Tag Archives: sci-fi

Network Effect by Martha Wells

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of action AI   ★     ★    ★    ★   First of all, it’s Murderbot. So ‘four stars’ here is about a million for a normal read. But I struggled with Network Effect. Yes, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Forbidden Stars by Tim Pratt

Read August 2020 Recommended   ★     ★    ★    1/2 Entertaining, in a Star Trek deus ex machina kind of way. You know that episode where they use their skills to avoid the baddie, then bump into the baddie … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged | Leave a comment

The Wrong Stars by Tim Pratt

Read August 2020 Recommended for fans of Suzanne Palmer, The Expanse  ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 “You know I am, at heart, a pragmatist. That’s why I seek chemical assistance to have less pragmatic experiences.” This … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Secret Life of Bots by Suzanne Palmer. Tell me more secrets!

Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of rouge AI  ★     ★    ★    ★    ★     I first read this about the time that Murderbot installments were coming out, leading me to an epiphany that I had … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 6 Comments

Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton

Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of the movie  ★     ★    ★     1/2  Put me down for “liked the movie a little more.”  “But scientific power is like inherited wealth: attained without discipline. You read what others … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Sauerkraut Station by Ferrett Steinmetz

Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of space station sci-fi  ★     ★    ★    1/2 My absolute favorite thing by Steinmetz. It entirely deserves the 2012 Nebula nod. A young woman aboard the tiniest space way-station imaginable meets … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

A Big Ship at the Edge of the Universe by Alex White

Edit Edit date and time Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of space adventures! Fast-n-furious!  ★     ★    ★    1/2 This is the literary equivalent of the weekend action-adventure movie. Although initially slow to grab me, in the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, genre-bender, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Driving the Deep by Suzanne Palmer

Read June 2020 Recommended for fans of submarines, space adventures!  ★     ★    ★     ★    1/2 Interesting that it has been sci-fi books in the past few years to really pull me out of my slump. Driving the Deep was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Hugo 2019 Novelette Nominations

“If at First You Don’t Succeed, Try, Try Again” by Zen Cho Best Novelette nomination and Winner https://www.barnesandnoble.com/blog/sci-fi-fantasy/if-at-first-you-dont-succeed-try-try-again-by-zen-cho/ Sweet. A touch uneven but a solid heart. Chinese dragons, karma, transformation, all rolled in to a modernized version of a traditional … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | 19 Comments

Earthrise By M.C.A. Hogarth

Read March 2020 Recommended for fans of light sci-fi  ★     ★    ★ Taken for what it is, Earthrise is perfectly enjoyable. The captain of a ragtag ship with a mysterious benefactor has a favor called in–a rescue of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | 4 Comments