Tag Archives: four star

Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews

Read January 2020, 2015 Recommended for fans of magical inns  ★     ★     ★     ★    Surprisingly, I liked this even better than the first novel in the Innkeeper series, Clean Sweep. I expected a paranormal romance direction … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

Read December 2019 Recommended for middle school detectives  ★     ★     ★    ★     The Westing Game is first full-length mystery I remember reading. Well, besides Encyclopedia Brown and Nancy Drew books. But the one mystery that I could still … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, young adult | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Water Will Come: Rising Seas, Sinking Cities and the Remaking of the Civilized World

Read June 2019 Recommended for everyone, particularly young people, Floridians, coasties and Trumpsters ★   ★   ★   ★    For too long the national climate debate has centered on “is it real?” and “is it man-made?” How this occurred … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

A Song of Shadows by John Connolly

Read June 2019 Recommended for fans of the series ★   ★   ★   ★   ★  Easily the best Charlie Parker book since The Lovers (#8). It was, for me, a perfectly balanced Parker book: mystery, the supernatural, vengeance, visceral horror, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

The Size of the Truth by Andrew Smith

Read June 2019 Recommended for fans of quirky kids ★   ★  ★   ★   1/2 I (excuse me) hated sixth grade. So I was hesitant to read a book about Sam, who, “during the first week of sixth grade … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse

Read June 2019 Recommended for fans of UF ★   ★  ★   ★ Fast-moving, moving from a straight-forward confrontation to a search and rescue. There are a lot of similarities with the Kate Daniels series: a heroine with a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Beholder’s Eye by Julie E. Czerneda

Read May 2019 Recommended for fans of aliens, space operas ★   ★  ★   ★ I remember reading The Big Idea for Czerneda’s latest book on Scalzi’s blog (ok, it was 2018) and was intrigued by her idea of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Walking to Aldebaran by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Read April 2019 Recommended for fans of exploration sci-fi  ★     ★      ★     ★   1/2       ‘Aldebaran’ is a red star whose name comes from the Arabic word for ‘follower,’ because it seems to follow the Pleides. Interesting … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

Read March 2019 Recommended for fans of Christie, Sayers ★    ★    ★    ★   I didn’t know much about the Magpie Murders when Dan 2-Headphones suggested it as a buddy read. I read the description, and though it … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 4 Comments

The October Man by Ben Aaronovitch

Read March 2019 Recommended for fans of urban fantasy police procedural ★     ★    ★    ★   You should always realize that my ratings for Ben Aaronovitch are relative to his own works; his Peter Grant series is generally … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 3 Comments