Tag Archives: series

The Rat Catchers’ Olympics by Colin Cotterill

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of gentle investigations, socialism, Olympic fun & games  ★     ★     ★   1/2 The Dr. Siri series follows Laos’s only coroner, a medical doctor and cynical party member of the socialist government. In the first … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Deadly Cambodian Crime Spree

Read December 2016 Recommended for fans of Hercule Poirot  ★     ★     ★     ★   1/2 My favorite Inspector Singh yet. If you haven’t yet heard about the Inspector Singh detective series, I recommend giving it a try. Singh is a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | 5 Comments

Skinny Annie Blues by Neal Barrett, Jr.

Read October 2016 Recommended for fans of Tom Robbins, madcap confusion  ★     ★     ★     Amusing but occasionally tiresome, much like a visiting three-year-old. At least it doesn’t insist on petting the dog who would rather remain untouched. It reminds … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

The Lovers (Charlie Parker #8) by John Connolly

Read October 2016 Recommended for fans of King, Supernatural  ★     ★     ★     ★    As I was doing the unthinkable–physically browsing library shelves instead of ordering on-line–I saw a number of Connolly’s Charlie Parker books. Despite friends’ enthusiastic reviews, I’ve … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Lost Ones by Ace Atkins

Read August 2016 Recommended for fans of Spencer, Longmire, spaghetti Westerns  ★     ★     ★    A fine book for a cold. Let me ‘splain. I am referring to the summer head cold, a totally inappropriate, out-of-season malaise that bears … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The Ranger by Ace Atkins

Read July 2016 Recommended for fans of Spencer, Longmire, spaghetti Westerns  ★     ★     ★     All the classic ingredients are in place: a unique setting, a reluctant hero, a small town rife with corruption, a criminal element who are … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Pride’s Spell by Matt Wallace

Read June  2016 Recommended for  ★     ★     ★    1/2 Wallace is doing an interesting thing with his urban fantasy series wrapped around the adventures of a catering firm the works with the supernatural. As he states on his … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Days of Rage by Kris Nelscott

Read May 2016 Recommended for fans of historical mystery  ★     ★     ★    1/2 Book series have a certain degree predictability: familiar characters, a known setting, the writing style, plotting, details important to the author. I have no doubt … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs

Read May 2016 Recommended for fans of UF gurrl-power and folklore  ★     ★     ★     ★   You aren’t going to believe this, because I can just barely, but suddenly I started enjoying Mercy Thompson again. My last reviews … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

River Marked by Patricia Briggs

Re-read May 2016 Recommended for fans of UF gurrl-power  ★     ★     ★    1/2 I consider this the Mercy installment written for the romance fans. When I first read it years ago, I felt like the pacing was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment