Tag Archives: young adult

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

Read September 2020 Recommended for seriously hetronorms  ★      No one knows a girls’ friendship like a guy, amIrite? Just kidding, totally sexist of me, just like this entire hetronormative mess of a Hogwarts derivative with more contradictory messaging … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Adventures of a Dwergish Girl by Daniel Pinkwater

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of New England, YA  ★     ★     Somehow, I missed Pinkwater’s works when I was growing up. I rectified that not long ago when Sarah B. pointed me towards Lizard Music, a delightfully … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

Read January 2020 Recommended for genre mash-up  ★     ★     ★    1/2 A difficult book to rate.  A difficult book to rate.  Following a young person desperate to get off her residential planet, it has the distinctive voice … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

Read December 2019 Recommended for middle school detectives  ★     ★     ★    ★     The Westing Game is first full-length mystery I remember reading. Well, besides Encyclopedia Brown and Nancy Drew books. But the one mystery that I could still … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, young adult | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Lizard Music by D. Manus Pinkwater

Read November 2019 Recommended for ten-year-olds and Reynolds ★   ★    ★   ★    I had lizards when I was young, so it stands to reason that a book titled “Lizard Music” would appeal. With allergies to fur and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

The Size of the Truth by Andrew Smith

Read June 2019 Recommended for fans of quirky kids ★   ★  ★   ★   1/2 I (excuse me) hated sixth grade. So I was hesitant to read a book about Sam, who, “during the first week of sixth grade … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Helen and Troy’s Epic Road Quest by A. Lee Martinez

Read February 2019 Recommended for fans of YA road trips 2.75 ★      A. Lee Martinez is hit and miss for me; two of his books are ridiculously fun (Gil’s All Fright Diner, Emperor Mollusk), a couple absolutely aren’t, … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

The Masked City by Genevieve Cogman

Read  March 2018 Recommended for fans of new-adult steampunk ★    ★    1/2 Dear Carol: Someday, someone is going to enthusiastically mention this series to you, and you are going to find yourself making that scrunched-up-nose-face that means either the dog … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman. I’d go there.

Read  January 2018 Recommended for YA adventurers and librarians ★    ★    ★    1/2 Titles with ‘library’ and ‘bookstore’ are irresistible to readers. Add in a cover that looks like faded and cracked leather with gilt lettering and it is … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

Wake of Vultures by Lila Bowen

Read  January 2018 Recommended for Fans of YA, explorations of identity ★    ★    ★     Sometimes, it’s all in the spin. If you has said to me, “here, read this YA book with trigger scenes, set in the Old-Timey … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | 7 Comments