Tag Archives: fantasy

Short Story Round Up, Part 3

‘They’re Made of Meat’ by Terry Bisson Read January 2021 Recommended for fans of humor  ★     ★    ★    ★       It’s made of meat, and I still prefer not to eat it. “Do you have any … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Fiction, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

A Master of Djinn by P. Djeli Clark

Read January 2021  ★     ★     ★ P. Djèlí Clark is one of those authors that’s on my ‘to watch’ list. You might even say I’m a fan. I’ve read through most of his short stories and purchased most … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 10 Comments

Hench by Natalie Zina Walschots

Read January 2021 Recommended for fans of dark supers  ★     ★     ★ I’m not saying I was looking for lifestyle alternatives. Just because I’ve left the path of self-sacrificing medical worker doesn’t mean I’m swinging another way. In … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

The Trials of Koli by M.R. Carey

Read November 2020 Recommended for fans of post apocalypse YA  ★     ★     ★    Despite often viewing reading as a solitary experience, sometimes friends are where it’s at. A flash book-group got me through the first Koli book, … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

Read September 2020 Recommended for seriously hetronorms  ★      No one knows a girls’ friendship like a guy, amIrite? Just kidding, totally sexist of me, just like this entire hetronormative mess of a Hogwarts derivative with more contradictory messaging … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of NYC, Jemisin  ★     ★    1/2 Surprisingly underwhelming for me. Admittedly, I’m not a huge new-adult fan, and this has ‘coming-of-age’ plot line all over. I was also surprised that there was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

The Tough Guide to Fantasyland by Diana Wynne Jones

Read 2020 Recommended for fans of fantasy  ★     ★    ★    ★  Before there was TV Tropes, there was The Tough Guide to Fantasyland. In 1996, Wynne Jones created the ultimate epic fantasy trope list. Done in a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 6 Comments

A Wizard’s Guide to Defensive Baking by T. Kingfisher

Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of  Kingfisher  ★     ★    ★     Really, how can any baker resist a title like that, along with the lure of an enthusiastic but somewhat unreliable sourdough starter named Bob? But what … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Short Story Round Up, Part 2

      “Our King and His Court”   by Rich Larson Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of Abercrombie, The Godfather  ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Tor.com’s summary says it all. It’s a partially deconstructed … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , | 1 Comment

The Big Over Easy by Jasper Fforde. It goes over quite easily.

Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of Jasper Fforde  ★     ★    ★    ★     1/2 Fun, but as with most everything I like, complicated. The story begins with Mary Mary being shown around Reading Central Police Station by … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , | 6 Comments