Tag Archives: novella

Legends & Lattes by Travis Baldree

Read January 2023 Recommended for fans of Pratchett, MMOG ★    ★   ★   1/2 It all depends on your definition of ‘cosy,’ I suppose. I’ve been wrapping up George Saunders’ A Swim In a Pond In the Rain, in which … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Magic Tides by Ilona Andrews

Read January 2023 Recommended for Andrews fans ★    ★   ★   ★      Checked email at 10 pm, discovered preorder receipt, downloaded book and finished by 1 a.m. Fun; a return to good, old-fashioned Andrews fun. Kate and Curran … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

The Long Game by K. J. Parker

Read December 2022 Recommended for fans unreliable narrators ★    ★       Sadly, a miss. A first person, unnamed and quite likely unreliable narrator has to finesse a situation with demon and a traveler from a possibly mythical land. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Into the Riverlands by Nghi Vo

Read August 2022 Recommended for fans of folk tales ★   ★   ★   ★    ★        I liked this so much I’m going to go read again. Brb. The third installment in a series of novellas that loosely … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

The Freeze Frame Revolution by Peter Watts

Read August 2022 Recommended for people wanting to dip their toes into Watts ★   ★   ★   ★  1/2 I really, really like Watts’ writing, perhaps to an extent not represented by my reviews of individual books. On the surface, that … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

The Caxton Private Lending Library & Book Depository by John Connolly

Read August 2022 Recommended for  ★   ★   ★   ★ If Among Others was Jo Walton’s love letter to sci-fi and fantasy, this is John Connolly’s love letter to classical literature and libraries. Think Thursday Next without the bananas escapades. But … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

A Psalm for the Wild-Built by Becky Chambers

Read August 2022 Recommended for Pollyannas of all genders ★   ★   ★   ★ I want to live in Becky Chamber’s world. I’m not dragging on them, really, I’m not. But the world in Psalm is genial, and comforting and almost–may … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances by Aliette de Bodard

Read May 2022 Recommended  ★   ★   ★   ★    I’m fond of de Bodard’s writing style. Though I bounced off the first book in this universe, The House of Shattered Wings, it did not stop me from enjoying this novella. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Mystery | Tagged , , , | 6 Comments

The Bruising of Qilwa by Naseem Jamnia

Read March 2022 ★   ★  ★ Reminds me very much of early adolescence; earnest, sincere, and very awkward. I have no doubt that some will love it’s wholehearted embracement of the exploration of identity and I absolutely wish them enjoyment … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Elder Race by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Read December, 2021 Recommended for sci-fi fans ★   ★   ★ Elder Race, or, a post on which I muse about feelings, productivity, and the futility of blurbing. Goodreads lists over thirty books written by Tchaikovsky, and that’s not including another … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | 3 Comments