forgot … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

The Translated Man by Chris Braak

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of Death of the Necromancer, Max Gladstone  ★     ★     ★     ★     Detective-Inspector Coroner Elijah Beckett is struggling. Not professionally; his team has a reputation for getting their man, or in this case, their … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

The Pygmy Dragon by Marc Secchia. Or, Back to class!

Read July  2016 Recommended for the author. To re-work.  ★     “This week’s assignment will be to write two chapters of a young adult book about a Pygmy girl, dragons and special powers.” At least, that’s how I imagine The … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

The Steel Remains by Richard K. Morgan

Read May 2016 Recommended for fans of very grimdark fantasy See rating below   Into every life a book that destroys the rating system must come–The Steel Remains is leading for 2016. Naomi and I were looking for a buddy … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged | 2 Comments

The Goblin Reservation by Clifford Simak. No reservations needed.

Read April 2016 Recommended for fans of Pratchett, Thursday Next, Doorways in the Sand  ★     ★    ★    ★ Some days, I need silly and yesterday, The Goblin Reservation fit the bill perfectly. Familiar with Simak through the beautifully pastoral … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 12 Comments

Child of a Hidden Sea by A.M. Dellamonica

Read February 2016 Recommended for fans of other worlds  2  1/2 to 3 stars      Sophie Hansa regains consciousness in a body of water, disoriented, thinking only of keeping herself afloat. She quickly realizes her new-found aunt is with … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , | 4 Comments