Tag Archives: meh

Magic for Nothing by Seanan McGuire. Nothing to see here.

Read  October 2017 Recommended for Srs Fans Only ★      Magic for Nothing, whether intended or not, has the plot of a classic spy caper: an agent belonging to Group One needs to infiltrate Group Two. In the context of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Rules of Prey by John Sandford

Read  October 2017 Recommended for people who meet the checklist ★     1/2 Read only if: 1. You’re John Sandford’s A+ Number One Fan 2. You are a completionist and must read every book in the Lucas Davenport series 3. You’re … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of John Scalzi and Jason Bourne  ★     ★     1/2 “No one tells you it’s all about to change, to be taken away. There’s no proximity alert, no indication that you’re standing on the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | 4 Comments

Pocket Apocalypse by Seanan McGuire. It’s an apocalypse, all right.

Read December 2016 Recommended for fans. Forgiving ones.  ★     1/2 It’s an apocalypse, all right–a three-hundred page written disaster. I’ll be blunt. I don’t read this series for the gorgeous writing; I read for the fun menagerie of fantastical … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

The Overlook by Michael Connelly. Well, yes–you can.

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of Michael Connelly  ★     ★     1/2 I don’t often read from the fiction bestseller list and I periodically wonder what I’m missing. When a Connelly (oops, not John Connolly–I mistakenly thought I had … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

Fever by Bill Pronzini

Read November 2016 Recommended for people who want a mystery without thriller  ★     ★     My mother recently retired, so I’m looking around for a new mystery series to entertain her. She rather enjoys series, so here’s hoping the Nameless … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 5 Comments

California by Edan Lepucki

Read October 2016 Recommended for fans of horror/thriller  ★     ★     If the world’s second-most annoying couple lives in the woods, will we care? Probably not.   Despite great potential, California is a mess of a navel-gazing couple looking for … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Trailer Park Fae by Lilith Saintcrow

Read August 2016 Recommended for fans of fae and ornate language  ★     ★    Lilith Saintcrow’s blog was one of the few I read regularly, and I have fond memories of reading her Jill Kismet series Night Shift when … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

King and Maxwell by David Baldacci

Read August 2016 Recommended for fans of movie thrillers  ★     ★    None of my friends have reviewed this book. Friends, this is your fault. I hold you all responsible. As well as my mother’s eighty-five year-old friend who … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , | 6 Comments

The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge

Read March 2016 Recommended for fans of Victorians, lies  ★   ★    1/2 Let me be frank– Shawn: As long as I can be Dean and Gus can be Sammy. Gus: Why do I always have to be Sammy? Shawn: … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments