Tag Archives: popcorn

The Shambling Guide to New York City by Mur Lafferty

December 2014 Recommended for fans of FUF, InCryptid  ★    ★    ★    1/2 Lafferty states The Hitchhikers’ Guide is one of her inspirations for The Shambling Guide, and the influence is recognizable. But instead of Arthur coping with space … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Midnight Blue-Light Special by Seanan McGuire. Genuine value.

Recommended for: fans of lighter urban fantasy Read on April 27, 2013, read count: twice ★  ★  ★  ★ They’re after me again. The librarians. I’ve tried, oh, I’ve tried, but they are tenacious and pertinacious and indefatigable (sometimes you … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

Discount Armageddon by Seanan McGuire, or, Crackerjacks in Book Form

Recommended for: fans of lighthearted UF Read on November 30, 2012, read count: twice ★   ★   ★    1/2   I’ve been immersed in serious literature, academia and non-fiction lately, so when the library found me a copy of Discount … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 1 Comment