Tag Archives: sci-fi

Consider Phlebas by Iain M. Banks. Must I?

Read  September 2017 Recommended for fans of classic sci-fi ★    ★     And today, mine is going to be unpopular. But remember the advice from 9th grade Advanced English teacher Mrs. Muench about metaphors. Or maybe I mean false equivalency. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | 5 Comments

Interstellar Pig by William Sleator. Or, a board game I could actually play.

Read  September 2017 Recommended for fans of sci-fi, board games ★    ★    ★    ★   1/2 It takes a special book to stick in one’s memory for over thirty years. There are some I remember because I read them over and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | 5 Comments

All Systems Red by Martha Wells

Read  September 2017 Recommended for fans of sci-fi, AIs ★    ★    ★    ★   1/2 “Confession time: I don’t actually know where we are…. I hadn’t looked at the maps yet and I’d barely looked at the survey package. In my … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The Stars My Destination by Alfred Bester

Read  June 2017 Recommended for classic sci-fi fans ★    ★    ★   ★    1/2 An excellent analysis of the Trump candidacy and events leading up to his election as #45. Uses both his perspective and that of the anonymous supporter to chilling … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | Leave a comment

When Gravity Falls by George Alec Effinger

Read  June 2017 Recommended for people who enjoy futuristic detective noir ★    ★    ★   ★    1/2 I don’t even. This book engrossed me, sucked me in, took me to the seediest bar in town, plied me with cheap booze and left … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 5 Comments

Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty

Read April 2017 Recommended for fans of sci-fi and mysteries ★    ★    ★   ★      Think And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie, only with cloning chambers. It’s been a bit since I’ve enjoyed a sci-fi mystery–quite possibly not … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | 2 Comments

The More than Complete Hitchhiker’s Guide by Douglas Adams

Listened May 2017 Recommended for fans of the absurd ★    ★    ★   ★    ★     The edition of the Guide that replaced all others in my library, it contains an introduction by Douglas Adams that adds interesting details for fans … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers

Read April 2017 Recommended for fans of character-driven stories, sci-fi ★    ★    ★   ★    ★   I understand that some people weren’t fans of The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet. Personally, in my heart of hearts, I kind of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of John Scalzi and Jason Bourne  ★     ★     1/2 “No one tells you it’s all about to change, to be taken away. There’s no proximity alert, no indication that you’re standing on the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | 4 Comments

Children of Time by Adrian Tchaikovsky. A new classic.

Read January 2017 Recommended for sci-fi fans, people who wanted to like Aurora and didn’t, fans of Charlotte’s Web  ★     ★     ★    ★    1/2   Sympathetic spiders? Inconceivable! –I do not think that word means what you think it means– Nope, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 9 Comments