Tag Archives: multi-culti

Trail of Lightning by Rebecca Roanhorse

Read May 2019 Recommended for fans of Kate Daniels ★   ★   ★     The short version: Kate Daniels fans need to give this one a try. The long version: Interesting world-building, taking off on the Native American idea of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , | 5 Comments

Don’t Ever Get Old by Daniel Friedman

Read March 2019, sort of Recommended for fans of ?  ★     ★     Sometimes, age doesn’t bring wisdom, and unfortunately, Buck Schatz (get it) is one of those cases. I started “Don’t Ever Get Old” hoping for humor–say, Grandma … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Deep Roots by Ruthanna Emrys

Read February 2019 Recommended for people who enjoy quiet exploration ★     ★    ★    ★  The title captures it perfectly; quiet, deep, thoughtful. Well, yes, there are multiple dimensions and worlds, and horrors from the night, and a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

The Emperor’s Pearl by Robert van Gulik

Read February 2019 Recommended for people who like murders in ancient China ★     ★    ★   Judge Dee and his wives are attending the annual dragonboat races when one of the drummers suddenly dies as his boat is about … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 3 Comments

Helen and Troy’s Epic Road Quest by A. Lee Martinez

Read February 2019 Recommended for fans of YA road trips 2.75 ★      A. Lee Martinez is hit and miss for me; two of his books are ridiculously fun (Gil’s All Fright Diner, Emperor Mollusk), a couple absolutely aren’t, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

Malice by Keigo Higashino

Read January 2019 Recommended for committed Higashino fans ★     ★     1/2    Higashino is a best-selling, award-winning, and prolific mystery author in Japan, but only six of his works have been translated into English. They’ve been extremely interesting … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Winter Tide by Ruthanna Emrys

Read January 2019 Recommended for  ★     ★     ★     ★ Unexpected. I haven’t tried Lovecraft for years, perhaps decades, so this lingered on my TBR, due to numerous reviews and blurbs mentioning how it turns Lovecroft storytelling sideways. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 9 Comments

The Last by Hanna Jameson. Well, I hope it isn’t hers.

Read December 2018 Recommended for fans of The Last Policeman ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 I was all set to close the book (cough) on 2018; I had finished up the Peter Grant series in a very … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Lies Sleeping by Ben Aaronovitch

Read December 2018 Recommended for fans of supernatural mysteries, Peter Grant ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2   The Post in Which I Muse on Audio Versions of Books Stop reading the paper copy and give listening a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★     “Or Miki was a bot who had never been abused or lied to or treated with anything but indulgent kindness. It really thought its humans were … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment