Tag Archives: sci-fi

The Doors of Eden by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Recommended for:  fans of world-building Read in August 2021 ★   ★   ★  ★   I’ve been told, by a mostly reliable source, that as long as your ending is satisfying, you just can’t complain too much. As much as my instinct … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir

Recommended for:  fans of The Martian Read in August 2021 ★   ★   ★    1/2 I have a confession. I’ve dreaded physics ever since that I failed Astrophysics at Harvard Summer School. Unsurprisingly to everyone but me, astrophysics turned out … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged | 2 Comments

Shards of Earth by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Recommended for:  fans of The Expanse, Star Trek Read in July 2021 ★   ★   ★   ★        Sooner or later, Adrian Tchaikovsky is going to make me learn to spell his name. His output rivals Sanderson’s, but his … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | 5 Comments

The Scavenger Door by Suzanne Palmer

Recommended for:  Read in July 2021 ★   ★   ★   ★        Suzanne Palmer has been one of my authors to watch, and the first two books in this series are a lot of fun. The Scavenger Door closes … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie

Read June 2021★  ★  ★   There’s at least two ways to read this series, and your enjoyment will depend on which you choose (choose your own adventure!) Do you: Read quickly, surface-details only, not pausing to question characters and plotting.  … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

Ancillary Sword

Read May 2021 Recommended for fans of Ann Leckie, The Expanse ★  ★  ★ In a move perhaps unsurprising to no one, I continue to swim against public current on Leckie’s Ancillary series. I had been warned that the pace … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Short Story Round Up, Part 3

‘They’re Made of Meat’ by Terry Bisson Read January 2021 Recommended for fans of humor  ★     ★    ★    ★       It’s made of meat, and I still prefer not to eat it. “Do you have any … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Fiction, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Echopraxia by Peter Watts

Read March 2021 Recommended for sincere, devoted Peter Watts fans ★   1/2 If it wasn’t for my co-readers of Blindsight encouraging ourselves onward, this would have been a solid DNF. While Blindsight explored what individuality and personality, Echopraxia mostly just … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

Read March 2021Recommended for sci-fi ★     ★     ★   1/2 It’s complicated. I bought Ancillary Justice awhile ago, knowing I needed to read it. Everyone, it seemed was raving, from the Hugo/Locus/Nebula Awards to the Incomparable Podcast to the friends … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Fugitive Telemetry

Read April 2021 Recommended for fans of sci-fi, humor and AI  ★     ★     ★    ★    ★      2021 is looking to be a pretty special year. No, I don’t mean the vaccine, although that’s pretty … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments