Tag Archives: sci-fi

The Luminous Dead by Caitlin Starling

Read December 2018 Recommended for fans of survival stories ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Totally Unauthorized Review It was very good, just the sort of read I wanted. Read it if you enjoy survival stories, or caving, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Exit Strategy by Martha Wells. Please, don’t.

Read November 2018 Recommended for fans of introverted robots ★     ★    ★    ★    ★   “I had a complex emotional reaction. A whole new burst of neural connections blossomed. Oh right, I often have complex emotional reactions … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , , | 4 Comments

Record of a Spaceborn Few by Becky Chambers

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Pollyanna, sloppy stories ★    ★    Here’s the part where you think I’m going to eat my words. But I don’t think I have to: think of it as being able to love Star … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★     “Or Miki was a bot who had never been abused or lied to or treated with anything but indulgent kindness. It really thought its humans were … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Spares by Michael Marshall Smith. Not spare. Quite full, actually.

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of sci fi and detectives ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Calling Spares a ‘hard-boiled detective’ story is like calling Ben&Jerry’s Wavy Gravy ‘chocolate swirl ice cream.’ Sure. I guess, if … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Blindsight by Peter Watts

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of hard sci-fi ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 This is a very dense book, packed with ideas. Although Watts mentions he’s a biologist by training, you wouldn’t know it, between … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Escape the Fall (Southern Grit #2) by Harley Tate

Read August 2018 Recommended for fans of the apocalypse with guns ★     ★      After reading the first book in the Nuclear Survival series, I wandered off to other stories and other apocalypses. Recently, however, I was cleaning … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Survive the Panic (Southern Grit series #3)

Read August -Sept 2018 Recommended for fans of the apocalypse with guns ★     ★     1/2 With only two stars for the prior book, why did I go on to book three, you wonder? Book two focused on the … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Wild Dead by Carrie Vaughn

Read August 2018 Recommended for fans of apocalypse settings, mysteries ★     ★    ★    1/2 The one-minute review: There’s loads of descriptions and reviews out there about this book, which surrounds solving a murder in an isolated community. … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, genre-bender, Mystery, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

We Are Legion (We Are Bob) by Dennis E. Taylor

Read August 2018 Recommended for fans of Scalzi ★     ★    ★    1/2 I like Bob. I’ve been swimming with him in Master’s Swim Club for four or five years. He is always on time, always ready to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | Leave a comment