Tag Archives: my library

The Book of Koli by M.R. Carey

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of   ★     ★    ★    I’m a sucker for a post-apocalyptic novel, so when it seemed like some friends wanted to read The Book of Koli, followed by a serendipitous sale, it … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of NYC, Jemisin  ★     ★    1/2 Surprisingly underwhelming for me. Admittedly, I’m not a huge new-adult fan, and this has ‘coming-of-age’ plot line all over. I was also surprised that there was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

Network Effect by Martha Wells

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of action AI   ★     ★    ★    ★   First of all, it’s Murderbot. So ‘four stars’ here is about a million for a normal read. But I struggled with Network Effect. Yes, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul by Douglas Adams

Read 2020 Recommended for fans of Douglas Adams  ★     ★  Almost entirely, but not quite, unlike tea–I mean, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. There is no way easy way to say this, but despite ingredients that should be … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | 2 Comments

A Wizard’s Guide to Defensive Baking by T. Kingfisher

Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of  Kingfisher  ★     ★    ★     Really, how can any baker resist a title like that, along with the lure of an enthusiastic but somewhat unreliable sourdough starter named Bob? But what … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Poirot’s Early Cases by Agatha Christie

Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of Poirot and short stories  ★     ★    ★     I was looking for a Poirot short story for my kindle when I ran into this compilation for a bargain ninety-nine cents. Worth … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Big Over Easy by Jasper Fforde. It goes over quite easily.

Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of Jasper Fforde  ★     ★    ★    ★     1/2 Fun, but as with most everything I like, complicated. The story begins with Mary Mary being shown around Reading Central Police Station by … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , | 6 Comments

Driving the Deep by Suzanne Palmer

Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of submarines, space adventures!  ★     ★    ★     ★    1/2 Interesting that it has been sci-fi books in the past few years to really pull me out of my slump. Driving the Deep was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

False Value by Ben Aaronovitch. Well, yes. It was.

Read June 2020 Recommended for tolerant fans  ★     ★    1/2 Delivered as advertised. Oh yes; you heard right. The founder of Goodreads’ Folly Irregulars and long-time fan of Peter Grant (the novels), has found a Peter Grant book … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 6 Comments

The Haunting of Tram Car 015 by P. Djeli Clark

Read February 2019 Recommended for fans of djinn, interesting reads  ★     ★    ★     ★  Cairo, 1912 or so. There’s a ghost in Tram Car 015, although Senior Agent Hamed is fairly certain it isn’t a ghost. You … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 3 Comments