Tag Archives: supernatural mystery

Bone Song by John Meaney. Or, Good Bones, but Needs More Flesh

Read  May 2017 Recommended for fans of UF police detectives ★    ★    ★ An intriguing but wildly inconsistent book. Imagine, if you will, J.D. Robb’s In Death series redone with the deathworld of Chronicles of Riddick, the sensibility of a … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | 2 Comments

A Rare Book of Cunning Device by Ben Aaronovitch, read by Kobna Holdbrook Smith

Listened  May 2017 Recommended for fans of UF police detectives ★    ★    ★   ★    ★   aka “Ben’s Ode to Librarians and Their Charges,” free at Audible. A wonderful introduction to both Peter Grant and the wonders of Kobna Holdbrook-Smith’s voice … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Furthest Station by Ben Aaronovitch

Read April 2017 Recommended for fans of UF police detectives ★    ★    ★   ★    ★     A delightful side adventure in the Peter Grant universe. I found myself chuckling, highlighting as a went, enjoying Grant’s wry observations of the city … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Necropolis by Tim Waggoner. Or, P.I. Mad-Libs, Magickal Edition

Read March 2017 Recommended for fans Simon Green ★    ★   Mostly, I have only Past Carol. to blame. You see, I realized my TBR list had over 600 books, over four years of reading if I ever tried to get … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Mystery | Tagged , | 10 Comments

Ghosts of Tsavo by Vered Ehsani

Read February 2017 Recommended for fans of the Parasol series  ★     ★    1/2 An decent distraction read that will likely appeal to genre fans. I needed the distraction as I was waiting in the emergency room with my mom … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Killing Floor Blues by Craig Schaefer

Read March 2017 Recommended for fans of urban fantasy with a kick  ★     ★    ★    ★    1/2 Hot damn, that was fun! I don’t mean ‘fun’ in the hanging with the bestie sense, eating dinner while we … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The Hanging Tree by Ben Aaronovitch. Or, Audio is Awesome!

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of urban fantasy mixed with police procedural All the stars I know, I know: I’m always waxing enthusiastic over Kobna’s reading of this series, but the audio version of a story set in London, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

The Hanging Tree by Ben Aaronovitch

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of supernatural detective  ★     ★     ★     ★     ★   Possibly perfect. The more I love a book, the harder it becomes to review, because I don’t want to move out of my state of enjoyment … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

The Translated Man by Chris Braak

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of Death of the Necromancer, Max Gladstone  ★     ★     ★     ★     Detective-Inspector Coroner Elijah Beckett is struggling. Not professionally; his team has a reputation for getting their man, or in this case, their … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

The Lovers (Charlie Parker #8) by John Connolly

Read October 2016 Recommended for fans of King, Supernatural  ★     ★     ★     ★    As I was doing the unthinkable–physically browsing library shelves instead of ordering on-line–I saw a number of Connolly’s Charlie Parker books. Despite friends’ enthusiastic reviews, I’ve … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments