Tag Archives: short stories

Book Burners by Gladstone, Dunlap, Lafferty, and Slattery

Read  September 2017 Recommended for fans of serials. Not the edible kind. ★    ★   Book Burners is an urban fantasy series about a five-person team that works to recover dangerous magical artifacts and lock them away beneath the Vatican. The … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Hexed by Andrews, Galenorn, James and Stein

Read April 2017 Recommended for The Fans ★    ★    1/2 I don’t normally say this, but… People! Aim higher! Not the authors, although that goes for them too. No, I’m talking readers. Ilona Andrews, as always, has an interesting blog … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 7 Comments

Ursula Vernon short stories

I recently discovered Vernon’s work through a friend’s enthusiastic review of “Jackalope Wives.” When she followed it up with a review of “The Tomato Thief,” I couldn’t resist temptation. I absolutely loved “The Tomato Thief,” a perfect story for the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 14 Comments

Welcome to the Medical Clinic at the Interplanetary Relay Station by Caroline M. Yoachim. Or Alphabetized Medicine is fun.

Read September 2016 Recommended for fans of Choose Your Own Adventure  ★     ★     ★     ★    I don’t normally review short stories on my blog, unless they are exceptional, and Yaochim’s short in Lightspeed Magazine is a clear exception. I … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Wastelands: Stories of the Apocalypse, edited by John Joseph Adams

Read August 2016 Recommended for fans of the end of civilization, without zombies  ★     ★     ★      I can hardly believe I’m saying this, but I think I prefer apocalypse stories with zombies. I’ve enjoyed Joseph Adams’ edited collections before … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , | 6 Comments

Chicago Blues, edited by Libby Fischer Hellmann

Read January 2016 Recommended for fans of Chicago, short stories  ★    ★    1/2    A collection of stories set in Chicago. Many stories center on ‘blues’ in the musical sense. In some cases, ‘blues’ means the police, for … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate by Ted Chiang

Read December 2015 Recommended for fans Baghdad bazaars, time travel  ★    ★    ★    ★    ★   he Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate is made up of four intricately woven stories: the titular story, “The Tale of the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 6 Comments

Book of Iron by Elizabeth Bear. Solid.

Read December 2015 Recommended for fans of Valente, Jemisin, bone creatures  ★    ★    ★    ★    ★   “Bijou opened her mouth for the obvious comment. Everyone is alone. We come into this world alone, and so do … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Johannes Cabal and the Blustery Day by Jonathan L. Howard. No relation to the other Blustery Day.

Read December 2015 Recommended for fans of urban fantasy  ★    ★    ★    ★  1/2 I couldn’t resist this imagery of this title, particularly after Melora reviewed it. When I began writing this review, I realized why. Oh, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Small Magics by Ilona Andrews. Not so small.

Read September 2015 Recommended for fans of PNR, the Andrews  ★    ★   ★    1/2 This collection contains the stories “A Questionable Client,” “Retribution Clause,” “Of Swine and Roses,” “Grace of Small Magics” and “Magic Tests.” Committed fans of the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment