Tag Archives: four star

The Killing Floor Blues by Craig Schaefer

Read March 2017 Recommended for fans of urban fantasy with a kick  ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Hot damn, that was fun! I don’t mean ‘fun’ in the hanging with the bestie sense, eating dinner while we … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Night Fall by Nelson DeMille

Read March 2017 Recommended for fans of thrillers, government conspiracies  ★     ★    ★    ★   Generally, I’m not a fan of political thrillers. You say to me, “Carol, here’s a political thriller I just know you will love…” … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

City of Miracles by Robert Jackson Bennett.

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of Guy Gavriel Kay who wish he’d write an action fantasy  ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Some authors always manage to surprise me. Bennett is one of them, with each book I’ve … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 9 Comments

The Fall of the House of Cabal by Jonathan L. Howard

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of Cabal  ★     ★     ★     ★     1/2 So much is quotable here, so much extreme deliciousness. The Brothers Cabal are back together, each having done a bit of personal growth. One of the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Children of Time by Adrian Tchaikovsky. A new classic.

Read January 2017 Recommended for sci-fi fans, people who wanted to like Aurora and didn’t, fans of Charlotte’s Web  ★     ★     ★    ★    1/2   Sympathetic spiders? Inconceivable! –I do not think that word means what you think it means– Nope, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 9 Comments

Dissension (Echo Hunter 367) by Stacey Berg

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of kick-ass women  ★     ★     ★     ★    1/2 It is not always easy to say why some books spark our interest, is it? In retrospect, I’m not actually clear on why I added … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 7 Comments

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Deadly Cambodian Crime Spree

Read December 2016 Recommended for fans of Hercule Poirot  ★     ★     ★     ★   1/2 My favorite Inspector Singh yet. If you haven’t yet heard about the Inspector Singh detective series, I recommend giving it a try. Singh is a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | 5 Comments

The Translated Man by Chris Braak

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of Death of the Necromancer, Max Gladstone  ★     ★     ★     ★     Detective-Inspector Coroner Elijah Beckett is struggling. Not professionally; his team has a reputation for getting their man, or in this case, their … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

One Fell Sweep by Ilona Andrews. Looking forward to reading in one fell sweep.

Read January through October 2016 Recommended for fans of urban fantasy  ★     ★     ★     ★     First, sincere thanks to the Andrews for making this available for free as an on-line weekly serial. That was very kind and generous, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Lovers (Charlie Parker #8) by John Connolly

Read October 2016 Recommended for fans of King, Supernatural  ★     ★     ★     ★    As I was doing the unthinkable–physically browsing library shelves instead of ordering on-line–I saw a number of Connolly’s Charlie Parker books. Despite friends’ enthusiastic reviews, I’ve … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments