Tag Archives: mystery

Newcomer by Keigo Higashino

Read July 2019 Recommended for fans of Miss Marple ★   ★   ★   1/2 In each Higashino Sgt. Kaga mystery I’ve read, he’s done something quite unique, and in Newcomer, he surprised me again with his unusual approach to the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Bannerless by Carrie Vaughn

Read July 2019 Recommended for those who want hope at the end of the world ★   ★   ★   1/2 Vaughn has a easy-to-read style, and it didn’t take me long to finish Bannerless, despite persistent déjà vu.  I read … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, genre-bender, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Coyote Wind: A Gabriel Du Pre Mystery by Peter Bowen

Read July 2019 Recommended for fans of  ★   ★   ★    An interesting, slice-of-Montana-life story that was mildly marred by the last three pages. The story is ostensibly a mystery, but the hero is a cattle-inspector, and only part-time … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged | 2 Comments

A Song of Shadows by John Connolly

Read June 2019 Recommended for fans of the series ★   ★   ★   ★   ★  Easily the best Charlie Parker book since The Lovers (#8). It was, for me, a perfectly balanced Parker book: mystery, the supernatural, vengeance, visceral horror, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

The Vinyl Detective by Andrew Cartmel

Read April 2019 Recommended for fans of hipster thrillers ★   ★   ★     I really think my recommendation says it all, but here’s some specifics: A very, very down-on-his-luck record fan is getting desperate. The estate broiler finally broke, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Promised Land by Robert B. Parker

Read April 2019 Recommended for fans of Spenser  ★     ★     1/2     The One Where Spenser is Schooled on the Dangers of the Souless Suburban Life by Susan. Also The One Where We Meet Hawk, Who Is a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

God Save the Child by Robert B. Parker

Read April 2019 Recommended for fans of Spenser  ★     ★     1/2     Oh, Parker. I swear, there must have been a standard in the 70s (1974, to be exact) where 25% of a detective novel had to be … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Don’t Ever Get Old by Daniel Friedman

Read March 2019, sort of Recommended for fans of ?  ★     ★     Sometimes, age doesn’t bring wisdom, and unfortunately, Buck Schatz (get it) is one of those cases. I started “Don’t Ever Get Old” hoping for humor–say, Grandma … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The Godwulf Manuscript by Robert B. Parker

Read again March 2019 Recommended for fans of Spenser, really old school PI  ★     ★     ★     Ah, the first Spenser mystery, the one to start a series of almost forty books in forty years. Having started it somewhat … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

Read March 2019 Recommended for fans of Christie, Sayers ★    ★    ★    ★   I didn’t know much about the Magpie Murders when Dan 2-Headphones suggested it as a buddy read. I read the description, and though it … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 4 Comments