Tag Archives: four star

Walking to Aldebaran by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Read April 2019 Recommended for fans of exploration sci-fi  ★     ★      ★     ★   1/2       ‘Aldebaran’ is a red star whose name comes from the Arabic word for ‘follower,’ because it seems to follow the Pleides. Interesting … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

Read March 2019 Recommended for fans of Christie, Sayers ★    ★    ★    ★   I didn’t know much about the Magpie Murders when Dan 2-Headphones suggested it as a buddy read. I read the description, and though it … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 4 Comments

The October Man by Ben Aaronovitch

Read March 2019 Recommended for fans of urban fantasy police procedural ★     ★    ★    ★   You should always realize that my ratings for Ben Aaronovitch are relative to his own works; his Peter Grant series is generally … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

How We Do Harm: A Doctor Breaks Ranks About Being Sick in America

Read March 2019 Recommended for health care providers, patients ★     ★    ★    ★   I don’t know that I’ve ever read anything that came so close to summing up my years in health care. That said, there’s one … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Non-fiction | Tagged , , , | 8 Comments

Winter Tide by Ruthanna Emrys

Read January 2019 Recommended for  ★     ★     ★     ★ Unexpected. I haven’t tried Lovecraft for years, perhaps decades, so this lingered on my TBR, due to numerous reviews and blurbs mentioning how it turns Lovecroft storytelling sideways. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 9 Comments

The Luminous Dead by Caitlin Starling

Read December 2018 Recommended for fans of survival stories ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Totally Unauthorized Review It was very good, just the sort of read I wanted. Read it if you enjoy survival stories, or caving, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Lies Sleeping by Ben Aaronovitch

Read December 2018 Recommended for fans of supernatural mysteries, Peter Grant ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2   The Post in Which I Muse on Audio Versions of Books Stop reading the paper copy and give listening a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★     “Or Miki was a bot who had never been abused or lied to or treated with anything but indulgent kindness. It really thought its humans were … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Third Girl by Agatha Christie

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of Christie ★     ★    ★    ★   Imagine, if you will, being a famous female mystery author. You’ve been publishing for over forty-five years, and you’ve become more than a bit tired of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Spares by Michael Marshall Smith. Not spare. Quite full, actually.

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of sci fi and detectives ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Calling Spares a ‘hard-boiled detective’ story is like calling Ben&Jerry’s Wavy Gravy ‘chocolate swirl ice cream.’ Sure. I guess, if … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments