Tag Archives: series

Broken Soul by Faith Hunter

Read December 2018 Recommended for fans of Jane Yellowrock ★     ★    ★     The Post in Which I Muse on the Series. I dropped this series a few years back. Heavy on vampire politics and with a lead … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Wrath of Angels by John Connolly

Read November 2018 Recommended for fans of horses, Claire Dewiitt ★     ★    ★    1/2 There’s a couple of things that keep me coming back to Connolly. One, he hits my prose sweet spot. “For after Barney Shore … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

Read November 2018 Recommended for fans convoluted police departments ★     ★    ★   1/2   For a first book, this was amazing. However, in the grand scheme of unsolved crime, police procedural and historical mysteries, this left something to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Exit Strategy by Martha Wells. Please, don’t.

Read November 2018 Recommended for fans of introverted robots ★     ★    ★    ★    ★   “I had a complex emotional reaction. A whole new burst of neural connections blossomed. Oh right, I often have complex emotional reactions … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , , | 4 Comments

A Murder of Mages by Marshall Ryan Maresca

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of  classic noir, detroit ★     ★       ★     1/2 On a whim–still whittling down that TBR list, don’t you know–I picked this one out of the list. Well, actually, a whim … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 8 Comments

The Burning Soul by John Connolly

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of  mysteries, thrillers ★     ★    ★    1/2 “Now, in her office at the corner of Park and Freeport, she watched the rain trace an intricate veinery upon her window, as though the glass … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The Whisperers by John Connolly

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of  Charlie Parker ★     ★    1/2  Can some authors be ‘too big to fail?’ Is John Connolly one of them? I’ve had my ups and down with the series to be sure, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Rogue Protocol by Martha Wells

Read October 2018 Recommended for fans of Murderbot, AIs ★    ★   ★    ★     “Or Miki was a bot who had never been abused or lied to or treated with anything but indulgent kindness. It really thought its humans were … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Blood Challenge by Eileen Wilks

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of kick-ass women, myths, shapeshifters ★     ★    ★    ★   Another surprisingly solid entry in the Lily Yu series. I say ‘surprising,’ not because Wilks a bad writer–she’s definitely not–but because my … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 5 Comments

Nightshades by Melissa F. Olson

Read September 2018 Recommended for fans of FBI, vamps ★     1/2    Cross The X-Files with Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and you’ll about have it. I kind of liked Olson’s book, Midnight Curse, so when a fellow reader mentioned … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment