Tag Archives: short stories

Ursula Vernon short stories

I recently discovered Vernon’s work through a friend’s enthusiastic review of “Jackalope Wives.” When she followed it up with a review of “The Tomato Thief,” I couldn’t resist temptation. I absolutely loved “The Tomato Thief,” a perfect story for the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 14 Comments

Welcome to the Medical Clinic at the Interplanetary Relay Station by Caroline M. Yoachim. Or Alphabetized Medicine is fun.

Read September 2016 Recommended for fans of Choose Your Own Adventure  ★     ★     ★     ★    I don’t normally review short stories on my blog, unless they are exceptional, and Yaochim’s short in Lightspeed Magazine is a clear exception. I … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Wastelands: Stories of the Apocalypse, edited by John Joseph Adams

Read August 2016 Recommended for fans of the end of civilization, without zombies  ★     ★     ★      I can hardly believe I’m saying this, but I think I prefer apocalypse stories with zombies. I’ve enjoyed Joseph Adams’ edited collections before … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , | 6 Comments

Chicago Blues, edited by Libby Fischer Hellmann

Read January 2016 Recommended for fans of Chicago, short stories  ★    ★    1/2    A collection of stories set in Chicago. Many stories center on ‘blues’ in the musical sense. In some cases, ‘blues’ means the police, for … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate by Ted Chiang

Read December 2015 Recommended for fans Baghdad bazaars, time travel  ★    ★    ★    ★    ★   he Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate is made up of four intricately woven stories: the titular story, “The Tale of the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 6 Comments

Book of Iron by Elizabeth Bear. Solid.

Read December 2015 Recommended for fans of Valente, Jemisin, bone creatures  ★    ★    ★    ★    ★   “Bijou opened her mouth for the obvious comment. Everyone is alone. We come into this world alone, and so do … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Johannes Cabal and the Blustery Day by Jonathan L. Howard. No relation to the other Blustery Day.

Read December 2015 Recommended for fans of urban fantasy  ★    ★    ★    ★  1/2 I couldn’t resist this imagery of this title, particularly after Melora reviewed it. When I began writing this review, I realized why. Oh, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Small Magics by Ilona Andrews. Not so small.

Read September 2015 Recommended for fans of PNR, the Andrews  ★    ★   ★    1/2 This collection contains the stories “A Questionable Client,” “Retribution Clause,” “Of Swine and Roses,” “Grace of Small Magics” and “Magic Tests.” Committed fans of the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

The End is Nigh, edited by Adams and Howey

Read August 2015 Recommended for fans of the apocalypse, short stories  ★    ★    ★    1/2   Oh apocalypse, how you fascinate us. There’s probably been doomsayers since the beginning of time, but it seems like you’ve really come … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

The End Has Come. Or more precisely, A New Beginning.

Read July 2015 Recommended for fans of a new world  ★    ★    ★    ★ Let’s be clear: the title “The End Has Come” implies that the stories center upon the events as the apocalypse is upon us. Little … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments