Tag Archives: net galley

City of Blades by Robert Jackson Bennett

Read January 2016 Recommended for fans of tough-as-nails, supernatural mysteries  ★    ★    ★    ★    1/2  This was not what I expected. Enchanted by City of Stairs (my review), I worked my way backward through some of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments

Owl and the City of Angels by Kristi Charish

Read September 2015 Recommended for fans of Kim Harrison  ★    ★    ★      Owl is in trouble. Again. She’s incognito at an archaeological dig in Egypt and can’t escape a leering post-doc student long enough to steal a Medusa … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 9 Comments

Falling in Love with Hominids by Nalo Hopkinson. Worth dating.

Read July 2015 Recommended for fans of fantasy/sci-fi  ★    ★    ★    ★    1/2 In the foreword to Falling in Love with Hominids, Nalo Hopkinson writes that as a teen she despaired of the human race. I remember that feeling; … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 4 Comments

The Case of the Toxic Spell Dump by Harry Turtledove

Read June 2015 Recommended for UF readers  ★    ★    ★    1/2 I’ve always thought of much of the urban fantasy field as taking off with Ann Rice and Laurel Hamilton books, so when I saw this book was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | 4 Comments

The Journeyman: The Commons #1 by Michael Alan Peck

February 2015 Recommended for fans of Harrison Squared, fans of new Weird  ★    ★    ★    ★   “Paul Reid died in the snow at seventeen. The day of his death, he told a lie–and for the rest of his life, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Darker Carnival by Frank Tuttle

March 2015 Recommended for fans of urban-fantasy like fantasy, non-grim fantasy  ★    ★    ★    ★   The beginning of The Darker Carnival put me in mind of one of the most poetically harrowing carnivals ever, the carnival of Something Wicked … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Harrison Squared by Daryl Gregory

February 2015 Recommended for fans of creepy schools, Daryl Gregory, young adult  ★    ★    ★    ★    ★    Harrison Squared. Formally known as Harrison Harrison. Or, to be exact, H²×5. Despite some consternation about the name, it is an … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 5 Comments

Pacific Fire by Greg Van Eekhout

February 2015 Recommended for fans of capers, Locke, UF  ★    ★    ★    ★    Water mages. Bounty hunters. Kraken magic. Pirates. Fans of fast paced, fantastical-element thrillers should love Pacific Fire. Clever world-building, a wry dose of humor, and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

Mr. Kiss and Tell by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham

November 2014 Recommended for fans of Veronica Mars and Nancy Drew  ★    ★    ★ I picked up this book after a book group friend raved about the Veronica Mars television series. Jumping in without knowing anything about the show … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

We Are All Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory. Or even excellent.

October 2014 Recommended for fans of Something Wicked This Way Comes, Zelazny’s novellas, urban fantasy  ★    ★    ★    ★    ★   We Are All Completely Fine is a fabulous, complicated novella about a group of five damaged people and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 5 Comments