Tag Archives: urban fantasy

Blood Heir by Ilona Andrews

Read January 2021 Recommended for fans Kate Daniels  ★     ★     ★ Short version? Kate 2.0. WinKate98. There you go. Move along. The long version? (Let’s be honest–there’s always a long version, right?). The long version is that I’m … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Ring Shout by P. Djeli Clark

Read December 2020 Recommended for fans of Lovecraft, time period UF  ★     ★     ★     ★    1/2 Ring Shout is Clark’s entry in the revisionist Lovecraft genre, and I have to say, it ranks as one of … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 8 Comments

Tales From the Folly by Ben Aaronovitch

Read November 2020 Recommended for serious fans  ★     ★     ★      Mostly as advertised, a short story collection set in the Peter Grant universe, although it’s worth clarifying that Peter does not appear in perhaps half the stories. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Certain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno Garcia

Read October 2020 Recommended for those who enjoy a serious angst vampy story        I think this is a pass for me. Domingo is a seventeen year-old who lives on the streets, getting by by being invisible and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 5 Comments

The Girl with Ghost Eyes by M.H. Boroson

  Read October 2020  ★     ★     ★     ★      An above average  first book, with lots to like for urban fantasy fans. It reminds me of Maxine Hong Kingston crossed with Snake Agent. A young widowed … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Carter and Lovecraft by Jonathan L. Howard

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of  reinvented Lovecraft  ★     ★    ★   It’s totally me. No, really; it sounds like a line, but it’s true. True story: I’m a huge fan of Howard’s Johannes Cabal series (particularly … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin

Read September 2020 Recommended for fans of NYC, Jemisin  ★     ★    1/2 Surprisingly underwhelming for me. Admittedly, I’m not a huge new-adult fan, and this has ‘coming-of-age’ plot line all over. I was also surprised that there was … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

Magical Midlife Dating by K.F. Breene

Read August 2020 Recommended for dating optimists.  ★     1/2    I thought the first book in the series, Magical Midlife Madness, quite cute. The premise is that a woman is at odds after divorcing and her only son going off … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul by Douglas Adams

Read 2020 Recommended for fans of Douglas Adams  ★     ★  Almost entirely, but not quite, unlike tea–I mean, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. There is no way easy way to say this, but despite ingredients that should be … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , | 2 Comments

False Value by Ben Aaronovitch. Well, yes. It was.

Read June 2020 Recommended for tolerant fans  ★     ★    1/2 Delivered as advertised. Oh yes; you heard right. The founder of Goodreads’ Folly Irregulars and long-time fan of Peter Grant (the novels), has found a Peter Grant book … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 6 Comments