Tag Archives: female lead

The Girl with Ghost Eyes by M.H. Boroson

  Read October 2020  ★     ★     ★     ★      An above average  first book, with lots to like for urban fantasy fans. It reminds me of Maxine Hong Kingston crossed with Snake Agent. A young widowed … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Magical Midlife Dating by K.F. Breene

Read August 2020 Recommended for dating optimists.  ★     1/2    I thought the first book in the series, Magical Midlife Madness, quite cute. The premise is that a woman is at odds after divorcing and her only son going off … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Read August 2020 Recommended   ★     ★    ★     ★   1/2 “‘Of course, but do you understand what is at stake,’ he asked? She had no idea… She was, however, curious. ‘Tell me,’ she said,  knowing a story lay … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Wrong Stars by Tim Pratt

Read August 2020 Recommended for fans of Suzanne Palmer, The Expanse  ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 “You know I am, at heart, a pragmatist. That’s why I seek chemical assistance to have less pragmatic experiences.” This … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

A Wizard’s Guide to Defensive Baking by T. Kingfisher

Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of  Kingfisher  ★     ★    ★     Really, how can any baker resist a title like that, along with the lure of an enthusiastic but somewhat unreliable sourdough starter named Bob? But what … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Sauerkraut Station by Ferrett Steinmetz

Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of space station sci-fi  ★     ★    ★    1/2 My absolute favorite thing by Steinmetz. It entirely deserves the 2012 Nebula nod. A young woman aboard the tiniest space way-station imaginable meets … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

A Big Ship at the Edge of the Universe by Alex White

Edit Edit date and time Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of space adventures! Fast-n-furious!  ★     ★    ★    1/2 This is the literary equivalent of the weekend action-adventure movie. Although initially slow to grab me, in the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, genre-bender, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Feed by Mira Grant

Recommended for: fans of zombies, pandemics Read May 2011 ★  ★  ★  1/2 A perfect summer read. It starts out with our heroes poking sharp sticks at zombies and a narrow escape. It’s a good way to develop interest, but … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | 6 Comments

The Smart Woman’s Guide to Murder by Victoria Dowd. Or The Smart Woman Considers it Unpalatable.

Read May 2020 Recommended for no one.  ★     You would think that at my age, I would be smarter than to fall for a marketing line that claims “A GOLDEN AGE COUNTRY HOUSE MURDER MYSTERY BROUGHT BANG UP TO … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

Dark Harvest Magic by Jayne Faith

Read May 2020 Recommended for eh, idk  ★     1/2 Ah, QuarantineBrain™. I’m going to miss you. That casual, passive acceptance of the way the days blended into each other, and the passive way I could let books flow over … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | 8 Comments