Tag Archives: myth

Pandemonium by Daryl Gregory

October 2014 Recommended for fans of superheroes, wrestling with personal demons  ★    ★    ★    ★    1/2   Pandemonium reminds me of those times when my foodie friends are dragging me to a “fabulous new restaurant” where (mostly) familiar ingredients … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments

The Summer Tree by Guy Gavriel Kay

Re-read January 2014 ★   ★   ★   ★     Nostalgia read, sparked by a bookclub desire to read the series. What can I say? I first read this not long after the series came out (1984 for the first one). I … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Bridge of Birds: A Novel of an Ancient China That Never Was by Barry Hughart

Or, the Best Almost-Folk Tale You’ve Never Read, With the Possible Exception of The Princess Bride. Read October 2013 Recommended for fans of The Princess Bride, The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland ★   ★   ★   ★   ★   … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 12 Comments

The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan

Recommended for: mythology fans Read from May 28 to 31, 2012 ★  ★  ★  1/2   After taking a gander at other reviews, I realize I may have wandered into the wrong part of the playground. I hereby promise to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan.

Read September 2013 Recommended for YA fans, teens, mythology fans ★ ★ ★  1/2 The Mark of Athena is the third book in a planned five volume series about the Heroes of Olympus. For series fans, there’s a lot to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Mythago Wood by Robert Holdstock. A slow myth.

Recommended for: fans of bitter chocolate ★  ★   1/2   I am not the ideal audience for this book. This is a book that takes the idea of fantasy very, very seriously. There is little love, or sense of joy … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

The Lost Hero by Rick Rirodan

Recommended for: mythology fans Read from April 19 to 20, 2013 ★   ★   ★  ★ Medusa, hydras, cyclops, Hercules, winged shoes, magical trickery–what’s not to love about Greek myths? Being a mythology geek, I was naturally drawn to the ‘Percy … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment