Tag Archives: robot

Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie

Read June 2021★  ★  ★   There’s at least two ways to read this series, and your enjoyment will depend on which you choose (choose your own adventure!) Do you: Read quickly, surface-details only, not pausing to question characters and plotting.  … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

Read March 2021Recommended for sci-fi ★     ★     ★   1/2 It’s complicated. I bought Ancillary Justice awhile ago, knowing I needed to read it. Everyone, it seemed was raving, from the Hugo/Locus/Nebula Awards to the Incomparable Podcast to the friends … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Network Effect by Martha Wells

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of action AI   ★     ★    ★    ★   First of all, it’s Murderbot. So ‘four stars’ here is about a million for a normal read. But I struggled with Network Effect. Yes, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Exit Strategy by Martha Wells. Please, don’t.

Read November 2018 Recommended for fans of introverted robots ★     ★    ★    ★    ★   “I had a complex emotional reaction. A whole new burst of neural connections blossomed. Oh right, I often have complex emotional reactions … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , , | 4 Comments

Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★     “Or Miki was a bot who had never been abused or lied to or treated with anything but indulgent kindness. It really thought its humans were … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment