Tag Archives: my library

Seven of Infinities by Aliette de Bodard

Read December 2020 Recommended for fans of de Bodard  ★     ★     ★     ★   An unusual genre-bender set in de Bodard’s Xuya Universe. It combines sci-fi, a murder mystery and a bit of romance, wrapped in the feel … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 6 Comments

Ring Shout by P. Djeli Clark

Read December 2020 Recommended for fans of Lovecraft, time period UF  ★     ★     ★     ★    1/2 Ring Shout is Clark’s entry in the revisionist Lovecraft genre, and I have to say, it ranks as one of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 8 Comments

Tales From the Folly by Ben Aaronovitch

Read November 2020 Recommended for serious fans  ★     ★     ★      Mostly as advertised, a short story collection set in the Peter Grant universe, although it’s worth clarifying that Peter does not appear in perhaps half the stories. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Expert System’s Brother by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Read October 2020 Recommended for people who want a faster Book of Koli  ★     ★     ★     If I were a teacher, I’d say, “I expected better.” Comparisons are insidious, no doubt, but his book Children of Time … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

Rosewater by Tade Thompson

Read October 2020 Recommended for fans of future Earth  ★     ★     ★     ★    It’s disingenuous to pretend we don’t select a book looking for a certain experience, and have a loose feel for the kind of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | 5 Comments

The Book of Koli by M.R. Carey

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of YA post-apocalypse  ★     ★    ★    I’m a sucker for a post-apocalyptic novel, so when it seemed like some friends wanted to read The Book of Koli, followed by a serendipitous … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of NYC, Jemisin  ★     ★    1/2 Surprisingly underwhelming for me. Admittedly, I’m not a huge new-adult fan, and this has ‘coming-of-age’ plot line all over. I was also surprised that there was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

Network Effect by Martha Wells

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of action AI   ★     ★    ★    ★   First of all, it’s Murderbot. So ‘four stars’ here is about a million for a normal read. But I struggled with Network Effect. Yes, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul by Douglas Adams

Read 2020 Recommended for fans of Douglas Adams  ★     ★  Almost entirely, but not quite, unlike tea–I mean, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. There is no way easy way to say this, but despite ingredients that should be … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | 2 Comments

A Wizard’s Guide to Defensive Baking by T. Kingfisher

Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of  Kingfisher  ★     ★    ★     Really, how can any baker resist a title like that, along with the lure of an enthusiastic but somewhat unreliable sourdough starter named Bob? But what … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment