Tag Archives: myth

Ursula Vernon short stories

I recently discovered Vernon’s work through a friend’s enthusiastic review of “Jackalope Wives.” When she followed it up with a review of “The Tomato Thief,” I couldn’t resist temptation. I absolutely loved “The Tomato Thief,” a perfect story for the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 14 Comments

The Tomato Thief by Ursula Vernon. Or, the Heart Thief.

A perfect story for the end of the year. http://www.apex-magazine.com/the-toma… Mixing mythology with fairytales and the rise of the railroad can have lovely results. For a few moments, on New Years’ Eve, in the cold and dark north, I was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Six-Gun Snow White by Catherynne M. Valente

Read July  2016 Recommended for fans of mythology, Valente  ★     ★     ★     ★ Take fairy tale mythology, the sideways structure of Native American folklore, a Wild West setting, weave it through with themes on race and gender … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Summerlong by Peter Beagle

Read June  2016 Recommended for people who want to feel melancholic  ★     ★     ★     1/2 Peter S. Beagle has long been one of my favorite authors. It is not that I love everything he writes as much … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

The Story of the Stone by Barry Hughart

Read August 2015 Recommended for storytellers  ★    ★    ★    ★   ★      In a review of Hell is Empty, I noted a story told by Virgil White Buffalo, that ended with Walt Longmire asking, “‘And the moral … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

American Elsewhere by Robert Jackson Bennett

Finished May 2015 Recommended for fans of mysterious, time-forgotten towns and searches for identity  ★    ★    ★    ★   1/2 Lovely language and enjoyable storytelling, but suffers from a mild case of W.o.K.S. (Way of Kings Syndrome).  I happen to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, genre-bender | Tagged , , , | 14 Comments

Pandemonium by Daryl Gregory

October 2014 Recommended for fans of superheroes, wrestling with personal demons  ★    ★    ★    ★    1/2   Pandemonium reminds me of those times when my foodie friends are dragging me to a “fabulous new restaurant” where (mostly) familiar ingredients … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

The Summer Tree by Guy Gavriel Kay

Re-read January 2014 ★   ★   ★   ★     Nostalgia read, sparked by a bookclub desire to read the series. What can I say? I first read this not long after the series came out (1984 for the first one). I … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Bridge of Birds: A Novel of an Ancient China That Never Was by Barry Hughart

Or, the Best Almost-Folk Tale You’ve Never Read, With the Possible Exception of The Princess Bride. Read October 2013 Recommended for fans of The Princess Bride, The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland ★   ★   ★   ★   ★   … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 12 Comments

The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan

Recommended for: mythology fans Read from May 28 to 31, 2012 ★  ★  ★  1/2   After taking a gander at other reviews, I realize I may have wandered into the wrong part of the playground. I hereby promise to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment