Tag Archives: Locus /nom

bellwether by Connie Willis

Re-Read March 2017 Recommended for fans of light romantic comedy ★    ★    ★    ★     ★    I owe bellwether a review.   Bellwether is a book that I inevitably turn to when I want something that is light, clever, literate … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Six-Gun Snow White by Catherynne M. Valente

Read July  2016 Recommended for fans of mythology, Valente  ★     ★     ★     ★ Take fairy tale mythology, the sideways structure of Native American folklore, a Wild West setting, weave it through with themes on race and gender … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

The Diamond Age, Or, A Young Lady’s Illustrated Primer by Neal Stephenson.

Read March to April 2016 Recommended for hard core Stephenson fans  ★     ★ Initially, I wasn’t tempted by The Diamond Age, but the subtitle drew me in. A book advising young women? Interesting. However, given a choice between this … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

Read February 2016 Recommended for fans of young adult, biotech, Austria  ★    ★    ★ An Adventure in Which an Aristocratic Young Man Discovers How to Pilot an All-Terrain Walker and that he is Now an Orphan, and a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , , | 6 Comments

The Apocalypse Codex by Charles Stross

Read August 2015 Recommended for agnostic fans of Lovecraftian spy thrillers  ★    ★    ★    1/2 I’m thinking 2013 was a weak year for the Locus Awards. Don’t get me wrong: I enjoyed The Apocalypse Codex, and there was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 6 Comments

The Fuller Memorandum by Charles Stross. Fuller and funner.

Read July 2015 Recommended for people who enjoy geek humor, spies, supernatural being  ★    ★    ★    ★   1/2 Bob Howard is having a rough week. His boss has ordered him out to a distant airfield to deal with … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Those Who Hunt the Night by Barbara Hambly. Hunt this one up.

November 2014 Recommended for fans of P.N. Elrod, Death of the Necromancer  ★    ★    ★    ★      There’s nothing like a soupcon of horror to keep you awake during a long, slow night, and Those Who Hunt … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Mystery, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

Bone and Jewel Creatures by Elizabeth Bear. Sparkling.

October 2014 Recommended for fans of collages, Valente, fairy tales  ★    ★    ★    ★    1/2 A jewel of a novella. “Bijou’s fingers angled from her palms as if someone had bent them aside under great heat and pressure. She … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There

Read August 2014 Recommended for fans of Valente, purplish prose, shadows  ★    ★    ★    ★    1/2 Once you’ve been to a world filled with magic, what happens next? September first visited Fairyland in The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

The Lathe of Heaven by Ursula Le Guin

Read February 2014 ★   ★   ★   ★ For those new to or unaware of the wonders of Le Guin, this is a short book about George Orr, a man who has been taking too many drugs in an attempt to stop … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment