Tag Archives: female lead

Made Things by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Recommended for The Littles Read October  2021 ★   ★   ★    On the upside, I can now spell ‘Tchaikovsky.’ Anything that isn’t spelled correctly is purely a typo. On the downside, the trouble with reading some of an author’s truly … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

A Deadly Education by Naomi Novik

Recommended for: fans of magic schools, Murderbot Read in August 2021 ★   ★   ★   ★   ★  Undoubtedly five stars. What makes it so? The ability to capture my attention and hold until finished, the daze of finishing, and the desire … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , | 7 Comments

Calling on Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede

Recommended for fans of cracked fairy tales Read in August 2021 ★   ★     My least favorite of the Enchanted Forest Chronicles. When I recently acquired the e-box set, I discovered Wrede put a little introduction in front of each … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Dealing with Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede

Recommended for:  fans of fractured fairy tales Read in August 2021 ★   ★   ★   ★   ★    Charming and cute. Nostalgia and a sale on the electronic boxed set brought this to my attention; while I have the paperback set, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The Left-Hand Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

Recommended for: ya traditionalists Read in July 2021 ★   ★   ★   1/2     I’ve bounced off Sabriel by Garth Nix enough times that I was hesitant to give his latest a try, but Nataliya’s fine review caught my imagination, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | 7 Comments

Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie

Read June 2021★  ★  ★   There’s at least two ways to read this series, and your enjoyment will depend on which you choose (choose your own adventure!) Do you: Read quickly, surface-details only, not pausing to question characters and plotting.  … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

What Abigail Did That Summer by Ben Aaronovitch

Read May 2021 Recommended for Abigail fans ★  ★  ★  ★ This was mostly a delight. It won’t work for everyone, I’m sure, but for me it was strongly reminiscent of The Furthest Station and a delightful return to the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Ancillary Sword

Read May 2021 Recommended for fans of Ann Leckie, The Expanse ★  ★  ★ In a move perhaps unsurprising to no one, I continue to swim against public current on Leckie’s Ancillary series. I had been warned that the pace … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix Harrow

Read March 2021 Recommended for ★   1/2 I stalled. Why? Because it contains one trope I hate,¹ a character type I dislike,² and a plot choice I dislike³ with what is looking to be a fairly predictable story that’s lingering in the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , | 5 Comments

Voodoo Killings by Kristi Charish

Read March 2021 Recommended for UF who want something a little different  ★     ★     ★     1/2 Always on the look-out for something new in urban fantasy, Charish did not disappoint with her light-hearted take on death magic. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | Leave a comment