Tag Archives: sci-fi

Blindsight by Peter Watts

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of hard sci-fi ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 This is a very dense book, packed with ideas. Although Watts mentions he’s a biologist by training, you wouldn’t know it, between … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Escape the Fall (Southern Grit #2) by Harley Tate

Read August 2018 Recommended for fans of the apocalypse with guns ★     ★      After reading the first book in the Nuclear Survival series, I wandered off to other stories and other apocalypses. Recently, however, I was cleaning … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Survive the Panic (Southern Grit series #3)

Read August -Sept 2018 Recommended for fans of the apocalypse with guns ★     ★     1/2 With only two stars for the prior book, why did I go on to book three, you wonder? Book two focused on the … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Wild Dead by Carrie Vaughn

Read August 2018 Recommended for fans of apocalypse settings, mysteries ★     ★    ★    1/2 The one-minute review: There’s loads of descriptions and reviews out there about this book, which surrounds solving a murder in an isolated community. … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, genre-bender, Mystery, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

We Are Legion (We Are Bob) by Dennis E. Taylor

Read August 2018 Recommended for fans of Scalzi ★     ★    ★    1/2 I like Bob. I’ve been swimming with him in Master’s Swim Club for four or five years. He is always on time, always ready to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Artificial Condition by Martha Wells

Read July 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    1/2 “I was stalling. I would have to interact with humans as an augmented human… I had imagined it as taking place from a distance, or in the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | 5 Comments

Brace for Impact (After the EMP #7) by Harley Tate

Read June 2018 Recommended for fans of nuclear apocalypse    ★   ★  1/2 Brace for Impact starts a new trilogy in Tate’s series about a massive EMP pulse. Unlike the prior two trilogies, this takes place in the Atlanta, Georgia area. … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Darkness Begins (After the EMP #1) by Harley Tate

Read June 2018 Recommended for fans of the possible apocalypse ★    ★    ★   1/2 Ah, vacation. It’s no secret I’m a sucker for the apocalypse, and after seeing how America treats one of it’s natural-resource vacationlands, my feeling is that … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits by David Wong

Read  April 2018 Recommended for fans of sci-fi lite ★    ★   1/2   A Chapter by Chapter Reading Experience One: Hmm. Not into serial killer chasing inept 20 year-old woman, even/esp. set up as ‘humor.’ Two: Okay, made me laugh … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 9 Comments

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. Almost ready.

Listened October 2012 Recommended for fans of the 80s ★    ★   ★    –audio version Interesting. As a child of the 80s, part of Ready Player One speaks to me. Then there’s the part that loves a great story. The book … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 11 Comments