Tag Archives: my library

The Haunting of Tram Car 015 by P. Djeli Clark

Read February 2019 Recommended for fans of djinn, interesting reads  ★     ★    ★     ★  Cairo, 1912 or so. There’s a ghost in Tram Car 015, although Senior Agent Hamed is fairly certain it isn’t a ghost. You … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 3 Comments

Jackalope Wives and Other Stories by T. Kingfisher

I was motivated to buy this collection to both support Vernon/Kingfisher and because I adore the story “The Tomato Thief” (winner of the 2017 Hugo for novellette). I was motivated to review what I’ve read because of the total lack … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Magical Midlife Madness by K.F. Breene. Or, A Midlife I Can Get Behind

Read May 2020 Recommended for fans of Clean Sweep, PNR ★   ★   ★   ★   1/2 I really don’t think it’s QuarantineBrain™, but if you try and say it’s peri-menopause brain, I will come over and beat you with an old … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

The Fourth Bear by Jasper Fforde

Read May 2020 Recommended for fans of cleverness, digression  ★     ★    ★    ★ Once again, The Fourth Bear makes the personal library cut. Oh, don’t get me wrong; it’s as meandering as bumblebee at the height of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Cry Fox by Ben Aaronovitch, Andrew Cartmel and Sullivan

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of Ben’s graphic novels  ★     ★    1/2 Given all the sly references to Abigail and the foxes in the Peter Grant books, I had my hopes up for the story of Cry … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Reef Creature Identification by Paul Humann and Ned Deloach

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of divers, snorklers  ★     ★    ★    ★ This is considered The Definitive Reference for creatures in the listed areas (there’s a similar set for Hawaii). I’m a biology nerd and snorkeling … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Non-fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

Read December 2019 Recommended for middle school detectives  ★     ★     ★    ★     The Westing Game is first full-length mystery I remember reading. Well, besides Encyclopedia Brown and Nancy Drew books. But the one mystery that I could still … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, young adult | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Lightspeed Magazine, Issue 70

  Read November 2019 Recommended for fantasy/sci-fi fans ★   ★    ★    Here’s what happened: “Welcome to the Medical Clinic…” is awesome enough that I thought I should stop reading it for free and decided to buy it’s … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Sisters of the Vast Black by Lina Rather

Read November 2019 Recommended for fans of Chambers ★   ★    ★   ★  There’s something incredibly campy sounding about nuns in space. But this is less meme and more character study in the most unique space faring vehicle yet … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The October Man by Ben Aaronovitch

Read March 2019 Recommended for fans of urban fantasy police procedural ★     ★    ★    ★   You should always realize that my ratings for Ben Aaronovitch are relative to his own works; his Peter Grant series is generally … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments