Tag Archives: vampires

Bite Me by Parker Blue.

Read February 2016 Recommended for fans of paranormal snark & romance  2 1/2  stars Val Shapiro is on vampire stake-out. Killing vampires is not only a public service, but the violence gives her temporary respite from her internal sex-demon, Lola. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Knight Moves, The Black Knight Chronicles 3 by John G. Hartness

Read June 2015 Recommended for UF readers who want lite-fun-silly  ★    ★    ★  Well, got that fix out of the way. I’m about full-up on my need for humorous urban fantasy, so I can finally slip into something different. … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Back in Black, The Black Knight Chronicles 2 by John G. Hartness

Read June 2015 Recommended for UF readers who want lite-fun-silly  ★    ★    ★    There are times when making a healthy, fresh meal seems like too much work, times when munching on white cheddar popcorn and enjoying a drink … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Vision in Silver by Anne Bishop. Or, I shamelessly promote my reviews.

Read June 2015 Recommended for UF readers  ★    ★    ★    1/2   Three hundred posts has given, at the very least, perspective on why a particular book may or may not appeal to me. As I wrote in my … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | 9 Comments

Cerulean Sins by Laurell K. Hamilton. Oh, it’s a sin.

February 2015 Recommended for fans of Laurell, supernatural erotic  ★    In my defense, I’ve been trying to make bookshelf space, weeding out books I bought (and read) years ago. But it’s hard to part with them–after all, then-me must … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 10 Comments

Those Who Hunt the Night by Barbara Hambly. Hunt this one up.

November 2014 Recommended for fans of P.N. Elrod, Death of the Necromancer  ★    ★    ★    ★      There’s nothing like a soupcon of horror to keep you awake during a long, slow night, and Those Who Hunt … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Mystery, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

Owl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi Charish

October 2014 Recommended for fans of Kim Harrison, UF  ★    ★    ★    ★   The problem with cats as a side-kick: “He feinted back and pulled on the leash in an attempt to break my hold and get back to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 6 Comments

‘Til the World Ends by Julie Kagawa, Ann Aguirre and Karen Duvall. Or sooner. Hopefully.

Read September 2014 Recommended for fans of the authors  ★    ★    On Labor Day Weekend, Half-Price Books 20% off sale was completely irresistible. Really. I couldn’t. So I headed over and found a few books I knew were delightful … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost. Or, Halfway Good.

Read August 2014 Recommended for fans of paranormal romance  ★    ★    If you love this, great. I’m happy you and Frost have found each other, and I wish you many hot and heavy installments. But I suggest moving on … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

Murder of Crows by Anne Bishop

Read June 2014 Recommended for fans of urban fantasy, shapeshifters ★    ★    ★      1/2 Don’t judge me. I just read book one in this series (Written in Red)–twice–and so what else was I to do but full speed to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments