Tag Archives: meh

The Black Parade by Kyoko M.

Read  April 2018 Recommended for fans of paranormal and angels ★    ★   carol.’s guideline for identifying sub-optimal YA books: 1) Everyone is supermodel attractive, even the villains. 2) They all ‘smirk.’ (I believe there’s over 20 instances in this one). … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Indexing by Seanan McGuire

Read  March 2018 Recommended for: not me ★    ★   At the end of the day, McGuire needs to stop turning in first drafts. Either that, or hire a new editor, because the one she has is about as rigorous as … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Quin’s Shanghai Circus by Edward Whittemore

Read  January 2018 Recommended for fans of Vonnegut DNF #7 in my Clean Out the Kindle Project. Naw, I’m just kidding. I can’t count be bothered to count. I got a new kindle and the only thing going on it … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Fiction, genre-bender | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Murder on Moloka’i by Chip Hughes

Read  December 2017 Recommended for fans of surfing ★   ★   1/2 AKA, the review in which I absolutely can not be bothered to remember the details. I have absolutely no idea how this found my way onto my radar. I … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Hidden Blade by Pippa DaCosta

Read  October 2017 Recommended for fans of action!UF!action! ★    ★   I’m a bit bummed, because my friends have such enthusiastic reviews and now I’m going to harsh all over their mellow. It could be the Kindle; I’m not known … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Magic for Nothing by Seanan McGuire. Nothing to see here.

Read  October 2017 Recommended for Srs Fans Only ★      Magic for Nothing, whether intended or not, has the plot of a classic spy caper: an agent belonging to Group One needs to infiltrate Group Two. In the context of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Rules of Prey by John Sandford

Read  October 2017 Recommended for people who meet the checklist ★     1/2 Read only if: 1. You’re John Sandford’s A+ Number One Fan 2. You are a completionist and must read every book in the Lucas Davenport series 3. You’re … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of John Scalzi and Jason Bourne  ★     ★     1/2 “No one tells you it’s all about to change, to be taken away. There’s no proximity alert, no indication that you’re standing on the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | 4 Comments

Pocket Apocalypse by Seanan McGuire. It’s an apocalypse, all right.

Read December 2016 Recommended for fans. Forgiving ones.  ★     1/2 It’s an apocalypse, all right–a three-hundred page written disaster. I’ll be blunt. I don’t read this series for the gorgeous writing; I read for the fun menagerie of fantastical … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

The Overlook by Michael Connelly. Well, yes–you can.

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of Michael Connelly  ★     ★     1/2 I don’t often read from the fiction bestseller list and I periodically wonder what I’m missing. When a Connelly (oops, not John Connolly–I mistakenly thought I had … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , | 6 Comments