Tag Archives: humor

Adulthood is a Myth by Sarah Andersen.

Read March 2016 Recommended for bookworms, introverts  ★     ★     ★    ★ Judging by the reviews, many, many readers see themselves in Sarah’s work. I completely understand, because I do too. After seeing a friend’s glowing review … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, genre-bender | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

Johannes Cabal the Necromancer by Jonathan L. Howard

Read January 2016 Recommended for fans of creepy carnies, Devil’s bargains  ★    ★    ★    ★    1/2   Alternate title: Something Wicked This Way Comes, by the Carnies. Johannes Cabal is sorely vexed. Some time ago, he … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 8 Comments

Guards!Guards! by Terry Pratchett. Or, Classic British Humour

Read August 2015 Recommended for fans of Pratchett, British humor  ★    ★    ★      My Terry Pratchett Experience ™ is remarkably similar to my Month Python Experience.™  Fun and funny, but really best done in small doses. Say, 15 minute … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 5 Comments

Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway

Read August 2013 Recommended for fans of absurdist thrillers  ★    ★    ★    ★    I opened Angelmaker with high expectations. I enjoyed The Gone-Away World a great deal, and admired the blend of characterization, humor, and social commentary with a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Fiction, genre-bender, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , | 4 Comments

Interior Desecrations by James Lileks. Love the words, not the patterns.

March 2015 Recommended for fans of design and humor  ★    ★    ★    ★    I picked this up after a friend’s review, not because I have any great interest in interior design, but because I was sort of hoping to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Non-fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Nice Girls Finish Last by Sparkle Hayter

November 2014 Recommended for fans of Izzy Spellman, early Stephanie Plum, humorous mysteries  ★    ★    ★    ★ “Curiosity, I remembered, always got me into trouble… Well, it wasn’t just curiosity. Vodka was also involved. But it was mostly … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Revenge of the Cootie Girls by Sparkle Hayter

November 2014 Recommended for fans of The Spellman Files, early Stephanie Plum  ★    ★    ★    ★   Remember cootie catchers? We actually used them as ‘fortune tellers’ in my middle school: Summary It’s Halloween and a jet-lagged Robin Hudson … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

Read July 2014 Recommended for fans of humorous biographies, people with problem dogs, people who love cake ★    ★    ★    ★    ★ Allie Brosh astounds me. Despite her strange little drawings, particularly a self-portrait that looks something like … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, genre-bender | Tagged , , , , , | 5 Comments

The Martian by Andy Weir

Read June 2014 Recommended for fans of astronauts, survival stories ★    ★    ★    ★     “Things didn’t go exactly as planned, but I’m not dead, so it’s a win.“ Mark Watney’s wry evaluation is essentially the summation of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 5 Comments

Eats Shoots & Leaves by Lynne Truss. Don’t forget ‘laughs.’

Read April 2014 Recommended for fans of writing, communicating ★   ★   ★   ★ I confess:  I frequently find myself self-conscious about my use of punctuation. A few years back, I even bought a copy of Strunk and White’s The Elements of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Non-fiction | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments