Tag Archives: multi-culti

Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★     “Or Miki was a bot who had never been abused or lied to or treated with anything but indulgent kindness. It really thought its humans were … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Black God’s Drums by P. Djeli Clark

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of N’Orleans, orphans ★     ★    ★     ★   Fabuleux. If you have a thing for thieving street orphans  or the power of New Orleans, I highly recommend giving it a read. Creeper … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

A Midsummer’s Equation by Keigo Higashino

Read August 2018 Recommended for fans of low-violence mysteries ★     ★    ★    1/2 Higashino is a popular Japanese author who writes mysteries emphasizing character and culture. Though by the time I reach halfway through the book, I’m … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned by Walter Mosley

Read July 2018 Recommended for people who want a slice of a different life ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2   The only mystery here is why I thought I going to read a whodunnit after having the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

helium by rudy francisco

Read July 2018 Recommended for poetry fans ★    ★   ★   ★   ★     “Tell me a story  and let’s laugh like it’s the only thing keeping us alive. Play a song and give the stereo permission to use its outside … Continue reading

Posted in poetry | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Salvation of a Saint by Keigo Higashino

Read June 2018 Recommended for fans of mysteries ★    ★   ★   ★   1/2   The second mystery I’ve read by Higashino was even better than my first (The Devotion of Suspect X). There is something immensely satisfying about his approach … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino

Read  March 2018 Recommended for mystery fans ★    ★   ★   ★   Both unusual and familiar, The Devotion of Suspect X is an unassuming mystery with an astonishing approach. It is a book that will toy with the very definition … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

The Tea Master and the Detective by Aliette de Bodard

Read  March 2018 Recommended for Sherlockian sci-fi fans ★    ★    ★    ★ In the age of fantasy books of ridiculous lengths–why, hello, Way of Kings–and series that may never be finished–ah-hem, George R.R. Martin and Patrick Rothfuss–I’ve rediscovered my love … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 13 Comments

The Trauma Cleaner by Sarah Krasnostein

Read February 2018 Recommended for fans of biographies ★    ★   1/2   Recently, The Mystic Arts of Erasing All Signs of Death was been popping up in discussion, and I had been toying with a re-read until fortuitously offered … Continue reading

Posted in Autobiography, Book reviews, Non-fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Wake of Vultures by Lila Bowen

Read  January 2018 Recommended for Fans of YA, explorations of identity ★    ★    ★     Sometimes, it’s all in the spin. If you has said to me, “here, read this YA book with trigger scenes, set in the Old-Timey … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | 7 Comments