Tag Archives: humor

The Get Fuzzy Eperience

Read  June 2017 Recommended for Bucky fans (not the badger) ★    ★    1/2   Sometimes you just need some easy laughter in life, and what better than comics to fit the bill? I’ve enjoyed the Get Fuzzy comic strip for … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Palace Job by Patrick Weekes

Read December 2016 Recommended for fans of heists, Pratchett  ★     ★     ★     1/2 Thanks to entirely mixed reviews among my friends, I ended up shelving this as do-not-read. However, when Amazon offered it as a daily deal, I forgot … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

Armadillos and Old Lace by Kinky Friedman

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of  Izzy Spellman and Bertie  ★     ★     ★     1/2   It needed more armadillos and less lace. Aside from that, this is a pleasant and occasionally delightful read. Kinky reminds me of no … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

A Rage in Harlem by Chester Himes

Listened October 2016 Recommended for fans of dark comedy  ★     ★     ★     ★     ★   Read by Samuel Jackson, this was an absolute auditory treat, keeping me transfixed on the drive from Georgia to Kentucky. Expecting something more of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Skinny Annie Blues by Neal Barrett, Jr.

Read October 2016 Recommended for fans of Tom Robbins, madcap confusion  ★     ★     ★     Amusing but occasionally tiresome, much like a visiting three-year-old. At least it doesn’t insist on petting the dog who would rather remain untouched. It reminds … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

Pink Vodka Blues by Neal Barrett Jr. Not really ‘blues’ as much as ‘bubbles’

Read September 2016 Recommended for fans of daffy buddy mysteries, the Spellmans  ★     ★     ★     ★    “The lamp by the bed said cheap hotel. The lamp was bright orange, which is not a good color if you drink. You … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Infernals by John Connelly

Read June  2016 Recommended for the young adult at heart and the old adult in brain  ★     ★     ★     ★ Think The Phantom Tollbooth crossed with Johannes Cabal. Literate, dark humor, a straightforward plot interrupted with sidebars, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

The Goblin Reservation by Clifford Simak. No reservations needed.

Read April 2016 Recommended for fans of Pratchett, Thursday Next, Doorways in the Sand  ★     ★    ★    ★ Some days, I need silly and yesterday, The Goblin Reservation fit the bill perfectly. Familiar with Simak through the beautifully pastoral … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 12 Comments

Adulthood is a Myth by Sarah Andersen.

Read March 2016 Recommended for bookworms, introverts  ★     ★     ★    ★ Judging by the reviews, many, many readers see themselves in Sarah’s work. I completely understand, because I do too. After seeing a friend’s glowing review … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, genre-bender | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

Johannes Cabal the Necromancer by Jonathan L. Howard

Read January 2016 Recommended for fans of creepy carnies, Devil’s bargains  ★    ★    ★    ★    1/2   Alternate title: Something Wicked This Way Comes, by the Carnies. Johannes Cabal is sorely vexed. Some time ago, he … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 8 Comments