Tag Archives: supernatural mystery

The Hanging Tree by Ben Aaronovitch. Or, Audio is Awesome!

Read January 2017 Recommended for fans of urban fantasy mixed with police procedural All the stars I know, I know: I’m always waxing enthusiastic over Kobna’s reading of this series, but the audio version of a story set in London, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

The Hanging Tree by Ben Aaronovitch

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of supernatural detective  ★     ★     ★     ★     ★   Possibly perfect. The more I love a book, the harder it becomes to review, because I don’t want to move out of my state of enjoyment … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

The Translated Man by Chris Braak

Read November 2016 Recommended for fans of Death of the Necromancer, Max Gladstone  ★     ★     ★     ★     Detective-Inspector Coroner Elijah Beckett is struggling. Not professionally; his team has a reputation for getting their man, or in this case, their … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

The Lovers (Charlie Parker #8) by John Connolly

Read October 2016 Recommended for fans of King, Supernatural  ★     ★     ★     ★    As I was doing the unthinkable–physically browsing library shelves instead of ordering on-line–I saw a number of Connolly’s Charlie Parker books. Despite friends’ enthusiastic reviews, I’ve … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, Thriller | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Foxglove Summer, the audio version. So good!

Listened July  2016 Recommended for fans of police urban fantasy, audio  ★     ★     ★     ★     ★ Lemonade and ice. BBQ and ribs. Mac and cheese. Salt and caramel. Some things are perfect complements of flavor. Holbrook-Smith’s … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Rivers of London Body of Work by Ben Aaronovitch

Read July 2016 Recommended for fans of Peter Grant and graphic novels Despite an affinity for both the written word and the visual arts, I have yet to be engrossed in a graphic novel. Quite honestly, I have yet to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Broken Homes by Ben Aaronovitch. Audio enjoyment.

Listened June  2016 Recommended for fans of British humour, police procedural UF  ★     ★     ★     ★     ★  I loves it so much that this may be the reason I join Audible. Or is there another way for … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Listening is fun!

Who knew I could listen so well? Not me–there’s an inner monologue running most of the time and when I’ve tried audio before, I find that I will frequently lose my spot in the book because my brain will start … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Moon Over Soho by Ben Aaronvitch

Re-read May 2016 Recommended for fans of police procedural UF  ★     ★     ★     ★   Moon Over Soho is an enjoyable, satisfying sophomore entry into the Peter Grant series about a London constable who is now working in … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 7 Comments

Midnight Riot by Ben Aaronvitch, audio version

Listened May 2016 Recommended for fans of UF detectives  ★     ★     ★    ★   Thoughts on the audio version: As many people have noted, Kobna Holbrook Smith is a fabulous reader. Turns out he is an actor and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment