Tag Archives: four star

Children of Time by Adrian Tchaikovsky. A new classic.

Read January 2017 Recommended for sci-fi fans, people who wanted to like Aurora and didn’t, fans of Charlotte’s Web  ★     ★     ★    ★    1/2   Sympathetic spiders? Inconceivable! –I do not think that word means what you think it means– Nope, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 9 Comments

Dissension (Echo Hunter 367) by Stacey Berg

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of kick-ass women  ★     ★     ★     ★    1/2 It is not always easy to say why some books spark our interest, is it? In retrospect, I’m not actually clear on why I added … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 7 Comments

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Deadly Cambodian Crime Spree

Read December 2016 Recommended for fans of Hercule Poirot  ★     ★     ★     ★   1/2 My favorite Inspector Singh yet. If you haven’t yet heard about the Inspector Singh detective series, I recommend giving it a try. Singh is a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | 5 Comments

The Translated Man by Chris Braak

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of Death of the Necromancer, Max Gladstone  ★     ★     ★     ★     Detective-Inspector Coroner Elijah Beckett is struggling. Not professionally; his team has a reputation for getting their man, or in this case, their … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

One Fell Sweep by Ilona Andrews. Looking forward to reading in one fell sweep.

Read January through October 2016 Recommended for fans of urban fantasy  ★     ★     ★     ★     First, sincere thanks to the Andrews for making this available for free as an on-line weekly serial. That was very kind and generous, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Lovers (Charlie Parker #8) by John Connolly

Read October 2016 Recommended for fans of King, Supernatural  ★     ★     ★     ★    As I was doing the unthinkable–physically browsing library shelves instead of ordering on-line–I saw a number of Connolly’s Charlie Parker books. Despite friends’ enthusiastic reviews, I’ve … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

A Most Peculiar Murder by Shamini Flint. Not ‘peculiar’ as much as ‘intriguing.’

Read September 2016 Recommended for fans of southeast Asia, gentle mysteries  ★     ★     ★     ★    I get the strangest feeling of Agatha Christie, lah? Not entirely sure why that would be as Inspector Singh is an Indian Singaporean, disrespected … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Welcome to the Medical Clinic at the Interplanetary Relay Station by Caroline M. Yoachim. Or Alphabetized Medicine is fun.

Read September 2016 Recommended for fans of Choose Your Own Adventure  ★     ★     ★     ★    I don’t normally review short stories on my blog, unless they are exceptional, and Yaochim’s short in Lightspeed Magazine is a clear exception. I … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Pink Vodka Blues by Neal Barrett Jr. Not really ‘blues’ as much as ‘bubbles’

Read September 2016 Recommended for fans of daffy buddy mysteries, the Spellmans  ★     ★     ★     ★    “The lamp by the bed said cheap hotel. The lamp was bright orange, which is not a good color if you drink. You … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers. Or, How to Feel Good on your way to a Small Angry Planet

Read August 2016 Recommended for fans of Firefly  ★     ★     ★     ★       Niceness is undervalued. In an age of cynicism, we believe very little is done altruistically: this politician is facilitating an international adoption for campaign-fodder; that site … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 2 Comments