Tag Archives: four star

Spiderlight by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Recommended for fans of D&D, questioning Read October  2021 ★   ★   ★   ★   1/2 This was bananas. To be clear, I don’t mean ‘bananas’ in the wierd-fiction, ‘Authority’ kind of way, but in the ‘end up in a completely different … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments

Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews

Recommended for fans of Kate Daniels, slow burns Read October  2021 ★   ★   ★   ★ I never read paranormal romances. lie Ok, fine. And I’m not in the Andrews fan club, either. lie I’ve only read this book one. Oooh, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

The Doors of Eden by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Recommended for:  fans of world-building Read in August 2021 ★   ★   ★  ★   I’ve been told, by a mostly reliable source, that as long as your ending is satisfying, you just can’t complain too much. As much as my instinct … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

Apocalypse Now Now by Charlie Human

Recommended for:  New adult UF Read in August 2021 ★   ★   ★    ★   1/2     Bananas. Delicious, chocolate-covered, frozen summer-camp bananas. This has been on my TBR for quite a while, largely due to the lack of library … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Three Times Lucky by Shiela Turnage

Read December 2020 Recommended for fans of plucky young detectives  ★     ★     ★     ★   Occasionally I dip my toe into the waters of middle-grade fiction, hoping for that playful feeling of reading The Size of the Truth … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, young adult | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The Rosewater Insurrection by Tade Thompson

Read November 2020 Recommended for fans of sci fi Earth, aliens  ★     ★     ★    ★  The second book in the Rosewater series, and really, you can’t read and understand this without reading the first, so I really wouldn’t … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 8 Comments

Professor Wormbog in Search for the Zipperump-A-Zoo

Read October 2020 Recommended for those who like cute monsters  ★     ★    ★    ★     1/2 Meyer’s work has always tickled me. This book is about the Professor searching for the letter ‘Z’ beastie to round out … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Girl with Ghost Eyes by M.H. Boroson

  Read October 2020  ★     ★     ★     ★      An above average  first book, with lots to like for urban fantasy fans. It reminds me of Maxine Hong Kingston crossed with Snake Agent. A young widowed … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The Magpie Lord by K.J. Charles

Read August 2020 Recommended for fans of Edwardian mysteries  ★     ★    ★    1/2   Written better than all of my QB™ reads, this is a fun palate-cleanser between more demanding books. Books that I’ve been avoiding, for … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

The Wrong Stars by Tim Pratt

Read August 2020 Recommended for fans of Suzanne Palmer, The Expanse  ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 “You know I am, at heart, a pragmatist. That’s why I seek chemical assistance to have less pragmatic experiences.” This … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 5 Comments