Tag Archives: sci-fi

Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie

Read June 2021★  ★  ★   There’s at least two ways to read this series, and your enjoyment will depend on which you choose (choose your own adventure!) Do you: Read quickly, surface-details only, not pausing to question characters and plotting.  … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

Ancillary Sword

Read May 2021 Recommended for fans of Ann Leckie, The Expanse ★  ★  ★ In a move perhaps unsurprising to no one, I continue to swim against public current on Leckie’s Ancillary series. I had been warned that the pace … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Short Story Round Up, Part 3

‘They’re Made of Meat’ by Terry Bisson Read January 2021 Recommended for fans of humor  ★     ★    ★    ★       It’s made of meat, and I still prefer not to eat it. “Do you have any … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Fiction, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Echopraxia by Peter Watts

Read March 2021 Recommended for sincere, devoted Peter Watts fans ★   1/2 If it wasn’t for my co-readers of Blindsight encouraging ourselves onward, this would have been a solid DNF. While Blindsight explored what individuality and personality, Echopraxia mostly just … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

Read March 2021Recommended for sci-fi ★     ★     ★   1/2 It’s complicated. I bought Ancillary Justice awhile ago, knowing I needed to read it. Everyone, it seemed was raving, from the Hugo/Locus/Nebula Awards to the Incomparable Podcast to the friends … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Fugitive Telemetry

Read April 2021 Recommended for fans of sci-fi, humor and AI  ★     ★     ★    ★    ★      2021 is looking to be a pretty special year. No, I don’t mean the vaccine, although that’s pretty … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

The Seep by Chana Porter

Read February 2021  ★     ★     ★     ★     You probably read my book reviews to figure out whether or not a book should make it to your TBR list, and maybe even how soon you should read … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Tuf Voyaging by George R.R. Martin

Read February 2021  ★     ★     1/2 Originally published in 1986, ‘Tuf Voyaging’ contains seven stories largely published in Analog in 1985. You remember 1985, right? ‘Money for Nothing,’ ‘A View to a Kill,’ AIDS, Gorbachev, New Coke, Nintendo, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , | 10 Comments

Hotshot by Peter Watts

Hm. This feels a little more fragment than full story, but I like it. The descriptions strongly recalled shades of Zelazny’s story about deep-sea fishing on Venus, The Doors of His Face, the Lamps of His Mouth. It’s very much old-school … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged | 7 Comments

Seven of Infinities by Aliette de Bodard

Read December 2020 Recommended for fans of de Bodard  ★     ★     ★     ★   An unusual genre-bender set in de Bodard’s Xuya Universe. It combines sci-fi, a murder mystery and a bit of romance, wrapped in the feel … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , | 6 Comments