Tag Archives: young adult

Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

Recommended for:  fans YA UF, Pride reads Read in August 2021 ★   ★   ★    Oh, I knew what I was getting into. You should too. Cemetery Boys is definitely young adult, young teenage level with angst on the level … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

European Travel for the Monstrous Gentlewoman by Theodora Goss

Read June 2021★  ★  1/2 To be blunt, this was a chore. Though the premise was intriguing–the female children of some of book-history’s most villainous men come together as a Society–the execution made it an exercise in perseverance.  But that … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix Harrow

Read March 2021 Recommended for ★   1/2 I stalled. Why? Because it contains one trope I hate,¹ a character type I dislike,² and a plot choice I dislike³ with what is looking to be a fairly predictable story that’s lingering in the … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , | 5 Comments

A Song Below Water by Bethany C. Morrow

A really fabulous idea, lots of potential but awkward execution. For a book that is ostensibly about Tavia, a young woman recently relocated from LA to Portland, and her bestie, Effie, there’s an awful lot here that has nothing to … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Three Times Lucky by Shiela Turnage

Read December 2020 Recommended for fans of plucky young detectives  ★     ★     ★     ★   Occasionally I dip my toe into the waters of middle-grade fiction, hoping for that playful feeling of reading The Size of the Truth … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, young adult | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

Read September 2020 Recommended for seriously hetronorms  ★      No one knows a girls’ friendship like a guy, amIrite? Just kidding, totally sexist of me, just like this entire hetronormative mess of a Hogwarts derivative with more contradictory messaging … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

Adventures of a Dwergish Girl by Daniel Pinkwater

Read April 2020 Recommended for fans of New England, YA  ★     ★     Somehow, I missed Pinkwater’s works when I was growing up. I rectified that not long ago when Sarah B. pointed me towards Lizard Music, a delightfully … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

Read January 2020 Recommended for genre mash-up  ★     ★     ★    1/2 A difficult book to rate.  A difficult book to rate.  Following a young person desperate to get off her residential planet, it has the distinctive voice … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

Read December 2019 Recommended for middle school detectives  ★     ★     ★    ★     The Westing Game is first full-length mystery I remember reading. Well, besides Encyclopedia Brown and Nancy Drew books. But the one mystery that I could still … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, Mystery, young adult | Tagged , , , | 5 Comments

Lizard Music by D. Manus Pinkwater

Read November 2019 Recommended for ten-year-olds and Reynolds ★   ★    ★   ★    I had lizards when I was young, so it stands to reason that a book titled “Lizard Music” would appeal. With allergies to fur and … Continue reading

Posted in Book reviews, fantasy, Urban fantasy, young adult | Tagged , , | 1 Comment