Tag Archives: four star

Winter Tide by Ruthanna Emrys

Read January 2019 Recommended for  ★     ★     ★     ★ Unexpected. I haven’t tried Lovecraft for years, perhaps decades, so this lingered on my TBR, due to numerous reviews and blurbs mentioning how it turns Lovecroft storytelling sideways. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 9 Comments

The Luminous Dead by Caitlin Starling

Read December 2018 Recommended for fans of survival stories ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Totally Unauthorized Review It was very good, just the sort of read I wanted. Read it if you enjoy survival stories, or caving, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Lies Sleeping by Ben Aaronovitch

Read December 2018 Recommended for fans of supernatural mysteries, Peter Grant ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2   The Post in Which I Muse on Audio Versions of Books Stop reading the paper copy and give listening a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★     “Or Miki was a bot who had never been abused or lied to or treated with anything but indulgent kindness. It really thought its humans were … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Third Girl by Agatha Christie

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of Christie ★     ★    ★    ★   Imagine, if you will, being a famous female mystery author. You’ve been publishing for over forty-five years, and you’ve become more than a bit tired of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Spares by Michael Marshall Smith. Not spare. Quite full, actually.

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of sci fi and detectives ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Calling Spares a ‘hard-boiled detective’ story is like calling Ben&Jerry’s Wavy Gravy ‘chocolate swirl ice cream.’ Sure. I guess, if … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Blindsight by Peter Watts

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of hard sci-fi ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 This is a very dense book, packed with ideas. Although Watts mentions he’s a biologist by training, you wouldn’t know it, between … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Magic Triumphs by Ilona Andrews

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of kick-ass women, myths, shapeshifters ★     ★    ★     ★   The last book in a ten-book series. By all means, don’t start here. However, I do recommend reading this series if you enjoy … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

The Black God’s Drums by P. Djeli Clark

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of N’Orleans, orphans ★     ★    ★     ★   Fabuleux. If you have a thing for thieving street orphans  or the power of New Orleans, I highly recommend giving it a read. Creeper … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Unquiet by John Connolly. Yes, very.

Read August -Sept 2018 Recommended for fans of detective thrillers with a twist ★     ★    ★    ★   1/2 Intense. Connolly writes detective-style mysteries with a dash of supernatural elements. The trouble is, neither Parker, nor the reader, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment