Tag Archives: mystery

The Vinyl Detective by Andrew Cartmel

Read April 2019 Recommended for fans of hipster thrillers ★   ★   ★     I really think my recommendation says it all, but here’s some specifics: A very, very down-on-his-luck record fan is getting desperate. The estate broiler finally broke, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Promised Land by Robert B. Parker

Read April 2019 Recommended for fans of Spenser  ★     ★     1/2     The One Where Spenser is Schooled on the Dangers of the Souless Suburban Life by Susan. Also The One Where We Meet Hawk, Who Is a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

God Save the Child by Robert B. Parker

Read April 2019 Recommended for fans of Spenser  ★     ★     1/2     Oh, Parker. I swear, there must have been a standard in the 70s (1974, to be exact) where 25% of a detective novel had to be … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Don’t Ever Get Old by Daniel Friedman

Read March 2019, sort of Recommended for fans of ?  ★     ★     Sometimes, age doesn’t bring wisdom, and unfortunately, Buck Schatz (get it) is one of those cases. I started “Don’t Ever Get Old” hoping for humor–say, Grandma … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The Godwulf Manuscript by Robert B. Parker

Read again March 2019 Recommended for fans of Spenser, really old school PI  ★     ★     ★     Ah, the first Spenser mystery, the one to start a series of almost forty books in forty years. Having started it somewhat … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

Read March 2019 Recommended for fans of Christie, Sayers ★    ★    ★    ★   I didn’t know much about the Magpie Murders when Dan 2-Headphones suggested it as a buddy read. I read the description, and though it … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 4 Comments

Robert B. Parker’s Lullaby by Ace Atkins

Read March 2019 Recommended for Spenser fans ★     ★    ★    Robert Parker wrote a Spenser P.I. book almost every year since 1973 until his death in 2010. He was extremely influential on the P.I. genre, but in … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Housetrap by R.J. Hore

Read February 2019 Recommended for fans of noir fantasy ★     ★    ★    Sometimes I find these little surprises on my Kindle. Call them gifts from carol.-past, or perhaps errant waves and electrons slipping through the ether. Or … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The Dry by Jane Harper. Why, yes, a bit

Read February 2019 Recommended for fans of Australia ★     ★    1/2 I read it.  Really, carol., you think you are going to get away with that shit? You’ll never remember this book. I can barely remember it now. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 7 Comments

The Emperor’s Pearl by Robert van Gulik

Read February 2019 Recommended for people who like murders in ancient China ★     ★    ★   Judge Dee and his wives are attending the annual dragonboat races when one of the drummers suddenly dies as his boat is about … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 3 Comments