Tag Archives: Hugo /nom

A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers

Read April 2017 Recommended for fans of character-driven stories, sci-fi ★    ★    ★   ★    ★   I understand that some people weren’t fans of The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet. Personally, in my heart of hearts, I kind of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Six-Gun Snow White by Catherynne M. Valente

Read July  2016 Recommended for fans of mythology, Valente  ★     ★     ★     ★ Take fairy tale mythology, the sideways structure of Native American folklore, a Wild West setting, weave it through with themes on race and gender … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

The Goblin Reservation by Clifford Simak. No reservations needed.

Read April 2016 Recommended for fans of Pratchett, Thursday Next, Doorways in the Sand  ★     ★    ★    ★ Some days, I need silly and yesterday, The Goblin Reservation fit the bill perfectly. Familiar with Simak through the beautifully pastoral … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 12 Comments

The Diamond Age, Or, A Young Lady’s Illustrated Primer by Neal Stephenson.

Read March to April 2016 Recommended for hard core Stephenson fans  ★     ★ Initially, I wasn’t tempted by The Diamond Age, but the subtitle drew me in. A book advising young women? Interesting. However, given a choice between this … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments

The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate by Ted Chiang

Read December 2015 Recommended for fans Baghdad bazaars, time travel  ★    ★    ★    ★    ★   he Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate is made up of four intricately woven stories: the titular story, “The Tale of the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 6 Comments

Dune by Frank Herbert

Read December 2015 Recommended for fans of sci-fi  ★    ★    ★    ★ I blame the movie. I was an avid but novice fantasy and sci-fi reader in 1984 when David Lynch’s Dune rolled out as a big-budget … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Lucifer’s Hammer by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle

January 2015 Recommended for fans of the apocalypse, asteroids, end-of-society  ★    ★    ★   Good grief, reading hasn’t been such a chore since Professional Nursing Practice Foundations and Concepts. And in the fiction world, Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

The Lathe of Heaven by Ursula Le Guin

Read February 2014 ★   ★   ★   ★ For those new to or unaware of the wonders of Le Guin, this is a short book about George Orr, a man who has been taking too many drugs in an attempt to stop … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

China Mountain Zhang by Maureen McHugh

Read November, 2013 ★   ★   ★   ★   1/2 China Mountain Zhang is an impressive work, well deserving of its Hugo and Nebula nominations and its Tiptree and Lambda awards. Thoughtful, precise writing and Zhang’s fully developed … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 3 Comments

Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. Corey. Or, Carol Stays Up Late

Recommended for: fans of light sci-fi Read from August 02 to 03, 2013 ★   ★   ★   ★ Leviathan Wakes broke my reading slump! Listlessly slogging my way through various reads–a couple of which came highly recommended–I was starting to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , , | 3 Comments