Tag Archives: novella

Exit Strategy by Martha Wells. Please, don’t.

Read November 2018 Recommended for fans of introverted robots ★     ★    ★    ★    ★   “I had a complex emotional reaction. A whole new burst of neural connections blossomed. Oh right, I often have complex emotional reactions … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , , | 4 Comments

The Ballad of Black Tom by Victor LaValle

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of  Bloody folk tales ★    ★    ★    1/2 Nominated for a Hugo, Nebula, and Shirley Jackson Awards,* The Ballad of Black Tom is a fine little novella, made accessible to horror dilettantes by … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★     “Or Miki was a bot who had never been abused or lied to or treated with anything but indulgent kindness. It really thought its humans were … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Nightshades by Melissa F. Olson

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of FBI, vamps ★     1/2    Cross The X-Files with Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and you’ll about have it. I kind of liked Olson’s book, Midnight Curse, so when a fellow reader mentioned … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Black God’s Drums by P. Djeli Clark

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of N’Orleans, orphans ★     ★    ★     ★   Fabuleux. If you have a thing for thieving street orphans  or the power of New Orleans, I highly recommend giving it a read. Creeper … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Artificial Condition by Martha Wells

Read July 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★   “I was stalling. I would have to interact with humans as an augmented human… I had imagined it as taking place from a distance, or in … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | 5 Comments

The Tea Master and the Detective by Aliette de Bodard

Read  March 2018 Recommended for Sherlockian sci-fi fans ★    ★    ★    ★ In the age of fantasy books of ridiculous lengths–why, hello, Way of Kings–and series that may never be finished–ah-hem, George R.R. Martin and Patrick Rothfuss–I’ve rediscovered my love … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 13 Comments

River of Teeth by Sarah Gailey

Read February 2018 Recommended for fans of hippos, heists and Westerns ★    ★    1/2 I think we’ve all had our mental images of hippos cutified by Fiona the Hippo, right? Though River of Teeth predates that pudge of adorableness, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

The Collected Short Works of Poul Anderson, Vol. 3

Read  January 2018 Recommended for    ★    ★     1/2 Ah, the heady days of sci-fi, when men were men, women were women, and bug-eyed tentacled things were bug-eyed tentacled things. Picked up because of the Hugo and Nebula winner ‘The Saturn … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

All Systems Red by Martha Wells

Read  September 2017 Recommended for fans of sci-fi, AIs ★    ★    ★    ★   1/2 “Confession time: I don’t actually know where we are…. I hadn’t looked at the maps yet and I’d barely looked at the survey package. In my … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 7 Comments