Tag Archives: four star

The Girl with Ghost Eyes by M.H. Boroson

  Read October 2020  ★     ★     ★     ★      An above average  first book, with lots to like for urban fantasy fans. It reminds me of Maxine Hong Kingston crossed with Snake Agent. A young widowed … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The Magpie Lord by K.J. Charles

Read August 2020 Recommended for fans of Edwardian mysteries  ★     ★    ★    1/2   Written better than all of my QB™ reads, this is a fun palate-cleanser between more demanding books. Books that I’ve been avoiding, for … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

The Wrong Stars by Tim Pratt

Read August 2020 Recommended for fans of Suzanne Palmer, The Expanse  ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 “You know I am, at heart, a pragmatist. That’s why I seek chemical assistance to have less pragmatic experiences.” This … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Haunting of Tram Car 015 by P. Djeli Clark

Read February 2019 Recommended for fans of djinn, interesting reads  ★     ★    ★     ★  Cairo, 1912 or so. There’s a ghost in Tram Car 015, although Senior Agent Hamed is fairly certain it isn’t a ghost. You … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 3 Comments

Magical Midlife Madness by K.F. Breene. Or, A Midlife I Can Get Behind

Read May 2020 Recommended for fans of Clean Sweep, PNR ★   ★   ★   ★   1/2 I really don’t think it’s QuarantineBrain™, but if you try and say it’s peri-menopause brain, I will come over and beat you with an old … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Fourth Bear by Jasper Fforde

Read May 2020 Recommended for fans of cleverness, digression  ★     ★    ★    ★ Once again, The Fourth Bear makes the personal library cut. Oh, don’t get me wrong; it’s as meandering as bumblebee at the height of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

How to Live an Undead Lie by Hailey Edwards

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of Sookie Stackhouse  ★     ★    ★    ★ Another enjoyable entry in the Necromancy series. As an aside, the ‘necromancy’ seems to be similar to ‘magic,’ except the skill can also raise … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Reef Creature Identification by Paul Humann and Ned Deloach

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of divers, snorklers  ★     ★    ★    ★ This is considered The Definitive Reference for creatures in the listed areas (there’s a similar set for Hawaii). I’m a biology nerd and snorkeling … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Non-fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews

Read January 2020, 2015 Recommended for fans of magical inns  ★     ★     ★     ★    Surprisingly, I liked this even better than the first novel in the Innkeeper series, Clean Sweep. I expected a paranormal romance direction … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

Read December 2019 Recommended for middle school detectives  ★     ★     ★    ★     The Westing Game is first full-length mystery I remember reading. Well, besides Encyclopedia Brown and Nancy Drew books. But the one mystery that I could still … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, young adult | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments