Tag Archives: female lead

Legends & Lattes by Travis Baldree

Read January 2023 Recommended for fans of Pratchett, MMOG ★    ★   ★   1/2 It all depends on your definition of ‘cosy,’ I suppose. I’ve been wrapping up George Saunders’ A Swim In a Pond In the Rain, in which … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Catch Me If You Can by Jessica Nabongo. But I’d rather not.

Read November 2022 Recommended for travel fans ★   ★   1/2    Well, this is awkward. The trouble with analyzing the autobiographical is that one is also, to some extent, analyzing the person. And that just seems rude, right? Thinking of … Continue reading

Posted in Autobiography, Book reviews, Non-fiction | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Dead Silence by S.A. Barnes

Read December 2022 Recommended for fans of light horror ★    ★    ★    1/2 I am a horror pansy. Not my genre. But I am a sucker for chicks-in-space, and after I read more than a few reviews … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Rules of Redemption by T.A. White

Read February 2022 Recommended for fans of Ilona Andrews ★    ★    1/2 Short version: what seems like a space-faring buddy flick turns into a court-intrigue romance novel with a deathly Mary Sue. It feels a great deal like … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

Hunt the Stars by Jessie Mihalik

Read December 2022 Recommended for fans of Ilona Andrews ★    ★    ★   ★   Fun and well-done example of the genre. There’s not a lot of substance to it, but honestly, it met the goal for sheer entertainment. What … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 5 Comments

Sea Storm by Andrew Mayne

Read November 2022 Recommended for police procedural fans ★    ★    ★   Not enough cowbell underwater. For every thriller/mystery series, there is a style and a place, and that’s part of the attraction. Conversations go like this with my … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

A Mirror Mended by Alix E. Harrow

Read August 2022 Recommended for fans of the Scholomance ★   ★   ★   1/2 Fairy tales and I go way back. For a little perspective, you have to remember I’m the Disney Classic era, so I’m not talking movie fairy tales … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Bayou Born by Hailey Edwards

Read October 2022 Recommended for fans of UF/PNR very slow burn ★   ★   1/2    The urban fantasy market feels overcrowded, but Hailey Edwards is one of the few that has gets my attention, beginning with The Beginners Guide to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Golden Enclaves by Naomi Novik

Read September 2022 Recommended for fans of the Scholomance ★   ★   ★   ★   This isn’t your childhood Harry Potter. “I didn’t want to get up and go on in the world, agreeing that it was in any way acceptable for … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | 16 Comments

Finger Lickin’ Fifteen by Janet Evanovich

Read August 2022 Recommended for people in the 2000s unratable Back in the day–ie, as they were released–I read all of the Stephanie Plum books. No matter how ridiculous, I could say that they gave me at least one laugh-out-loud … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment