Tag Archives: steampunk

The Translated Man by Chris Braak

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of Death of the Necromancer, Max Gladstone  ★     ★     ★     ★     Detective-Inspector Coroner Elijah Beckett is struggling. Not professionally; his team has a reputation for getting their man, or in this case, their … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

Falling Sky by Rajan Khanna

October 2014 Recommended for fans of Reapers Are the Angels, the Zombie apocalypse  ★    ★    ★    ★   I was zombie free for most of the summer. Once The Walking Dead ended, I mean. And except that one book, The … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Inexplicables by Cherie Priest. Yep.

Recommended for: it’s a hard knock life fans Read on August 27, 2013, read count: twice ★  ★  ★ The Goonies meets The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and stages an Intervention. In her “Acknowledgments,” Priest notes that this is likely … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Boneshaker by Cherie Priest. Or, maybe It Tingled.

Read June 25 to July 11, 2012 Recommended for procrastinators and steampunk fans ★   ★   ★ It started off slow, but I fully realize that was a miscalibration with the story compatibility recognizer. I don’t really do the mother-hen story … Continue reading

Posted in Apocalypse & dystopia, Book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Phoenix Rising by Philippa Ballantine (Public Service Announcement included)

Read from November 05 to 08, 2011, read count: 1.3 ★   ★  1/2   Steampunk is an odd mesh of history, fantasy and technology that frequently suffers from inconsistent blending. Perhaps I will have to agree with Kerry’s review and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 5 Comments

The Greyfriar, by Clay and Susan Griffith, or I know I’ve read this before

Recommended for: readers of the Parasol Protectorate Read from January 16 to 18, 2013 ★★★ Would you like some wine with your pastiche?* Soulless meets Beauty, shares meaningful whispers and lingering gazes, then elopes to The War of the Worlds, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

The Alloy of Law by Brandon Sanderson

Recommended for: steampunk fans Read from January 21 to 28, 2012 ★★★ 1/2 I’m probably one of the only reviewers that hasn’t read the rest of the Mistborn series, but I hereby claim Alloy stands just fine on its own. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Epic fantasy, fantasy | Tagged , , | 2 Comments