Tag Archives: four star

Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★     “Or Miki was a bot who had never been abused or lied to or treated with anything but indulgent kindness. It really thought its humans were … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Third Girl by Agatha Christie

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of Christie ★     ★    ★    ★   Imagine, if you will, being a famous female mystery author. You’ve been publishing for over forty-five years, and you’ve become more than a bit tired of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Spares by Michael Marshall Smith. Not spare. Quite full, actually.

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of sci fi and detectives ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Calling Spares a ‘hard-boiled detective’ story is like calling Ben&Jerry’s Wavy Gravy ‘chocolate swirl ice cream.’ Sure. I guess, if … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Blindsight by Peter Watts

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of hard sci-fi ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 This is a very dense book, packed with ideas. Although Watts mentions he’s a biologist by training, you wouldn’t know it, between … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Magic Triumphs by Ilona Andrews

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of kick-ass women, myths, shapeshifters ★     ★    ★     ★   The last book in a ten-book series. By all means, don’t start here. However, I do recommend reading this series if you enjoy … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

The Black God’s Drums by P. Djeli Clark

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of N’Orleans, orphans ★     ★    ★     ★   Fabuleux. If you have a thing for thieving street orphans  or the power of New Orleans, I highly recommend giving it a read. Creeper … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Unquiet by John Connolly. Yes, very.

Read August -Sept 2018 Recommended for fans of detective thrillers with a twist ★     ★    ★    ★   1/2 Intense. Connolly writes detective-style mysteries with a dash of supernatural elements. The trouble is, neither Parker, nor the reader, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Dope by Sara Gran

Read August 2018 Recommended for fans of noir ★     ★    ★    ★   Dope reminds me of that time I fell off the monkeybars. I landed on my back, hard enough that the wind was knocked out of me … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Surviving the Evacuation: London (book 1) by Frank Tayell

Read July 2018 Recommended for fans of the apocalypse ★     ★    ★    ★   1/2 The only thing Tayell can’t do is catchy titles. Oh, and cover design. Besides that, this is easily one of the better apocalypse I’ve … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned by Walter Mosley

Read July 2018 Recommended for people who want a slice of a different life ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2   The only mystery here is why I thought I going to read a whodunnit after having the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment