Tag Archives: novella

Nightshades by Melissa F. Olson

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of FBI, vamps ★     1/2    Cross The X-Files with Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and you’ll about have it. I kind of liked Olson’s book, Midnight Curse, so when a fellow reader mentioned … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Black God’s Drums by P. Djeli Clark

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of N’Orleans, orphans ★     ★    ★     ★   Fabuleux. If you have a thing for thieving street orphans  or the power of New Orleans, I highly recommend giving it a read. Creeper … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Artificial Condition by Martha Wells

Read July 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    1/2 “I was stalling. I would have to interact with humans as an augmented human… I had imagined it as taking place from a distance, or in the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | 5 Comments

The Tea Master and the Detective by Aliette de Bodard

Read  March 2018 Recommended for Sherlockian sci-fi fans ★    ★    ★    ★ In the age of fantasy books of ridiculous lengths–why, hello, Way of Kings–and series that may never be finished–ah-hem, George R.R. Martin and Patrick Rothfuss–I’ve rediscovered my love … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 13 Comments

River of Teeth by Sarah Gailey

Read February 2018 Recommended for fans of hippos, heists and Westerns ★    ★    1/2 I think we’ve all had our mental images of hippos cutified by Fiona the Hippo, right? Though River of Teeth predates that pudge of adorableness, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

The Collected Short Works of Poul Anderson, Vol. 3

Read  January 2018 Recommended for    ★    ★     1/2 Ah, the heady days of sci-fi, when men were men, women were women, and bug-eyed tentacled things were bug-eyed tentacled things. Picked up because of the Hugo and Nebula winner ‘The Saturn … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

All Systems Red by Martha Wells

Read  September 2017 Recommended for fans of sci-fi, AIs ★    ★    ★    ★   1/2 “Confession time: I don’t actually know where we are…. I hadn’t looked at the maps yet and I’d barely looked at the survey package. In my … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Dispatcher by John Scalzi

Read  June 2017 Recommended for people who want a fast read, Scalzi fans ★    ★    1/2     Written at the proverbial, easy-to-access, reach-all-literacy-levels eighth-grade level, The Dispatcher has an intriguing core idea. Unfortunately, the writing kept it only two … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

bellwether by Connie Willis

Re-Read March 2017 Recommended for fans of light romantic comedy ★    ★    ★    ★     ★    I owe bellwether a review.   Bellwether is a book that I inevitably turn to when I want something that is light, clever, literate … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Lustlocked by Matt Wallace

Read February 2017 Recommended for fans the Sin series  ★     ★     ★  It’s been awhile since I read any entries in the “Deadly Sins” series, so I had forgotten just how short a novella can feel. With that in mind, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment