Tag Archives: female lead

The Left-Hand Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

Recommended for: ya traditionalists Read in July 2021 ★   ★   ★   1/2     I’ve bounced off Sabriel by Garth Nix enough times that I was hesitant to give his latest a try, but Nataliya’s fine review caught my imagination, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie

Read June 2021★  ★  ★   There’s at least two ways to read this series, and your enjoyment will depend on which you choose (choose your own adventure!) Do you: Read quickly, surface-details only, not pausing to question characters and plotting.  … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

What Abigail Did That Summer by Ben Aaronovitch

Read May 2021 Recommended for Abigail fans ★  ★  ★  ★ This was mostly a delight. It won’t work for everyone, I’m sure, but for me it was strongly reminiscent of The Furthest Station and a delightful return to the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Ancillary Sword

Read May 2021 Recommended for fans of Ann Leckie, The Expanse ★  ★  ★ In a move perhaps unsurprising to no one, I continue to swim against public current on Leckie’s Ancillary series. I had been warned that the pace … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix Harrow

Read March 2021 Recommended for ★   1/2 I stalled. Why? Because it contains one trope I hate,¹ a character type I dislike,² and a plot choice I dislike³ with what is looking to be a fairly predictable story that’s lingering in the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , | 5 Comments

Voodoo Killings by Kristi Charish

Read March 2021 Recommended for UF who want something a little different  ★     ★     ★     1/2 Always on the look-out for something new in urban fantasy, Charish did not disappoint with her light-hearted take on death magic. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | Leave a comment

A Song Below Water by Bethany C. Morrow

A really fabulous idea, lots of potential but awkward execution. For a book that is ostensibly about Tavia, a young woman recently relocated from LA to Portland, and her bestie, Effie, there’s an awful lot here that has nothing to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

A Master of Djinn by P. Djeli Clark

Read January 2021  ★     ★     ★ P. Djèlí Clark is one of those authors that’s on my ‘to watch’ list. You might even say I’m a fan. I’ve read through most of his short stories and purchased most … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 10 Comments

Hench by Natalie Zina Walschots

Read January 2021 Recommended for fans of dark supers  ★     ★     ★ I’m not saying I was looking for lifestyle alternatives. Just because I’ve left the path of self-sacrificing medical worker doesn’t mean I’m swinging another way. In … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

Blood Heir by Ilona Andrews

Read January 2021 Recommended for fans Kate Daniels  ★     ★     ★ Short version? Kate 2.0. WinKate98. There you go. Move along. The long version? (Let’s be honest–there’s always a long version, right?). The long version is that I’m … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 3 Comments