Tag Archives: novella

The Haunting of Tram Car 015 by P. Djeli Clark

Read February 2019 Recommended for fans of djinn, interesting reads  ★     ★    ★     ★  Cairo, 1912 or so. There’s a ghost in Tram Car 015, although Senior Agent Hamed is fairly certain it isn’t a ghost. You … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 3 Comments

How to Survive an Undead Honeymoon by Hailey Edwards

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of Sookie Stackhouse  ★     ★    1/2 The series is wrapped up, but what, you are surely wondering, did Grier and Linus do on their honeymoon? Never fear, this novella answers the question … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Sea Change by Nancy Kress

Read February 2020 Recommended for fans hope  ★     ★   1/2 Surprisingly, for all my years in sci-fi, I’ve never read Nancy Kress. I think it has often been a subject/person (me) mismatch, so when Tachyon Publications had a review … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Uncanny Collateral by Brian McClellan

Read January 2020 Recommended for fans tough guys with tats  ★     ★     ★      A decent urban fantasy; for those who follow the field, I’d say better than the first books in the Dresden series and on … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Sisters of the Vast Black by Lina Rather

Read November 2019 Recommended for fans of Chambers ★   ★    ★   ★  There’s something incredibly campy sounding about nuns in space. But this is less meme and more character study in the most unique space faring vehicle yet … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Incursion: Zombie Apocalypse by M.D. Massey

Read May 2019 Recommended for fans of survialist zombie stories ★   ★   ★  ★    It’s a good thing I read this novella first, because the subsequent books turned out to be another herd of zombies all together.  Incursion: … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Walking to Aldebaran by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Read April 2019 Recommended for fans of exploration sci-fi  ★     ★      ★     ★   1/2       ‘Aldebaran’ is a red star whose name comes from the Arabic word for ‘follower,’ because it seems to follow the Pleides. Interesting … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Exit Strategy by Martha Wells. Please, don’t.

Read November 2018 Recommended for fans of introverted robots ★     ★    ★    ★    ★   “I had a complex emotional reaction. A whole new burst of neural connections blossomed. Oh right, I often have complex emotional reactions … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , , | 4 Comments

The Ballad of Black Tom by Victor LaValle

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of  Bloody folk tales ★    ★    ★    1/2 Nominated for a Hugo, Nebula, and Shirley Jackson Awards,* The Ballad of Black Tom is a fine little novella, made accessible to horror dilettantes by … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 3 Comments

Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★     “Or Miki was a bot who had never been abused or lied to or treated with anything but indulgent kindness. It really thought its humans were … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment