Tag Archives: novella

Incursion: Zombie Apocalypse by M.D. Massey

Read May 2019 Recommended for fans of survialist zombie stories ★   ★   ★  ★    It’s a good thing I read this novella first, because the subsequent books turned out to be another herd of zombies all together.  Incursion: … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Walking to Aldebaran by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Read April 2019 Recommended for fans of exploration sci-fi  ★     ★      ★     ★   1/2       ‘Aldebaran’ is a red star whose name comes from the Arabic word for ‘follower,’ because it seems to follow the Pleides. Interesting … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Exit Strategy by Martha Wells. Please, don’t.

Read November 2018 Recommended for fans of introverted robots ★     ★    ★    ★    ★   “I had a complex emotional reaction. A whole new burst of neural connections blossomed. Oh right, I often have complex emotional reactions … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , , | 4 Comments

The Ballad of Black Tom by Victor LaValle

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of  Bloody folk tales ★    ★    ★    1/2 Nominated for a Hugo, Nebula, and Shirley Jackson Awards,* The Ballad of Black Tom is a fine little novella, made accessible to horror dilettantes by … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 3 Comments

Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★     “Or Miki was a bot who had never been abused or lied to or treated with anything but indulgent kindness. It really thought its humans were … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Nightshades by Melissa F. Olson

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of FBI, vamps ★     1/2    Cross The X-Files with Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and you’ll about have it. I kind of liked Olson’s book, Midnight Curse, so when a fellow reader mentioned … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Black God’s Drums by P. Djeli Clark

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of N’Orleans, orphans ★     ★    ★     ★   Fabuleux. If you have a thing for thieving street orphans  or the power of New Orleans, I highly recommend giving it a read. Creeper … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Artificial Condition by Martha Wells

Read July 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★   “I was stalling. I would have to interact with humans as an augmented human… I had imagined it as taking place from a distance, or in … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | 5 Comments

The Tea Master and the Detective by Aliette de Bodard

Read  March 2018 Recommended for Sherlockian sci-fi fans ★    ★    ★    ★ In the age of fantasy books of ridiculous lengths–why, hello, Way of Kings–and series that may never be finished–ah-hem, George R.R. Martin and Patrick Rothfuss–I’ve rediscovered my love … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 13 Comments

River of Teeth by Sarah Gailey

Read February 2018 Recommended for fans of hippos, heists and Westerns ★    ★    1/2 I think we’ve all had our mental images of hippos cutified by Fiona the Hippo, right? Though River of Teeth predates that pudge of adorableness, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 4 Comments