Tag Archives: mystery

Lieberman’s Folly by Stuart M. Kaminsky

Read October 2020 Recommended for fans of PI detective  ★     ★     ★      I need a good mystery to balance out the imagination in my other stories, and frankly, the unmitigated disaster that is normal life. The … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Florida Straits by Laurence Shimes

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of ?comedy Mafias?  ★     ★    ★   1/2 This was unexpected. No, really, it was. I expected a Mafia thriller/farce–perhaps along the lines of ‘Get Shorty’–what I found was a rather interesting story … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Fiction, Thriller | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Exit by Belinda Bauer

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of British mysteries  ★     ★    ★   An uneven but satisfying reading experience. Elderly (but not geriatric) widower Felix is on an assignment with his new partner, Amanda, as an Exiteer. Exiteers are … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Poirot’s Early Cases by Agatha Christie

Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of Poirot and short stories  ★     ★    ★     I was looking for a Poirot short story for my kindle when I ran into this compilation for a bargain ninety-nine cents. Worth … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Five Little Pigs by Agatha Christie

Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of Christie, Poirot  ★     ★      1/2 Some Christies are very absorbing, but Five Little Pigs (alternate American title: “Murder in Retrospect”) left an emotional gap that was never was quite bridged. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged | 2 Comments

Robert B. Parker’s Old Black Magic by Ace Atkins

Recommended for: Parker fans Read May 2020 ★   ★   ★    Akins has taken over Parker’s Spenser series and honestly, has probably surpassed the final decade of books that Parker himself was able to push out. Still, reading the merging … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 3 Comments

The Smart Woman’s Guide to Murder by Victoria Dowd. Or The Smart Woman Considers it Unpalatable.

Read May 2020 Recommended for no one.  ★     You would think that at my age, I would be smarter than to fall for a marketing line that claims “A GOLDEN AGE COUNTRY HOUSE MURDER MYSTERY BROUGHT BANG UP TO … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

The Fourth Bear by Jasper Fforde

Read May 2020 Recommended for fans of cleverness, digression  ★     ★    ★    ★ Once again, The Fourth Bear makes the personal library cut. Oh, don’t get me wrong; it’s as meandering as bumblebee at the height of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Murder in the Mews by Agatha Christie

Read January 2020 Recommended for Christie fans  ★     ★    1/2 A collection that shows its age, culturally speaking. Dead Man’s Mirror 3 stars “The flat was a modern one. The furnishings of the room were modern, too. The … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The Word is Murder by anthony horowitz

Read January 2020 Recommended for fans of horowitz  ★     ★   1/2   One thing you can say about horowitz, he certainly likes to base his mysteries around a Catchy Idea. In this book, he’s written himself into the story, biographical … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged | Leave a comment