Tag Archives: short story

Short Story Round Up, Part 2

      “Our King and His Court”   by Rich Larson Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of Abercrombie, The Godfather  ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Tor.com’s summary says it all. It’s a partially deconstructed … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , | 1 Comment

The Secret Life of Bots by Suzanne Palmer. Tell me more secrets!

Read July 2020 Recommended for fans of rouge AI  ★     ★    ★    ★    ★     I first read this about the time that Murderbot installments were coming out, leading me to an epiphany that I had … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 6 Comments

Short Story Round-up: 2019 Hugos

“The Rose MacGregor Drinking and Admiration Society” by T. Kingfisher, 2018 Best Short Story Nomination https://uncannymagazine.com/article/t… “But far beyond the merriment and the music and the trapped mortals, there was a campfire, and around it sat a half-dozen men, and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | 9 Comments

Short Story Round-Up, Part 1

A quick collection of some of my short story reviews and their links. I generally happen upon shorts if a friend reviewed them, if they are Tor.com published, or if they are award nominees. **************************************************************************** “Give the Family My Love” … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged | 10 Comments

Rolling in the Deep by Mira Grant

Read  December 2017 Recommended for fans of Mira Grant ★    ★    1/2 My success with Into the Drowning Deep led me to this novella and nominal prequel. Sadly, this feels more like the Seanan McGuire I am familiar with; the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | 2 Comments

Johannes Cabal short stories by Jonathan L. Howard

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of Cabal  ★     ★    ★    ★    ★    When the giant spider devil appeared in The Fall of the House of Cabal, it wasn’t long before I was giggling. How can you … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

The Tomato Thief by Ursula Vernon. Or, the Heart Thief.

A perfect story for the end of the year. http://www.apex-magazine.com/the-toma… Mixing mythology with fairytales and the rise of the railroad can have lovely results. For a few moments, on New Years’ Eve, in the cold and dark north, I was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Welcome to the Medical Clinic at the Interplanetary Relay Station by Caroline M. Yoachim. Or Alphabetized Medicine is fun.

Read September 2016 Recommended for fans of Choose Your Own Adventure  ★     ★     ★     ★    I don’t normally review short stories on my blog, unless they are exceptional, and Yaochim’s short in Lightspeed Magazine is a clear exception. I … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Science fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment