Tag Archives: my library

Johannes Cabal short stories by Jonathan L. Howard

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of Cabal  ★     ★    ★    ★    ★    When the giant spider devil appeared in The Fall of the House of Cabal, it wasn’t long before I was giggling. How can you … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Nemesis by Agatha Christie

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of Miss Marple First published 1964  ★     ★    1/2    Nemesis. For such an ominous title, Christie presents a rather philosophically reserved and sedentary work. Miss Marple of the pink fluffy wool and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

A Caribbean Mystery by Agatha Christie

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of Miss Marple First published 1964  ★     ★    ★    1/2 One’s time period can be such a bother, don’t you think? Or, in some cases, very inspiring. I, for instance, never thought … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

Red Knight Falling by Craig Schaefer

Read January 2017 Recommended for those times you want UF action without overt sexism  ★     ★    ★    Urban fantasy often falls into what I think of as ‘gym reads.’ They tend to be light-weight philosophically, action-focused with streamlined … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Dissension (Echo Hunter 367) by Stacey Berg

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of kick-ass women  ★     ★     ★     ★    1/2 It is not always easy to say why some books spark our interest, is it? In retrospect, I’m not actually clear on why I added … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 7 Comments

Armadillos and Old Lace by Kinky Friedman

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of  Izzy Spellman and Bertie  ★     ★     ★     1/2   It needed more armadillos and less lace. Aside from that, this is a pleasant and occasionally delightful read. Kinky reminds me of no … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

The Hanging Tree by Ben Aaronovitch

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of supernatural detective  ★     ★     ★     ★     ★   Possibly perfect. The more I love a book, the harder it becomes to review, because I don’t want to move out of my state of enjoyment … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

The Translated Man by Chris Braak

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of Death of the Necromancer, Max Gladstone  ★     ★     ★     ★     Detective-Inspector Coroner Elijah Beckett is struggling. Not professionally; his team has a reputation for getting their man, or in this case, their … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs

Re-read May 2016 Recommended for fans of UF gurrl-power  ★     ★     ★     ★  The book that committed me to continuing the series. Zee, Mercy’s mechanic mentor, needs the help of her nose investigating a recent death on … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs

Re-read May 2016 Recommended for fans of Mercy Thompson  ★     ★     The second book in the Mercy installment centers upon the vampires. Stefen, good friend and Scooby-lovin, t-shirt wearing vamp, calls in a favor. Favors among the supernatural … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment