Tag Archives: multi-culti

Winter Tide by Ruthanna Emrys

Read January 2019 Recommended for  ★     ★     ★     ★ Unexpected. I haven’t tried Lovecraft for years, perhaps decades, so this lingered on my TBR, due to numerous reviews and blurbs mentioning how it turns Lovecroft storytelling sideways. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 9 Comments

The Last by Hanna Jameson. Well, I hope it isn’t hers.

Read December 2018 Recommended for fans of The Last Policeman ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 I was all set to close the book (cough) on 2018; I had finished up the Peter Grant series in a very … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Lies Sleeping by Ben Aaronovitch

Read December 2018 Recommended for fans of supernatural mysteries, Peter Grant ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2   The Post in Which I Muse on Audio Versions of Books Stop reading the paper copy and give listening a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★     “Or Miki was a bot who had never been abused or lied to or treated with anything but indulgent kindness. It really thought its humans were … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Black God’s Drums by P. Djeli Clark

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of N’Orleans, orphans ★     ★    ★     ★   Fabuleux. If you have a thing for thieving street orphans  or the power of New Orleans, I highly recommend giving it a read. Creeper … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

A Midsummer’s Equation by Keigo Higashino

Read August 2018 Recommended for fans of low-violence mysteries ★     ★    ★    1/2 Higashino is a popular Japanese author who writes mysteries emphasizing character and culture. Though by the time I reach halfway through the book, I’m … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned by Walter Mosley

Read July 2018 Recommended for people who want a slice of a different life ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2   The only mystery here is why I thought I going to read a whodunnit after having the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

helium by rudy francisco

Read July 2018 Recommended for poetry fans ★    ★   ★   ★   ★     “Tell me a story  and let’s laugh like it’s the only thing keeping us alive. Play a song and give the stereo permission to use its outside … Continue reading

Posted in poetry | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Salvation of a Saint by Keigo Higashino

Read June 2018 Recommended for fans of mysteries ★    ★   ★   ★   1/2   The second mystery I’ve read by Higashino was even better than my first (The Devotion of Suspect X). There is something immensely satisfying about his approach … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino

Read  March 2018 Recommended for mystery fans ★    ★   ★   ★   Both unusual and familiar, The Devotion of Suspect X is an unassuming mystery with an astonishing approach. It is a book that will toy with the very definition … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | 1 Comment