Tag Archives: mystery

Nemesis by Agatha Christie

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of Miss Marple First published 1964  ★     ★    1/2    Nemesis. For such an ominous title, Christie presents a rather philosophically reserved and sedentary work. Miss Marple of the pink fluffy wool and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

A Caribbean Mystery by Agatha Christie

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of Miss Marple First published 1964  ★     ★    ★    1/2 One’s time period can be such a bother, don’t you think? Or, in some cases, very inspiring. I, for instance, never thought … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

The Mystic Arts of Erasing All Signs of Death by Charlie Huston

Read January 2017 Recommended  ★     ★     ★    ★   First there was ‘chick-lit.’ Then there was ‘hick-lit.’ I hereby dub a new sub-genre: dick-lit. No, it’s not about sex, porny-readers. I’m thinking of such books as The Goldfinch, Less Than … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Fiction, genre-bender | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

The Rat Catchers’ Olympics by Colin Cotterill

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of gentle investigations, socialism, Olympic fun & games  ★     ★     ★   1/2 The Dr. Siri series follows Laos’s only coroner, a medical doctor and cynical party member of the socialist government. In the first … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Murder Among the Owls by Bill Crider

Read December 2016 Recommended for fans of gentle investigations  ★     ★     ★   

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged | 4 Comments

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Deadly Cambodian Crime Spree

Read December 2016 Recommended for fans of Hercule Poirot  ★     ★     ★     ★   1/2 My favorite Inspector Singh yet. If you haven’t yet heard about the Inspector Singh detective series, I recommend giving it a try. Singh is a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | 5 Comments

Armadillos and Old Lace by Kinky Friedman

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of  Izzy Spellman and Bertie  ★     ★     ★     1/2   It needed more armadillos and less lace. Aside from that, this is a pleasant and occasionally delightful read. Kinky reminds me of no … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

The Singapore School of Villainy by Shamini Flint

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of Agatha Christie  ★     ★     ★     1/2 The head of a prestigious law firm is discovered by his partners when they arrive for a mysterious, late-night meeting. The building is locked with key-card … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 2 Comments

A Bali Conspiracy Most Foul by Shamini Flint. Fair is foul and foul fair.

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of Agatha Christie  ★     ★     ★     1/2 “Inspector Singh could hear the heavy groans of frogs and the harsh chirping of crickets. The sounds of Bali were so different from the din of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 1 Comment

The Overlook by Michael Connelly. Well, yes–you can.

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of Michael Connelly  ★     ★     1/2 I don’t often read from the fiction bestseller list and I periodically wonder what I’m missing. When a Connelly (oops, not John Connolly–I mistakenly thought I had … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , | 6 Comments