Tag Archives: mystery

The Case of the Missing Servant by Tarquin Hall

Attempted June 2021Not recommendedDNF/ ★  “Watch out Alexander McCall Smith!” claims the blurb. Watch out indeed, because Hall is not doing the genre any favors. Though I picked this up due to a favorable GR review, and found myself further … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | 7 Comments

Friday the Rabbi Slept Late by Harry Kemelman

Read April 2021 Recommended for fans of cozy-type mystery ★  ★  ★ After a slow start, the Rabbi came through. A red herring or two, a couple of likable characters, and a not-incompetent police chief made for some interesting stops … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

The Day That Never Comes by Caimh McDonnell

Read April 2021Recommended for fans of McDonnell★  ★   1/2   While I was a fan of McDonnell’s first book, A Man With One of Those Faces, the follow-up did not work as well. My First Big Clue was an extremely … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Album of Dr. Moreau

Read February 2021  ★     ★    ★    1/2 Daryl Gregory always gets a second look from me. I thought Afterparty interesting and clever, Harrison Squared interesting and clever, We Are All Completely Fine interesting and disturbing, Pandemonium interesting … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

An Obvious Fact by Craig Johnson

Read October 2020 Recommended for fans of Longmire  ★     ★     1/2 A book clearly made for the small screen. Featuring: -Walt committing more misdemeanors than a Hells Angel at a rally -Henry in multiple bar fights -all the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Lieberman’s Folly by Stuart M. Kaminsky

Read October 2020 Recommended for fans of PI detective  ★     ★     ★      I need a good mystery to balance out the imagination in my other stories, and frankly, the unmitigated disaster that is normal life. The … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Florida Straits by Laurence Shimes

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of ?comedy Mafias?  ★     ★    ★   1/2 This was unexpected. No, really, it was. I expected a Mafia thriller/farce–perhaps along the lines of ‘Get Shorty’–what I found was a rather interesting story … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Fiction, Thriller | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Exit by Belinda Bauer

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of British mysteries  ★     ★    ★   An uneven but satisfying reading experience. Elderly (but not geriatric) widower Felix is on an assignment with his new partner, Amanda, as an Exiteer. Exiteers are … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Poirot’s Early Cases by Agatha Christie

Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of Poirot and short stories  ★     ★    ★     I was looking for a Poirot short story for my kindle when I ran into this compilation for a bargain ninety-nine cents. Worth … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Five Little Pigs by Agatha Christie

Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of Christie, Poirot  ★     ★      1/2 Some Christies are very absorbing, but Five Little Pigs (alternate American title: “Murder in Retrospect”) left an emotional gap that was never was quite bridged. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged | 2 Comments