Tag Archives: multi-culti

Lieberman’s Folly by Stuart M. Kaminsky

Read October 2020 Recommended for fans of PI detective  ★     ★     ★      I need a good mystery to balance out the imagination in my other stories, and frankly, the unmitigated disaster that is normal life. The … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Certain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno Garcia

Read October 2020 Recommended for those who enjoy a serious angst vampy story        I think this is a pass for me. Domingo is a seventeen year-old who lives on the streets, getting by by being invisible and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 5 Comments

The Girl with Ghost Eyes by M.H. Boroson

  Read October 2020  ★     ★     ★     ★      An above average  first book, with lots to like for urban fantasy fans. It reminds me of Maxine Hong Kingston crossed with Snake Agent. A young widowed … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Exit by Belinda Bauer

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of British mysteries  ★     ★    ★   An uneven but satisfying reading experience. Elderly (but not geriatric) widower Felix is on an assignment with his new partner, Amanda, as an Exiteer. Exiteers are … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Wrong Stars by Tim Pratt

Read August 2020 Recommended for fans of Suzanne Palmer, The Expanse  ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 “You know I am, at heart, a pragmatist. That’s why I seek chemical assistance to have less pragmatic experiences.” This … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

A Big Ship at the Edge of the Universe by Alex White

Edit Edit date and time Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of space adventures! Fast-n-furious!  ★     ★    ★    1/2 This is the literary equivalent of the weekend action-adventure movie. Although initially slow to grab me, in the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, genre-bender, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Haunting of Tram Car 015 by P. Djeli Clark

Read February 2019 Recommended for fans of djinn, interesting reads  ★     ★    ★     ★  Cairo, 1912 or so. There’s a ghost in Tram Car 015, although Senior Agent Hamed is fairly certain it isn’t a ghost. You … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 3 Comments

Earthrise By M.C.A. Hogarth

Read March 2020 Recommended for fans of light sci-fi  ★     ★    ★ Taken for what it is, Earthrise is perfectly enjoyable. The captain of a ragtag ship with a mysterious benefactor has a favor called in–a rescue of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | 4 Comments

Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

Read January 2020 Recommended for genre mash-up  ★     ★     ★    1/2 A difficult book to rate.  A difficult book to rate.  Following a young person desperate to get off her residential planet, it has the distinctive voice … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Maggie Terry by Sarah Schulman

Read November 2019 For fans of NYC and addiction lit-fic ★    ★     Hey, a new category of fiction for me: the NFM. Not quite a DNF, it’s a Not For Me, a quit before I waste any more … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Fiction, Mystery | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments